InnerWorkings Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated 13 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
30%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
InnerWorkings CEO Rich Stoddart
Rich Stoddart
26 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No bonuses meanwhile upper management travels worldwide for a lot of meetings(in 11 reviews)

  • "While the work environment and tasks are enjoyable, very little to no compensation changes occur with gained responsibilities(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Excellent workplace environment and management."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Financial Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at InnerWorkings for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent work/life balance. Positive work environment and culture. Work from home flexibility at required times. Good Pay for a contractor. Very supportive management. No micromanagement. No discrimination between contractor and full time employee.

    Cons

    No cons that i can think of.

    InnerWorkings2020-01-14
  2. Helpful (13)

    "Good luck... you'll need it."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at InnerWorkings full-time

    Pros

    Casual work environment with Holiday-related perks such as early release.

    Cons

    Very sink or swim. Never have I experienced a corporate environment where people send emails merely to satisfy their own vanity. Upper management's style of doing things is to do what's best for them, not you. And there's a whole lot of communication that's pure word salad - empty rhetoric where people talk about what they should/could do, but no one ever does anything. No one takes responsibility for anything - it's always someone else's problem & since upper management is in it only for themselves, they won't hesitate to throw other people under the bus. They'll tell you they try to "retain talent" if an account is lost, but that only works if you either live in Chicago or are willing to relocate on your own dime.

    InnerWorkings2019-02-06
  3. Helpful (17)

    "Modern Company With Poor Communication"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at InnerWorkings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Food perks like free coffee, tea, soda/seltzer, candy, and fruit. Beer fridge located in the Chicago Headquarters cafeteria (after 5pm only). Relatively frequent employee events like brief happy hours with wine/beer, pizza, and so on. Casual and relatively youthful work environment.

    Cons

    Cramped office space. Management's solution to an overcrowded office was to create more desks with the same square footage. Poor, dismissive, and infrequent communication from executives and upper management. Traditional upward mobility is difficult - you must move laterally and diagonally. Promotions and raises are difficult unless someone is leaving. Executives feel inaccessible despite "open door policy" and blue jeans. Most people don't know what's going on in other departments and adopt a "not my job, not my problem" attitude. Management does nothing to rectify this. INWK is spreading too thin too quickly and is not producing quality work as a result.

    Continue reading
    InnerWorkings2018-11-09
  4. "Excellent Team, Excellent Culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ECommerce Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InnerWorkings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Casual work environment - Good benefits - Great work/ life balance - Competitive salary - AMAZING manager and team - Nice perks, like sparkling water, fruit, coffee, etc. - Opportunities for flexibility/ remote scheduling

    Cons

    - Cramped office environment - Unclear career path/ upward mobility - Inconsistent processes across departments

    InnerWorkings2018-09-14

    InnerWorkings Response

    September 19, 2018Talent Acquisition Coordinator

    Thank you so much for your feedback! We're excited to say our Chicago office is growing and we're adding new and creative-minded employees to the team. Please come talk to the HR team if you have any additional feedback you'd like to share!

  5. "Good experience for entry level initiation into corporate environment but little appreciation for hard work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at InnerWorkings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You learn a lot very quickly and earn new responsibilities daily if you can keep up. You get to work with big name clients and learn valuable skills to take with you.

    Cons

    While the work environment and tasks are enjoyable, very little to no compensation changes occur with gained responsibilities. There is a high turn over rate with this company because they will literally work you to death until you quit, using you for just as little compensation as they can. Even large promotions and title changes come with very minimal pay increases. For someone fresh out of college with little to no corporate experience, this place is great! I learned a lot that I am able to take with me now but it was disappointing that they don't want to spend the money to retain the talent that they developed. The culture is also not very friendly for families with children. You were looked at as more of a burden and less of an asset if you had children and were not offered as many opportunities to travel or take on other projects. Requesting time off for children's illnesses, appointments or school events definitely affected my progress with the company. Definitely not a family friendly company. For young, single, unmarried people, that do not care about a work/life balance this place is a good place to start. Career-wise and long-term, it wasn't somewhere I could plant roots.

    Continue reading
    InnerWorkings2018-08-01
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Inwk"

    2.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at InnerWorkings full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work environment, lots of opportunities to explore new ideas, open door management, friendly employees.

    Cons

    Little to no upward mobility, completely focused on results and getting the job done by whatever means possible. Employees are like a revolving door, and the "culture" is that everyone's bonding over counting down the hours to leave.

    Continue reading
    InnerWorkings2018-05-22
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InnerWorkings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing growth opportunities! Wonderful work/life balance Casual work environment

    Cons

    Pay could be a bit higher

    InnerWorkings2018-02-07
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work with advancement opportunities!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InnerWorkings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Senior management is accessible -Very career focused individuals who provide growth opportunities -Casual work environment -A lot of cross functional projects to take part in -Co-workers come from all over since we are global - you get to meet a lot of people -Most managers here are sharp and they take the time to educate you in their areas of expertise

    Cons

    -Pay could be a bit higher but it's still pretty comparable to other places

    Continue reading
    InnerWorkings2018-01-30
  9. "Warehouse employee"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at InnerWorkings part-time

    Pros

    Great management, good communication, great work environment

    Cons

    Boring job, pay could be better

    Continue reading
    InnerWorkings2017-11-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Production Manager"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Clearwater, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at InnerWorkings full-time

    Pros

    An upscale, brand new work environment definitely geared toward the "millennial" generation.

    Cons

    Lack of training and involvement from management.

    Continue reading
    InnerWorkings2017-11-15
Found 22 reviews