Industrial Light & Magic Technical Director Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Industrial Light & Magic Technical Director Reviews

Updated 2 Nov 2018

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
29%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Industrial Light & Magic President and General Manager Lynwen Brennan
Lynwen Brennan
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (11)

    "Uncertain future in SF"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Director in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Industrial Light & Magic full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Generally great people, good projects, nice perks.

    Cons

    Leadership constantly assures staff of commitment to SF location, but bulk of work keeps going to competing divisions in Vancouver and London, and head count continues to go down. As such, management values its talent substantially less these days. No opportunities to advance, and raises have been replaced by meager bonuses. There's been a real disconnect/disinterest in day-to-day artist experiences and performance by management, reflected by a recent move to eliminate what little performance review system we had. Training program is not what it once was. Just talking to other artists, bad management tendencies, such as favoritism, have become very common. Getting onto the few slots on the hot project has become rather political.

    Continue reading
    Industrial Light & Magic2018-11-02
  2. Helpful (6)

    "not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FX Technical Director in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Industrial Light & Magic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good project good studio location some amazing artists and talent

    Cons

    cheap pays artist managers that doesn't keep their promise favoring people that they know to promote instead of talents

    Continue reading
    Industrial Light & Magic2018-07-01
  3. Helpful (1)

    "VFX Artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior FX Technical Director in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Industrial Light & Magic full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Highest caliber of talent and professionalism. Lots of knowledge sharing. Coolest projects. Great location.

    Cons

    Unstable industry. Large amounts of overtime. Work going overseas. Quantity starting to take precedence over quality.

    Continue reading
    Industrial Light & Magic2018-04-27
  4. "Good people, good projects, good culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Creature Technical Director in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Industrial Light & Magic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I work at ILM 1year and a half. I loved it. I was in the creature department. I come more from a rigging background but I love Zeno, the soft for doing simulation. The first 3 months were really confusing, but the community around Zeno at ILM in all the different facilities is huge and made my life easier. You have a good perspective career if you stay and if you prove you are good and willing to not have a good pay.

    Cons

    Average pay, they play with the fact a lot of people wants to come. Lot of overtime but it's common in the VFX

    Continue reading
    Industrial Light & Magic2018-03-08
  5. "Acknowledge who they are"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Creature Technical Director in Singapore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Industrial Light & Magic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Top projects in the industry, decent pay depending on location. Fantastic people that all want to accomplish the best work around. Each location has varying benefit packages. Upper management communicates well with all levels throughout company. There is a reason so many employees have stayed with them so long. I would absolutely work for them again, likely in a different location.

    Cons

    As my title states, know what the company is and what you want to get out of them. More often than not you are seen to provide one thing and that's it. Acknowledge that fact and get out of them what you need and move on. If you are a lucky one to have a path then fantastic. If not, find another company and know that you worked on hopefully one of the great shows. Often gets themselves into too many shows, reduced schedules, chaotic production tracking process. Depending on your facility some in other facilities treat you like a lesser being. Like many companies decides it wants to change tech with every show. Out of date processes that need to be revised. I hear this is changing (again, hopefully for the better). No real process for people to move up in the company over a realistic amount of time. If you are someone looking to progress in your career the only real path that I could see was to leave and come back if you liked working with the company.

    Continue reading
    Industrial Light & Magic2016-11-25
  6. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior FX Technical Director in Singapore
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Industrial Light & Magic for less than a year

    Pros

    It was a really great experience working for this company. The brilliant team of professionals, excellent management in the very friendly environment. Moreover, Singapore is an awesome city.

    Cons

    I did not see any cons

    Industrial Light & Magic2016-11-01
  7. Helpful (11)

    "Monumental disaster from interview to exit."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Director 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Industrial Light & Magic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    For people who haven't been at ILM it will look great in you cv, that is pretty much the extent of it.

    Cons

    The problem with ILM is the arrogant approach to doing things, from high-school Immature attitudes like grandstanding in the hallways perfecting their walk swing to the dismissive and condescending tone when they talk to even more experienced artists than themselves, they have not yet realized the artists are what drive this place, not the dinos up on high, the sups need to get a reality check before people start taking it personal. Sups talk in basic laymen terms, and give vague comments instead of precise direction mainly cause they have no idea which way is up. Pipeline is ancient, tools fidgety. It is sad really, putting so much time and effort in doing the good work when all it takes is being brown to advance.

    Continue reading
    Industrial Light & Magic2016-10-17
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Great place to work? Only if you have no family/life outside of work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Technical Director in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Industrial Light & Magic for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice facility. Good projects if you are at the point in your career if you need that stuff for your reel. Good for single people.

    Cons

    Location isn't great. The Presidio is a beautiful park, but its too bad that ILM didn't decide to stay in Marin County. Transit connections is restricted to Presidigo buses to downtown which can take up to an hour to get to a BART train. Traffic is a nightmare in the morning if you are north of San Rafael or have to cross the city. Severe lack of parking at the facility lately. Rent/cost of living in the area is excessive, a studio apartment that is walking distance to ILM is $3000-4000/mo. Corporate Housing and Long term housing in the area is around $3000 a month. Keep this in mind if you come in on a short contract, they will pay for housing if you push for it. Unlike other tech/media companies, Lucasfilm/ILM wages are generally much lower than some of the dot coms and media firms in the area. However VFX wise there isn't many options at all. Pay is OK on contract, on short contracts you can usually get a much better rate, and typically they are short staffed all the time that you'll be extended a few times at a higher rate. In some cases the contractors are making 1.5-2x the hourly rate of the staff guys sitting next to them. The hours lately are dreadful. 72-80 hour weeks are normal these days as schedules to finish projects are reduced to 3-4 months. Yes there is an on site day care, gym and food, but keep in mind you'll be practically living at your desk around the clock. Advancement can be difficult, I've seen talent slip through their fingers time and time again, mostly due to timing. Someone who was a wizard at a competitor becomes a button pusher at ILM for 3 months then they move on to something a bit more challenging. Personal story, my car pool friends are fried from the long hours. As in forgetting to put the trash out weeks on end, and not taking care of themselves. One friend gained 30 lbs on one movie. Management doesn't care as long as the deadlines are hit. Department feedback/communication is horrible. Doing a good job/bad job? You never know. No news is good news I guess?

    Continue reading
    Industrial Light & Magic2015-03-05
  9. Helpful (4)

    "People and work is great but pay is too low."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Creature Technical Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Industrial Light & Magic full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great projects, people are the best and helpful, proprietary software is fantastic.

    Cons

    Projects get pushed and tight resulting in too much overtime. Pay is lower than most companies. Company seems to prefer working model of mostly contract employees. Little training for contractors leaving the burden of question answering to other people.

    Continue reading
    Industrial Light & Magic2014-07-10
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great environment, mediocre pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Industrial Light & Magic full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very intelligent, accomplished, and friendly colleagues. The campus is gorgeous and the work is always interesting and challenging.

    Cons

    There isn't much opportunity for growth within the company. The structure at visual effects companies is pretty flat to begin with, but ILM is very happy keeping you where they want you -- both career-wise and financially. Don't expect stellar wages.

    Industrial Light & Magic2014-04-12
Found 14 reviews