Industrial Light & Magic Artist Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Industrial Light & Magic Artist Reviews

Updated 30 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
43%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
Industrial Light & Magic President and General Manager Lynwen Brennan
Lynwen Brennan
11 Ratings
  1. "Great role good progression ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Matchmove Artist in London, England

    I have been working at Industrial Light & Magic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Yes I like the role

    Cons

    Not any that i can think of

    Industrial Light & Magic2019-12-30
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Alright company but London doesn't have the ILM culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Artist in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Industrial Light & Magic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great artists, amazin talents. If you like franchises, really good projects Good for the CV Good salaries There is a will to change things, but things take very long to materialise Some good Disney benefits (free parks entries)

    Cons

    old pipeline artist management is not great contract renewal usually done at the last minute London office doesn't get the same benefits as SF, ILM SF has a long VFX culture that didn't not reach London. uneven quality of supervisors, some are great some are bad They struggle to get new work, which resulted on a massive wave of lay off. More and more work is sent to 3rd party companies. No much space to grow, limited career development.

    Continue reading
    Industrial Light & Magic2019-09-12
  3. "I want to develop my knowledge and personal life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Roto Artist in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Industrial Light & Magic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Job secure then there have much more technical knowledges

    Cons

    Always i will do to complete challenging work then only develop my knowledge so always i would like it

    Continue reading
    Industrial Light & Magic2019-08-16
  4. "Had a great time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Artist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Industrial Light & Magic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working on the biggest/best projects in the entertainment industry, all of the time.

    Cons

    Chose to leave after seeing layoffs, at the same time we were hearing we'd made record earnings on films. All of the work is being outsourced.

    Continue reading
    Industrial Light & Magic2019-06-14
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Game of Thrones in here, you will be stabbed in the back..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CG Artist in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Industrial Light & Magic full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The story of this place and the people that started everything is so inspiring.

    Cons

    No morale No culture anymore, it's turning into a production line Long hours You will get emails about how the company is thriving, how successful the projects are thanks to you, but you will no get bonuses anymore. A promotion is just impossible, Managers don't really pay attention to who is who, they usually promote the whiners and not the most talented or hard workers. If you are not a supervisor nobody will pay attention to your suggestions or feedback. Salaries are awful no work-life balance in San Francisco, the most expensive city in the world. The work is now done in Vancouver mostly, San Francisco only gets the left-overs Not a healthy competition environment. Trying to save money they turned the work areas into a homeless camp.

    Continue reading
    Industrial Light & Magic2019-03-01
  6. Helpful (16)

    "The most biased management I've seen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - VFX Artist in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Industrial Light & Magic full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Not one besides the fact it's got this big name and good benefits.

    Cons

    If you are not friends with the right group of people you are out. You might say that's any company out there but I've been at almost all of the big companies in the industry. Nothing even comes close the how ILM works.

    Continue reading
    Industrial Light & Magic2019-02-26
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Terrible Managment of artists"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Artist in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Industrial Light & Magic full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    good benefits for employees, used to be better pre disney

    Cons

    Managers who truly have no idea what the persons they manage actually do. if you not buddy buddy with them you won't go anywhere and will have actively thrown hurdles in your way.

    Continue reading
    Industrial Light & Magic2019-03-05
  8. Helpful (28)

    "Don't work here, its a toxic mess."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Artist in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Industrial Light & Magic full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Incredibly talented workforce, some of the best people in the industry. Nice location

    Cons

    Upper management treats their employees like expendable cattle and are completely out of touch with the struggles and difficulties of the everyday worker. Little to no job security with petty politics. Individuals who get promoted tend to be those who enjoy belittling and dominating others. Current hierarchy structure fails to recognize structural issues as the only opinion that counts is upper management, they completely discount employee grievances. This is not the ILM of the 80's and 90's that shone through innovation, this is now just another churn and burn studio that couldn't care less about their employees. I would highly recommend looking elsewhere for work, VFX is a dead end industry that is failing due to poor management and outsourcing.

    Continue reading
    Industrial Light & Magic2018-07-14
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Just a number"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Artist in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Industrial Light & Magic for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good tech and pipe. Work colleagues are nice

    Cons

    The moaniest place ever worked. No loyalty to employees. If someone is cheaper than you expect the shove out at earliest opportunity. Incessant emails telling company how well it's doing while letting employees go. No reward for trying harder or giving your all. Awful office more like a cold call center. Badly run departments and expect to work pressured overtime for nothing. It's ILM in name only, more exciting shows at other places (proved by lack of awards) .

    Continue reading
    Industrial Light & Magic2018-02-24
  10. "Best place to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Artist in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Industrial Light & Magic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team. Join the force!!

    Cons

    Improve leadership and paycheck is bad in this place (Singapore)

    Continue reading
    Industrial Light & Magic2017-06-14
Found 22 reviews