J D Wetherspoon Kitchen Staff Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

J D Wetherspoon Kitchen Staff Reviews

Updated Nov 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
37%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
8 Ratings
  1. "Kitchen Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Kitchen Staff in Gorleston-on-Sea, England

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    *Friendly staff and team members who provided excellent support. *50% meal discount during shifts *Opportunities to increase hours above contract

    Cons

    *Pay did not justify the amount of hours and work I did. *Almost always understaffed so could be really stressful during peak service. *Really long hours and sometimes inconsistent breaks.

    Advice to Management

    Would be great to have weekly or monthly team meeting were the feedback of staff is heard and implemented.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-11-06
  2. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Staff in Dundee, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good environment Good team work

    Cons

    No major cons Bad colleagues

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-16
  3. "How do I quit my job when I’m in my probation I hate it here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Staff 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay seems decent enough for the hours you work

    Cons

    Help me quit do I talk to my manager or just not turn up anymore I’m on probation

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-26
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Kitchen Staff 

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Overtime and bonus opportunities

    Cons

    Hard work and long hours

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-04
  5. "Kitchen staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Staff in Wallasey, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours are available

    Cons

    Not many hours of work

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-24
  6. "Signing Your Soul Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Staff in Bletchley, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    The pay is quite decent 50% off on breaks 20% off out of work hours Supportive co-workers

    Cons

    Wetherspoons have a HIGH rating of start and leave and this is very understandable to me after working there. I had one manager who was extremely caring towards me and someone who wasn’t a manager, just a shift leader who thought she was better than Just the general kitchen staff even though we all were doing the same job. I asked for full time and I’m thankful that I didn’t get full time because what I did get... ended up being way too much for me to take. Singing that contract is like signing your life away, they don’t care about a work-life balance. They want your whole life to be about accommodating them. Back to the shift leaders - They are really rude and patronising. I hated the way one of them treated me talking to me like I’m dumb and less than her. You also get in trouble for wanting to change your hours, they will put you on the same job for hours which could be potwash and don’t let you do other things. They will then tell you if you complain that everyone has to do it and it’s not just you but you will notice a pattern of the Jobs they give you. Management also talk about the other employees. You are only allowed a 30 minute break and if you smoke that includes getting out of your kitchen uniform for health and safety purposes but other management will go about three cigarettes within a 2 hour period and wear their uniform. There has to be rules that everyone follows otherwise it defeats its purpose and it’s unfair. Another thing is health and safety - They use the same tongs and oil for the vegan chicken as they do with normal chicken which is disrespectful towards vegans. You are overworked and sometimes are not allowed your break and you have to ask which sometimes they will tell you no and then 30 minutes later take an extra break. Themselves. I would say do not work here. you will become depressed

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Let shift leaders know that they aren’t superior to the general kitchen staff who are trying their best. People work at different paces and learn in different ways. Do not tolerate any patronising behaviour and let your employees have their breaks. Do not over work them and actually pay them what they’ve actually earned: do not just randomly choose the pay check. Give the employees CONSTRUCTIVE FEEDBACK, “You are... terrible at this.” “Have you never done A-Z?!’ is not constructive feedback. That will make people leave. This is why you’re always advertising

    Show More
    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-24
  7. "Awful Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Staff in Abergavenny, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some staff, nothing else. Everything else is bad

    Cons

    Everything, all management awful! Area managers the lot!

    Advice to Management

    Get a life, you earn basically nothing! Spoons is not the end of the world

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "they are liars"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Staff in Harrow on the Hill, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    THERE AREN'T ANY PROS TO BE HONEST ( you even have to pay for your own food or drinks)

    Cons

    lies, low salary, lesser pay if you work more hours, they make the salaries from their heads u can get one week 150 another 240 the next one 200.....they just give u whatever number they have in mind

    Advice to Management

    instruct your managers not to lie the staff

    J D Wetherspoon2019-02-21
  9. "Kitchen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Kitchen Staff in Manchester, England

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Quite flexible Good during study’s

    Cons

    Asked to do so much, for so little money, especially in the kitchen. The owner supports brexit

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay or employ more people to even the load on workers.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-10-19
  10. "Ridiculous Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Staff in Carlisle, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a easy job to get, there are lots of hours if you want them. Weekly pay is also a bonus and keeps you working for the next pay check.

    Cons

    Incompetent and childish supervisors create an unprofessional and unwelcoming working environment for new staff. Food hygiene was a problem when I was there (lack of hand washing, raw meat and cooked meat handled straight after each other without gloves creating a risk of cross contamination, chefs smoking in uniform etc). The food production is made to be idiot proof with everything microwaved (even microwavable... poached eggs!?) but creates a job devoid of job satisfaction simply waiting for microwaves to cook food. Ultimately a very repetitive and mind numbing job with safety concerns due to a poor quality of staff.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try to be professional. It was ridiculous to see kitchen supervisors and management walk around ticking and signing boxes in a book while looking over obvious safety concerns. Perhaps more in depth training can given in person rather than clicking through tasks online where knowledge and progress can really be checked. The environment in the kitchen was also toxic during busy periods, a lack of leadership is... apparent (supervisors washing dishes when busy?) so my advice would be to replace and hire leaders capable of being responsible and organised under pressure.

    Show More
    J D Wetherspoon2018-11-22
Found 21 reviews