J D Wetherspoon Bar Associate Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

J D Wetherspoon Bar Associate Reviews

Updated Sep 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 270 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
112 Ratings
  1. "If you fit the part then sure, if not AVOID"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, frequent bonuses, 50% off meals

    Cons

    Long shift hours, Very rude customers, Finishing at 3AM, Management pick who they like and treat the rest like dirt, for example I requested to be bar trained but was refused due to having a little facial hair, which I shaved off and was still refused. Management granted me holidays but then took my last day of my holiday away without advising me and I got a disciplinary for not turning up for work, Shift patterns... are non existent, every week either has long shifts, or barely any contracted minimum shift hours are ever kept too. Understaffed constantly.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Speak with your staff about issues instead of jumping the gun on certain issues you have with them. Treat all staff equally regardless of facial hair or any appearance, Stop speaking to staff like children, Work out fair shift patterns instead of random each week. Take the time to actually thoroughly train your staff instead of throwing them in the deep end.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-23
  2. "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Associate in Canterbury, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    20% discount, and nothing else

    Cons

    Literally everything except the discount

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-09
  3. "Friendly Environment but management tend to delegate a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Leicester, England

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun working environment There are some available bonus such £1 extra for hours after 12

    Cons

    associates tend to get the dirty unwanted jobs

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-13
  4. "Bar associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Good hours Flexible Fun environment

    Cons

    Bad customers Management issues

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-07

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Many thanks for your comments. It’s good to hear that you feel the hours are good and there is flexibility with shifts. However, there are a couple of points that you have raised which we would like to look into further. Please get in touch so that we can understand more @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

  5. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar/Floor Associate in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, bonus and promotional opportunity

    Cons

    Hard work, long hours, can be monotonous, varies depending on the way the management work

    Advice to Management

    Communicate , action , and give staff varied shift patterns. I.e eve n weekends off in rotation where poss

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-17

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We are pleased to hear you are benefitting from the bonus scheme and promotional opportunities. If your shift patterns are an issue, please speak to your pub manager.

  6. "26 hour contract and no hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people I work with our nice

    Cons

    I've been given 2 shifted a week whichv s on Thursday and Sunday which is terrible as I don't get paid much I feel as though I'm on the job centre. I've asked countless managers what's going on they keep saying people are leaving but their still hiring

    Advice to Management

    Get proper management and don't hire anyone when all your overstaffed and why are you still hiring unreliable people

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-12
  7. "Bar asssociate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Lovely staff Discount on food and drink

    Cons

    Late shifts Stressful and busy

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-02

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    April 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. It’s good to hear you are working with a great team and benefitting from staff discount.

  8. "Spoons."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate in Worcester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Flexible working hours - Meet a lot of new faces - Develop interpersonal skills

    Cons

    - Unsociable hours - Not challenging

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-12

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We are pleased that you have taken advantage of the ability to work flexibly, something that we offer all our employees as we know it is important to them.

  9. "Bar/Kitchen Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate in Coventry, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent hourly pay, 20% discount off-duty, 50% discount on-duty

    Cons

    Stressful workplace, Late rotas, understaffed

    Advice to Management

    Post rotas 3 weeks early as promised, hire enough people, take care of your employees

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-21
  10. "Really good company!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Enfield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It’s a really good companyto work for, pay every Friday and benefits are good!

    Cons

    Depending on what site you’re at, the hours can be long and late nights too.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-21
Found 270 reviews