J D Wetherspoon Bar Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

J D Wetherspoon Bar Associate Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 260 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
106 Ratings
  1. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Sale, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good money and good environment

    Cons

    working hours and management aren't too good

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-13
  2. "Stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% shift discount and 20% off shift discount. Meeting friends.

    Cons

    The customers tend to get very nasty especially after a drink. The managers get very stressed and take it out on the associate's . The regulars who spend lots of money 12h 7 days a week in the pub are rude to staff but don't get barred because they are brining in so much money, we have to just "take it on the chin"

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-20
  3. "Standard bar work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Salisbury, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people to work with. Easy work

    Cons

    Long shifts and too many closes in same week

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-15
  4. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Competitive pay, flexible hours. Good bonus schemes.

    Cons

    Even though, hours are flexible and can be adjusted to your lifestyle, for some they are really unsociable. If you work in Lloyds, more than likely you'll always work Friday/Saturday night shifts.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-05

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    August 21, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We try to ensure everyone has hours that suit them.

    Continue reading
  5. "Mossy Well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Discount, Friendly atmosphere, Sociable team

    Cons

    Troublesome customers (Drunk, Violent, Can be very rude)

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-07-19
  6. "Working as a Bar Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Pontypridd, Wales
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Tight-knit work groups - Staff Discount

    Cons

    - Unsociable hours - Management do not always take mental health seriously

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-02

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    August 21, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We would like to follow up with you your comments about how mental health issue have been supported. Please get in touch by contacting us @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Decent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    - staff benefits good - nice team - staff looked after for pub environment

    Cons

    - late nights (though do get paid an extra hour) - busy , takes time to get used to.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-07-12
  8. "Flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Good Pay and Flexible Hours

    Cons

    Varying shift times from week to week

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-07-12
  9. "Stressful but rewarding!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar/Floor Associate in Swansea, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    . Flexible hours. . Hands-on, fast-paced work. . Rewarding for those who show initiative and want to advance. . Generous pay for a bar job. . Enhances your communication skills.

    Cons

    . Long, unsociable hours with little to no assistance at times. . Can be very tight-knit so workplace drama can be a distraction. . Working in a skeleton-crew pub can be demanding, in which case expect to be asked to cover shifts short-notice.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-07-13
  10. "Wetherspoons life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in London, England

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good hours and generally a good company to work with, with good benefits.

    Cons

    Might not be able to get a shift sometimes.

    Continue reading
    J D Wetherspoon2019-07-09
Found 260 reviews