Island Hospitality Reviews

Updated 30 Dec 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
55%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Island Hospitality Owner Jeffrey Fisher (no image)
Jeffrey Fisher
92 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There aren't any hotels located in Katy, TX(in 19 reviews)

  • "Pay is well below industry standards, no accountability for upper management, shady corporate practices(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. "Great Management Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hotel General Manager in Cary, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Island Hospitality full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Worked for over 5 years with them. A lot of room for growth through internal promotion programs. Very fair company with a lot of support for employees. They seem to care a lot about the people and would hold monthly luncheons from local restaurants. Great 401K, Health and Vacation Benefits.

    Cons

    Honestly can't think of anything negative.

    Island Hospitality Response

    January 11, 2021Associate Engagement Team

    Thank you for your dedication and loyalty to Island Hospitality Management. We value our team members and appreciate the time they contribute to making our company successful. As you mentioned internal promotion is available for all of our team members and we work diligently to provide fair and equal opportunity to everyone. People are at the center of what we do daily, and we ensure that we start with providing our best services to our team members first so that they can pass along that exceptional service to our guests. Please feel free to send any additional feedback you may have to our Associate Engagement Team at aet@ih-corp.com

  2. "Great Company"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Shelton, CT

    I have been working at Island Hospitality full-time

    Pros

    Sales Driven and care about their employees

    Cons

    I do not have anything negative to say.

    Island Hospitality Response

    January 11, 2021Associate Engagement Team

    Hello and thank you for taking the time to review Island Hospitality Management as an employer. We value continuous feedback from all our team members. As you mentioned sales is a driving force within our company, one of our favorite sales referral programs allows us to put money back into our team members pockets is called I-Leads. We also care for our team members by providing a comprehensive benefits program that includes discounted room nights, discounted tickets to special events, a 401K program and medical benefits to fit your needs. Please reach out to our Associate Engagement team at AET@IH-corp.com if you have additional feedback that may assist us in improving as a company.


  3. "Okay Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Island Hospitality full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It really depends on the management

    Cons

    A lot of the the Directors didn't really care

  4. COVID-19

    "Operations Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Homestead, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Island Hospitality full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Island truly fosters internal employee advancement!

    Cons

    Some people might say "too many hands in the pot" was frustrating. At times having many people in the corporate office to respond to seemed a bit much, however I saw it as having someone to always network and gain knowledge from! Not a con at all!

    Continue reading

    Island Hospitality Response

    November 4, 2020Associate Engagement Team

    Thank you for your feedback and IHM appreciates that you were satisfied with being one of our team members! Upward mobility is a key focus for us and being able to see our team members succeed and grow their career is most rewarding. Yes, our corporate office is hands on and we believe that being a resource to our team members is key and having open communication and being available is what we strive for each and everyday. Our Associate Engagement team would appreciate any further feedback you may have to assist us in improving, we can be reached at AET@ih-corp.com

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Island Hospitality"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A in Wilmington, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Island Hospitality full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    There were no cons working for this company.

    Continue reading

    Island Hospitality Response

    November 4, 2020Associate Engagement Team

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience working for our company! We appreciate your contribution to IHM and it is really great to hear that your time with us was positive. Our Associate Engagement team would appreciate any further feedback you may have to assist us in improving, we can be reached at AET@ih-corp.com

  6. COVID-19
    Helpful (1)

    "One of the BEST"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Sales 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Island Hospitality full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've worked at several different management companies, and Island is absolutely one of the best there is. As a DOS, I felt very supported by our corporate team. If I had a question, I had an answer within minutes. Senior Leadership is very invested in their hotels and make you feel like an important member of the team. iLeads - get paid to send business to other hotels within the portfolio

    Cons

    None - I'd work with Island again in a heartbeat.

    Continue reading

    Island Hospitality Response

    November 4, 2020Associate Engagement Team

    We have heard often that our corporate team is very supportive and focus on providing exceptional customer service to our team members. Also, IHM believes in open communication and are Senior Leadership has a great way of making themselves available to the hotels - so thank you for sharing! Our iLeads program is the perfect way for us to put additional money in our team members pockets! Happy to hear this program was a success for you. We are staying strong and appreciate the enthusiasm! Our Associate Engagement team would appreciate any further feedback you may have to assist us in improving, we can be reached at AET@ih-corp.com

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Island Hospitality full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Senior management is very hands on and makes you feel like a valued employee

    Cons

    Most positions are underpaid with this company.

    Island Hospitality Response

    November 5, 2020Associate Engagement Team

    We appreciate the great comments and we are very glad you are here and appreciate you sharing your experience thus far. Our Associate Engagement team would appreciate any further feedback you may have to assist us in improving, we can be reached at AET@ih-corp.com

  8. Helpful (1)

    "great company with benefits and room for advancement; very rewarding"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Dual Front Desk Supervisor 

    I worked at Island Hospitality full-time

    Pros

    manager in training program, 401k, PTO, and vacation

    Cons

    large time commitment and can be stressful

    Island Hospitality Response

    August 25, 2020Associate Engagement Team

    We truly appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience as one of our team members . As you stated we do offer a great benefits program, such as a comprehensive medical plan, 401(K) plans with a match and complimentary room nights to our team members. You also mentioned that there was a large commitment and the work can be stressful. Please know that this has not gone unnoticed especially during these unprecedented times navigating through the pandemic. We are strive to create a culture that is filled with rewards and growth and are so pleased that was your experience during your time with us. Our Associate Engagement team would appreciate any further feedback you may have to assist us in improving, we can be reached at AET@ih-corp.com

  9. "toxic environment"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RDM 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Island Hospitality full-time

    Pros

    pathways program assistance with career advancement

    Cons

    toxic environment and if you don't "fit" the description to be a part of the clique prepare yourself to not be supported by your direct supervisor

    Continue reading

    Island Hospitality Response

    November 5, 2020Associate Engagement Team

    Thank you for taking the time to share your personal experience. We are proud of our Pathways of Leadership program and happy to hear you found it beneficial and positive take away. Our intention is to provide a positive environment that supports all of our team members. We would like to review your feedback further. Please feel free to contact our Associate Engagement Team at AET@ih-corp.com.

  10. COVID-19

    "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Island Hospitality full-time

    Pros

    Knowledgeable in the hotel management industry

    Cons

    Covid on the hospitality industry

    Island Hospitality Response

    August 25, 2020Associate Engagement Team

    Thank you for your review and being a part of our Island family! We always appreciate feedback from our team members. We understand the challenging impact COVID-19 has had on our industry and most importantly our team members and we value your commitment not only to our company as a whole but to your fellow team members and our guests. Our Associate Engagement team would appreciate any further feedback you may have to assist us in improving, we can be reached at AET@ih-corp.com

Viewing 1 - 10 of 188 English Reviews