Ingeus Employee Reviews about "unrealistic targets"

Updated 1 Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 of over 293 reviews

4.1
81%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Ingeus Chief Executive Officer  Jack Sawyer (no image)
Jack Sawyer
90 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay and friendly environment(in 13 reviews)

  • "Good Salary and employee benefits, Company values and culture(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Bad management unrealistic targets(in 18 reviews)

  • "No support from other senior management(in 15 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "unrealistic targets"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Target based job

      1 Apr 2019 - Administrative Assistant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Case workers are the most amazing people you would meet, very friendly people and environment great place to network yourself and build long term friendship

      Cons

      Very poor management, managers would not support you. Overload you with work unrealistic targets and managers would bully you and threaten you of dismal. Very bad training provided you have to DIY.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Ingeus Response

      Managing Director

      Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I agree, our people are our biggest asset and really care about the difference they make to the lives of our participants. I would really welcome hearing more about your concerns and I would encourage you to get in touch with me directly so that I can better understand what’s not worked for you during your time at Ingeus. Kind regards, Barry Fletcher

    2. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Awful - Shaping Futures and Challenging Barriers=Joke

      20 Nov 2016 - Employment Advisor in Belfast, Northern Ireland, Northern Ireland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Struggling to find one. Only typing to fill the required amount of character.

      Cons

      Where to start - firstly the role should not be advertised as an employment advisor, it should be appointment setter. The Job is portrayed as helping people getting back into work, listening to their needs and helping break down barriers. It sounds extreamly rewarding. However, in reality it's all focused on filling clients MAPS with enough hours to pass an audit. Unrealistic targets to get people into work. Unhealthy atmosphere. Pay rise - never. Make sure and push for max at interview (if you are that hard up you need the job).

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Consultant

      6 Oct 2018 - Consultant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay good hours good poeple

      Cons

      Bad management unrealistic targets

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Ingeus Response

      Managing Director

      Thanks for the review. Our commissioners set us targets as part of our contract with them to ensure we achieve great results for the people on our programmes. For us, great results mean that more people’s lives have been positively impacted by our services. This is reflected by our competitive pay and rewards package. It would be good to get more information about some of your specific concerns. Please do feel free to contact me directly to discuss this. Kind Regards, Barry Fletcher

    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Unrealistic targets making it hard to do the right thing by your clients

      28 Jun 2016 - Employment Advisor in Birmingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Helping those individuals who really need the support to remove barriers preventing them into work and gaining job satisfaction from seeing the journey the clients go on into employment Excellent salary I was paid £27,315 Excellent work colleagues the best I've ever worked with

      Cons

      Unrealistic targets advisors were expected to get 21 clients into work each quarter bear in mind most of the clients hadn't worked for over 20 years were on drugs or suicidal. Terrible system in place whereby if you don't hit the target your put on psp which is basically a process where they give you an option to quit before being sacked. It's also where management talk about what could be done to achieve targets although many have not been advisors on the work programme and would be in no position to hit target if they had a caseload.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Was once a great company with heart. Now a machine with no soul

      8 Jun 2015 - Employment Advisor in Kingston upon Hull, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Facilities and resources Salary is above average. However this is a disadvantage too as pay is above level of responsibility/ seniority in comparison to competitors or other industries which leads to a pay trap.

      Cons

      Zero career progression. Low turnover of management, rare opportunities to develop and very low chances of promotions. Now a very unfair pay discrepancy between new starters and existing staff. £10k pay difference for doing the same job with the same targets. Micro management to the extreme. Unrealistic targets and no leniency / consideration. You are only as good as your last month's performance. You are at constant risk of being performance managed out of the business. Staff feel they are very replaceable, recruitment is ongoing and turnover is high.

      17 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Great Co-Workers, rubbish management

      13 Jan 2016 - Pre Employment Advisor in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Salary, great co workers and can feel good helping others

      Cons

      working with people that are hardest to help, unrealistic targets and can make you feel like you are a child at school. You get told off and be told that things will be taken away from you if you fail to meet all the standards set.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Only good for the experience and probably not a long-term career path for most

      8 Feb 2015 - Employment Advisor in Glasgow, Scotland, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Salary and you are reminded of this any time you dare complain about the company and its targets Good Experience - trust me if you can get through probation here then you will believe you can conquer just about anything!

      Cons

      Inevitably the stress will impact your physical and mental health Poor work/life balance, toll on personal relationships Unrealistic targets Strict disciplinary procedures for not meeting targets - verbal, written warning then dismissal Massive staff turnaround which is detrimental to existing colleagues

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great colleges

      19 Oct 2015 - Employment Advosor in Leeds, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay and collegues stress illness disciplinary for time off no support. Management very false. What are the management made of stone they want to practice what they preach

      Cons

      Unrealistic targets. Support is not given. Loose job if target not reached. Job only safe on quarterly performance. Stressful. What the management don't realise is that you can only work with what you have got.high case loads genuinely thought I was there to help the unemployed but it's the outcomes (money from dwp they are interested in)

      9 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Life as you know it, is being sucked away

      12 Nov 2015 - Employment Advisor in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I work alongside some lovely, intelligent and hardworking people

      Cons

      What can I add to what has already been pretty grim reading? I'll give it a go though. I’ve worked for Ingeus for nearly 4 years and in this time I have seen the company go from being a great place to work, to an absolutely dreadful place to work. It is dire. And that is no exaggeration. I cannot speak for other staff members outside of London, but I do know that in the London offices, morale is so low people are praying to leave the company. If it was just me feeling like this, then maybe you could argue that I'm a one-off. Two of us talking the same, you'd probably argue I corrupted someone's mind. But when whole offices are feeling the same, there is something inextricably wrong with things. There have been many incidents of inadequate management and I personally have had to endure countless meetings with my PDM to try and progress in this job. Was I successful? Not a chance. After asking for redundancies, Ingeus in London is now left with two PDMs across 6 offices (5 if you don't include Hammersmith). The PDMs that are now 'running' the entire operations of these sites can only be described as inept, power hungry, inadequate, boring, childish, unprofessional and to be honest, downright What can I add to what has already been pretty grim reading? I'll give it a go though. I’ve worked for Ingeus for nearly 4 years and in this time I have seen the company go from being a great place to work, to an absolutely dreadful place to work. It is dire. And that is no exaggeration. I cannot speak for other staff members outside of London, but I do know that in the London offices, morale is so low people are praying to leave the company. If it was just me feeling like this, then maybe you could argue that I'm a one-off. Two of us talking the same, you'd probably argue I corrupted someone's mind. But when whole offices are feeling the same, there is something inextricably wrong with things. There have been many incidents of inadequate management and I personally have had to endure countless meetings with my PDM to try and progress in this job. Was I successful? Not a chance. After asking for redundancies, Ingeus in London is now left with two PDMs across 6 offices (5 if you don't include Hammersmith). The PDMs that are now 'running' the entire operations of these sites can only be described as inept, power hungry, inadequate, boring, childish, unprofessional and to be honest, downright horrible people for which to work. Some may find this offensive, but it is how many, many members of staff feel about these managers. And I have spoken to lots of staff across the different sites. Where once, PDMs used to instil confidence, motivation and a sense of achievement amongst staff, PDMs now resort to tiresome clichés, dreary morning rev ups surrounding performance and not a lot else. The life in offices has been sucked out. PDMs do not want to hear that clients are difficult. They see the role through rose-tinted glasses and have reached a stage where all they see are closed appointments, forward appointments and job starts. And let’s not forget the ever present reminder for us to see a minimum of 9 clients a day (which many people do and have been doing), but which has now taken a turn towards seeing 9 clients a day up until 5pm. Does Ingeus not get it? Some people work best at different times of the day? In this role we are constantly reminded of the need to help our clients move into sustainable work. I get that. I buy into that. But not all clients can and want to work. I encounter many clients who simply want to stay where they are. When this is highlighted to management, our competency as advisors is called into question. As if to say, ‘how dare you think our clients can’t or don’t want to work’. Clients’ feelings are very important to Ingeus and I understand this, but when do our feelings get heard? Who is listening to staff about the issues an advisor faces on a daily basis? Managers need to see that unrealistic targets are killing people. Good people. People who are lovely to alongside with. Does Ingeus care? No way. People feel anxious, worried, and angry even that people’s livelihoods are on the line if we don’t get people into work. Let me say that again. Our jobs are on the line if we don’t get people a job. Think about that. Does it sound ethical? Staff members are leaving in their droves and from the ones I have spoken to, say they are leaving because the PDMs are terrible and because of the unrealistic job targets. Do they care? Not a chance. Take for instance just recently, a staff member was fired for not performing and the following email was sent out to everyone: “I wanted to inform you that XXX has left the business today after not reaching the minimum standards needed within EST to pass his probation period. XXX has left the business with immediate effect, myself and XXX are currently speaking to his employers and the message from EST is business as usual we have a fantastic pipeline of opportunities across London that the EPC’s are working on at the moment and as a team we are continuing to push our business development output”. This is from a manager of supposed repute, sending out an email which basically reads: Ingeus doesn’t care for the work you put in and will sack you should you fail to comply. Cold and callus is all I can say. No professionalism and definitely sends out a very bad message to staff. I cannot wait to leave this company and am applying for work profusely. In the meantime all I can do is try to get along through each rev up, each appointment, each lame email with gritted teeth. I urge you to write to the CEO, explain how you feel and demand for something to change if you want to carry on working for this company. If like me, you do not, enjoy the time you have left with the people who like working with. I pray you find something really quick. And finally, to the CEO. You have allowed all this to happen on your watch. You should be ashamed. You need to take a long look at yourself in the mirror and seriously ask yourself what the hell is going on. Don't sit in your ivory tower, pondering on your next move. Take your finger out and get to the offices. Speak to people. Show them you care and are listening. Forget the odd email here and there, take action and be a leader. Listen to what staff say and make changes

      Continue reading
      20 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Get out.. get out now, you'll never look back.

      2 Jun 2016 - Employment Advisor in Nottingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Only pros are the amazing staff - advisors and administrators, they support each other through thick and thin, if it wasn’t for these people life at Ingeus would be totally unbearable.

      Cons

      • Unrealistic targets • Ineffective management • No leadership • Constant harassment of advisors to hit these ridiculous targets • Absolutely no concern for client welfare - none at all. • Unethical, box ticking exercises – e.g.: having to force ESA claimants to attend mandatory appointments, some of whom are very sick and should not be leaving the house, having to do so through fear of benefits being affected. ( ESA advisors are also heavily targeted, most of which end up on the Performance Support Process and either lose their jobs through incompetence of leave through the fear of imminent sacking) • Very high staff turnover, having made mass redundancies they are now recruiting on fix term contracts, that says a lot people!. I wrote a review some time ago, prior to leaving – all of the above was mentioned, as it has been repeatedly by almost all of the 90 something appalling reviews ( FYI you have to rate at least one star – no option for none, so please bare that in mind!) I wanted to post another review to give some hope to the staff still there – there are jobs out there, with the skills and intelligence you all have please don’t stay here any longer and have your confidence and self-esteem chipped away by your managers telling you that you could be doing more to hit their ludicrous targets and KPI’s, it really isn’t worth it. Don’t be afraid to look, apply and leave, there’s another world out there, you deserve better, I promise you that you won’t look back. Just get out.

      15 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 18 Reviews

    Work at Ingeus? Share Your Experiences

    Ingeus logo
    or