Industrial Light & Magic Compositor Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Industrial Light & Magic Compositor Reviews

Updated Jan 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Industrial Light & Magic CEO Lynwen Brennan
Lynwen Brennan
4 Ratings
  1. "Senior Compositor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Compositor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Industrial Light & Magic full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment, great projects, great tools

    Cons

    lack of ability to move within the company top heavy

    Industrial Light & Magic2019-01-26
  2. "Compositing at ILM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Digital Compositor in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Industrial Light & Magic for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work on some of the biggest visual effect films of the year. Great work environment. Friendly colleagues, and sharing of information. Great procedures for success compared to most competing studios.

    Cons

    Work is farmed out of the country first to follow tax incentives. Could utilize the massive amount of talent there much better and be more creative towards exploring new revenue streams.

    Advice to Management

    Don't let the market dictate the future. It should never be a race to the bottom, but a race to the top.

    Industrial Light & Magic2018-04-18
  3. "cool projects, too big of a company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compositor in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Industrial Light & Magic for more than a year

    Pros

    good location, great perks, cool projects.

    Cons

    big company, hard to work your way up.

    Industrial Light & Magic2017-10-14
  4. "Best CGI company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Compositor in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Industrial Light & Magic full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company has some of the best people in the business, and despite what you know, there is always someone who you can learn from.

    Cons

    End of project crunch times can be quiet demanding.

    Industrial Light & Magic2017-09-18
  5. "Nice Spirit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Compositor in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Industrial Light & Magic for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good environment HR are looking that you are in a good environment

    Cons

    Some long hour - no OT paid

    Advice to Management

    Too much different small software, sometime it's hard to know where too look to have something

    Industrial Light & Magic2017-01-09
  6. Helpful (2)

    "compositor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compositor in Singapore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Industrial Light & Magic for more than a year

    Pros

    has got a good worldwide reputation

    Cons

    slice of the pie at singapore office

    Industrial Light & Magic2015-08-26
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Expected more. Where's the magic?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compositor in Singapore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Industrial Light & Magic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good shows, more easy going than most studios. The building and office is awesome.

    Cons

    Not as organized as expected. For such a renowned company, I expected better organization, planning and quality. Lots of the employees not keen to stay after contracts are finished. Pipeline is archaic. Overall just ok.

    Advice to Management

    Better planning of upcoming shows and work distribution. Lots of people waiting for work and seating around and other seniors overloaded.

    Industrial Light & Magic2015-06-18
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Among the worst experiences of my life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Compositor in San Rafael, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Industrial Light & Magic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This job looks good on the resume. It was always cool to tell people that I worked on this or that "blockbuster" movie.

    Cons

    However, it was among the worst experiences of my life. I had a manager who regularly gave me bad direction, and then disclaimed it and threw me under the bus. I had to prepare every day as if I was going to court. I had to prepare for cross-examination (dailies) with details and supporting evidence on why I did everything I did and when I got orders to do so. Unfortunately it was often my word against his. I survived...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't let lose your integrity in the race for results.

    Industrial Light & Magic2014-07-28
  9. "awesomest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Compositor in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Industrial Light & Magic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    respect for artists, empowering employees, good rates, good scheduling

    Cons

    sometimes it can take a great deal of effort to get answers to pipeline questions, or organizational questions; database is arcane;tools are poorly documented; for new hires there is a ton of jargon to decode

    Advice to Management

    keep going! yay Lynwen!

    Industrial Light & Magic2014-03-28
  10. Helpful (2)

    "A great place to work among smart and respectful professionals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Compositor in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Industrial Light & Magic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High quality work and opportunities to make beautiful images

    Cons

    Long hours but at least they provide meals

    Advice to Management

    Hire more women

    Industrial Light & Magic2013-02-23
Found 10 reviews