J D Wetherspoon Kitchen Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

J D Wetherspoon Kitchen Assistant Reviews

Updated Dec 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
96%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
2 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Kitchen Assistant 

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    friendly staff Good hours Good holiday system

    Cons

    Stressful Can work alone if hours are tight

    J D Wetherspoon2019-12-06
  2. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    Lees hours in winter

    J D Wetherspoon2019-11-25
  3. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Assistant in Stockton-on-Tees, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots Of Shifts and nice people

    Cons

    none none none none none

    J D Wetherspoon2019-11-04
  4. "None"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Assistant in Alfreton, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good team and pleasant atmosphere

    Cons

    Cleaning g items are poor

    Advice to Management

    None

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-20
  5. "Wetherspoon review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work environment is very good and the managers are always friendly and there has never been any issues related to my availability when having more uni work

    Cons

    It gets really busy sometimes

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-23
  6. "Corrupt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Discount of meals but not drinks

    Cons

    High pressure Immature staff Corruption within the manager Severe attitude problems

    Advice to Management

    So many people left the Counting House, even within the first few weeks, the staff turnover rate is embarrassing that they increased the wage, only go if you're desperate, but be prepared to get depressed. The only nice people were the floor staff, the bar and kitchen staff had constant mood swings, even the manager to. Good luck.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-06-11
  7. "Positive workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Assistant in Bath, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent benefits Workers rights respected Very affordable food on shift No prior experience required Possibility to pick up extra shifts when wanted. Training provided

    Cons

    Very high pressure work at busy times

    Advice to Management

    I felt like I was treated fairly and that my management team was well trained and approachable. I hope the management is continuing this.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-05-15
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Worst job I've EVER had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Assistant in Derby, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay was good Discount on food

    Cons

    Regularly worked 6 hours+ on the night shift (6-12am officially but clean up often took much longer than that) without so much as a toilet break (I'm a woman so you can imagine the implications of that) whilst other people on the shift were sent for their breaks. Never got to enjoy the food discount as when I did get a break it was never long enough to eat. Once scalded myself on steam from a lasagne yet had... to wait over an hour before I was able to administer first aid. Management was next level atrocious, used a Facebook group to reprimand employees indirectly rather than to their faces and had a go at me through Facebook messenger for complaining about the working conditions to others. Management never learned my name, referred to me as "she" and "her" for the few months I was there. A manager also once came into the kitchen to pull male staff out to look at the legs of a female customer at the bar. When I was hired I took great pains to ensure they knew I was a student and was still treated like dirt when I handed them my timetable for the new year and said I'd no longer be able to work night shifts on days where I had class the next morning. When I signed the contract I couldn't understand why they had a clause banning us from complaining about the job on social media, it only took one shift to figure the reason out.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Social media is no place to conduct your business. Sexism is not ok. Make sure that the shift leaders are aware everyone is entitled to a break.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-05-15
  9. "Kitchen Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Assistant in Minehead, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great friends, Great atmosphere, Good fun

    Cons

    Long hours, Hot, Constant standing

    Advice to Management

    its all going great

    J D Wetherspoon2017-09-14
  10. "Part Time Kitchen Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Assistant in Wimborne Minster, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Hours Good Team Ethic Chance to learn new skills and train for other roles Decent pay and discounts

    Cons

    Short staffed during some key shifts Management could be more organised

    Advice to Management

    Better awareness of making sure there are more than enough staff available working in the kitchen, on the bar and the floor during busy times of the day and during busy times of the year.

    J D Wetherspoon2016-07-25
Found 15 reviews