Indigo Books & Music Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Indigo Books & Music Reviews

Updated 23 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
70%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Indigo Books & Music Chairman and CEO Heather M. Reisman
Heather M. Reisman
295 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "As a minimum wage employee I didn't really appreciate being made responsible for the book industry dying(in 86 reviews)

  • "Little opportunity for full time(in 50 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Experience Representative in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Indigo Books & Music part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Indigo was a great place to work part-time. Managers are very understanding of offering flexible schedules, the company offers non-paid leaves of absences that guarantee job security upon return, and it's a fun and vibrant place to work.

    Cons

    Some managers aren't the greatest to work with. Like any workplace, who you work with can make or break your experience, and I encountered a few managers who made work hours quite toxic.

    Indigo Books & Music2020-03-23
  2. "A solid part-time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Experience Representative in Waterloo, ON

    I worked at Indigo Books & Music part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - very accommodating for students especially during exam season

    Cons

    - can be very overwhelming during the holidays

    Indigo Books & Music2020-03-15
  3. "Good Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Experience Representative in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Indigo Books & Music part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Great coworkers -Flexible hours -Good employee discount -Room to grow

    Cons

    -Working during the holiday's can be stressful -Store has a tendency to be understaffed, and when it is busy, managers just tend to shrug their shoulders and say to work harder and rarely help out themselves

    Indigo Books & Music2020-03-04
  4. "Great retail position with an awesome group of passionate people and customers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head Cashier 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Indigo Books & Music part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, great management and coworkers, passionate customers and culture.

    Cons

    Not a lot of opportunity for advancement. Full time positions are few and far between.

    Continue reading
    Indigo Books & Music2020-03-02
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Experience Representative in Edmonton, AB

    I have been working at Indigo Books & Music part-time

    Pros

    Great culture, good vacation, benefit options

    Cons

    Review process is a bit contrived

    Indigo Books & Music2020-03-01
  6. "part time customer rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Indigo Books & Music part-time

    Pros

    it was okay and the people that worked there were very nice

    Cons

    not many hours and the management isnt the best

    Indigo Books & Music2020-03-12
  7. "Fast paced and fulfilling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Customer Experience Representative in Windsor, ON
    Recommends

    I worked at Indigo Books & Music part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Managers are great and supportive of new staff learning and developing customer service skills. Rotating shifts in different parts of store (cash, kids, floor) with opportunity to pickup a lot of shifts/hours via Share. Pretty standard customer facing job, good to work on people skills.

    Cons

    Not much to be honest, just your standard retail job.

    Indigo Books & Music2020-02-25
  8. "Store Dependent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Experience Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Indigo Books & Music part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere, everyone tends to be very passionate about books. Very easy to move around within stores, hard to move up within the company.

    Cons

    Unreliable hours can expect a minimum 10 hours a week but need a very open availability if you need/want more. Enjoyment of work is very store dependent, every store runs differently, and managers can be very hit or miss.

    Indigo Books & Music2020-02-20
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Indigo Books & Music part-time

    Pros

    Great team, good work environment. Enjoyed my time here

    Cons

    No issues at this employer

    Indigo Books & Music2020-02-20
  10. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Sherwood Park, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Indigo Books & Music part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Environment and product, flexible schedule

    Cons

    Management changes can ruin the environment you work in.

    Continue reading
    Indigo Books & Music2020-03-06
Found 695 reviews