Indian Navy Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Indian Navy Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 170 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Admiral RK Dhowan
54 Ratings
Pros
  • "The work life balance in Base postings is great(in 9 reviews)

  • "Technically stimulating,Job security,prestige,adventure and sports,visit new places,meet new people(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Stay away from family and friends for long(in 9 reviews)

  • "Many of us join the services knowing this but sometimes there is too much workload cramping our family life(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best company to boost my career as a fresher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Apprentice Trainee in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Indian Navy full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Best company to boost my career as a fresher

    Cons

    Payments were low & were not credit on time

    Advice to Management

    No Advice

    Indian Navy2019-04-23
  2. "Petty Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electrician in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Indian Navy full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Secure job, Allowances, free food and clothes

    Cons

    Challenging environment always. Less social life.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you have Been doing.

    Indian Navy2019-04-23
  3. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Indian Navy full-time

    Pros

    An organisation in service of the nation. A perfect organisation

    Cons

    No cons to report. A perfect organisation to work for

    Indian Navy2019-04-05
  4. "Home away Home for the Patriots.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Administrative Assistant in Cochin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Indian Navy full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Patriotism and Devotion to country Physical fitness and Mental toughness Free medical facilities, food, accommodation, canteen facilities Training on wide spectrum Groom you to be responsible, enthusiastic, ambitious.

    Cons

    Working hours Far from home Promotion period

    Advice to Management

    Keep on improving as we do and always be a nightmare for our enemies.

    Indian Navy2019-03-24
  5. "Joint Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Indian Navy full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Professional technological oriented organisation. Develops excellent leadership capabilities. Helps gain experience in working with cross functional and diverse teams.

    Cons

    Lacks stability wrt working in a single location.

    Indian Navy2019-03-29
  6. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Indian Navy full-time

      Pros

      You become a man in Navy

      Cons

      Very tough and hard life

      Indian Navy2019-02-24
    • "Defence service"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Petty Officer in Mumbai
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Indian Navy full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      It's a best service one can do for the nation.

      Cons

      Stay away from family and friends for long.

      Indian Navy2019-02-19
    • "Lieutenant Commander in the Navy commensurate to higher responsibilities"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Lieutenant Commander in Mumbai

        I have been working at Indian Navy full-time for more than 20 years

        Pros

        Multifaceted Responsibilities and Roles Adventurous and Challenging Roles Higher Job Satisfaction

        Cons

        Frequent Transfers No possibility of permanency for Short Service Commission (SSC) Officers

        Advice to Management

        Short Service Commission (SSC) Officers should be given oppurtunity for conversion to Permanent Commission

        Indian Navy2019-02-04
      • "Serve the nation"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Naval Officer in Mumbai
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Indian Navy full-time for more than 20 years

        Pros

        It has been a very good experience to Service to Nation and to know the latest of the technologies

        Cons

        Long deployments, 100% engagement and long working hours

        Advice to Management

        Nil

        Indian Navy2019-02-08
      • "The Navy is a way of Life"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Indian Navy full-time for more than 20 years

        Pros

        A good Professional and Social Life with adequate exposure to different job roles in leadership and management

        Cons

        Transferable job with transfers every 3-5 years

        Advice to Management

        Keep up the good work

        Indian Navy2019-01-21
      Found 170 reviews