Intellectual Ventures Employee Reviews about "iv"

Updated Aug 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 of over 179 reviews

4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Intellectual Ventures Founder and Chief Executive Officer Nathan Myhrvold (no image)
Nathan Myhrvold
99 Ratings
Pros
  • "Super smart people and casual environment(in 22 reviews)

  • "IV is has been a place that gets a bad name because of patent lawsuits(in 19 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Due to nature of start up, your time at IV may be short(in 16 reviews)

  • "The company is in a down spiral mostly because it could not address major changes in patent legislation which severely affected its business model(in 16 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "iv"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Bad (and weird!) place to work

      Aug 31, 2020 - Manager in Bellevue, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy job, no after hours work, little stress

      Cons

      Toxic workplace. No trust or transparency. Most leaders act out of fear and insecurity, and simply agree with the person directly above them on the management chain. A lot of bullying and internal politics...I think mostly because there's not much else to do. The work is extremely boring. There's not much going on at the company, so most employees are bored and spend their days trying to find random tasks to keep them busy. I'd even see people just sleeping at their desks! The lack of meaningful work makes IV a very unfulfilling place to work for most people, especially people who work on the management/operations side (not in the lab). There's also no long-term vision for the company and it seems like its future is very unstable, but management rarely acknowledges this reality and does not communicate anything with employees.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company

      Jul 31, 2020 - Finance Manager in Bellevue, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company time off is very flexible

      Cons

      Each entity within the Intellectual Ventures is like startup. Due to nature of start up, your time at IV may be short.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Competitive and Siloed

      Jan 20, 2019 - Content Specialist in Bellevue, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nathan Myhrvold is a fantastic innovator, philanthropist, and creative, working at IV is an opportunity to observe a truly unique leader with unusual interests, motivators and drive. There are all kinds of interesting and innovative projects happening across the lab.

      Cons

      Unfortunately, middle management at IV's derivative companies is often paranoid and insecure. They have a tendency to try to give upper management agreeable answers, hide their mistakes, and gloss over information which may be disruptive. Managers frequently compete with each other and the general culture tends to toward gossip and infighting rather than collaboration. Projects still get done, but they are accomplished inefficiently and with much emotion across teams.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Contractor

      Consultant

      Nov 9, 2018 - Anonymous Contractor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      IV is has been a place that gets a bad name because of patent lawsuits. It is has some of the most creative thinkers and inventors in the Seattle area.

      Cons

      At times, Founders don't think about the little people.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great culture, really interesting work, flexible environment

      Oct 11, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Bellevue, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My management chain assumes competence in my abilities, supports my decisions, work style & schedule. I am not micromanaged and I really appreciate the freedom I have to execute my responsibilities in a way that I feel will work best. I joined a women's mentoring circle in my first month and had the opportunity to get to know women from across IV in all levels of management (VP to associates)-from R&D, Legal, Finance, HR etc. That ongoing and supportive group helped my onboarding process immensely. I love attending the frequent employee info sharing sessions where I can learn about some of the different research and inventions as well. Last week I attended a great session where I learned about the device the Lab is developing which rapid diagnoses cervical cancer in low resource settings and later that day I was in the Lab talking to interns working on assays that rapid diagnose malaria. There's work happening at IV that can really impact lives-1st world and developing world. I love that they take big risks (like TerraPower) that have huge potential impacts across entire sectors. I've worked in the high tech industry (MSFT) for most of my career and IV feels nimble, exciting, stable, quirky and impactful.

      Cons

      When you work in a smaller company where you have many personal relationships, there are upsides and downsides. Having those relationships can help make things happen but it can sometimes hinder progress as well.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Think Twice. There's a reason they pay more.

      Nov 3, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Bellevue, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get to work with really smart people. For the most part, the co-workers are great and you're all in the same boat. Global Good and IV Lab are interesting and different. Stands out from other business models because they integrate science, business and invention at the lab.

      Cons

      Founder can be unreasonable, Old-Microsoft environment which can be toxic and extremely inappropriate. Work in silos. Feedback not wanted or accepted.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Intellectual Ventures Response

      Sr HR Business Partner

      At Intellectual Ventures, we respect each person’s individual experience and value feedback from our current/former employees, contractors and interns. We generally don’t respond to reviews but wanted to provide some additional information about our annual attrition as it may be helpful for others. Our average voluntary turnover is well below industry average and something we are proud of given the competitive job market in Seattle and IV’s dynamic environment. In fact, this year we are celebrating 15 10-year service anniversaries! We understand not everyone will find a perfect home here, but we put great value on supporting that kind of long-term career growth and stability. We welcome any additional feedback either here on Glassdoor or directly to Jennifer Leick (jleick@intven.com), Recruiting Director & HRBP.

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Worst experience

      Aug 8, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Bellevue, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits and that's about it.

      Cons

      My whole time at IV was horrible. My manager encouraged an open relationship and seemed to be encouraging in the pace I was learning. They give you a 6 month time frame to completely understand and ace things and get into a routine but she gave me 3 months and continuously told me that I was incapable and complained about making mistakes.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee

      HR

      May 4, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working with the brilliant people that are attracted to work at IV

      Cons

      perception outsiders have of the company

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Smart People, Great Environment

      Nov 16, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Bellevue, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I feel that the finance department has clear goals. We are given the necessary resources and freedom to work toward those goals. We are a very collaborative group who willingly solve problems together. Our executive leadership is transparent to the extent they are able regarding expectations, performance, achievements, failures and future aspirations. We are always looking at long term solutions that all groups can integrate with. We are a dynamic business with complex business practices. This keeps things interesting and exciting, especially when a finance job typically becomes stale and boring. IV compensates fairly, work / life balance is appropriate and benefits are competitive.

      Cons

      People outside of IV seem to form opinions of our business model quickly. I remind those that we are in the business of world changing innovation. If we do not protect our inventors ideas, then we are at risk of losing some of the most brilliant, innovative people in the world.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      My experience so far at IV in Finance ... Four years and counting

      Oct 26, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      IV is pioneering a new asset class and business model, so there is no well trodden path to simply follow what others have already done. This creates massive opportunity, but one needs to be a "go getter" and accept that things will fail from time to time which is at the essence of invention itself. However, the type of person that succeeds is one that is strong willed, inventive, persistent and can collaboratively work with others and clearly understand the strategy and translate that into tactical deliverables. From the leadership down everyone is hard working so don't expect to coast along ... its not that kind of place ... Also people who do well are those that grab responsibility and lead rather than being told what to do. The Finance management do a great job at keeping that balance which promotes opportunity to succeed. I can't think of a more invigorating and challenging place to work ...

      Cons

      IV is not as competitive "pay-wise" as the street so many good people have been poached. It's traditionally spread the compensation more broadly at year end, than being targeted to those that really make a difference and will commit to the long term. Given the state patent market, its feeling a little bit vulnerable now, but its poised to re-bound.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 29 Reviews

    Work at Intellectual Ventures? Share Your Experiences

    Intellectual Ventures logo
    or