J D Wetherspoon Pub Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Find jobs for Pub Manager

J D Wetherspoon Pub Manager Reviews

Updated 14 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
24 Ratings
  1. "Good pay and benefits. Hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Remuneration, training, Senior leadership communication, welfare of employees

    Cons

    Not very flexible shift wise for certain levels, Wage controls can leave pubs short handed regularly

    J D Wetherspoon2019-11-14
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Never enough time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Write your own rota, albeit having to work late shifts, some good perks. Build your own team.

    Cons

    Very late nights, constantly relying upon staff that don’t care. Forever recruiting to replace staff u willing to work and who call in sick continually. No time to manage absenteeism due to absenteeism.

    Advice to Management

    Non pub based management need to follow the same rules that is enforced on pub staff but don’t. Area & general managers are so far detached from what modern pub working is like but don’t want to hear what it’s like on the coal face.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-28
  3. Helpful (1)

    "No pub manager promise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits like shares Great pay GM very involved Staff liaison meetings

    Cons

    Micromanaged Under constant threat of disciplinary No input in running business Very stressful No work life balance Area management/personnel - all friends nowhere to turn for support Made to work when pubs are quiet - yet graded on it

    Advice to Management

    Who looks after pub Managers? We have to look after all our employees but no one cares for us. I was told “everyone has families” when I complained My working pattern meant I rarely seen my child or partner

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-09
  4. "Great career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities for any hardworking employee Good pay Good bonuses Great support networks Lots of training and further opportunities

    Cons

    Work life balance can suffer with you always being on call

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-21
  5. "Its a profit thing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Best in this industry to work for.

    Cons

    Some poor Managers at HO level covering themselves. Hours cut too far at pub level putting staff and customers at risk.

    Advice to Management

    Find efficiencies away from the pubs

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-10
  6. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities to progress

    Cons

    Feeling like a number

    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-08
  7. "Pathetic company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pub Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    All the Other BAR staff

    Cons

    Area managers are of zero help other than to stitch pub staff up. Pay is terrible for what you put up with. No overtime pay if you’re on salary just expected to do it. Bonus is now impossible to get while directors get 6digit bonus year in year out.

    Advice to Management

    Take a long had look at yourselves and what you expect staff to do

    J D Wetherspoon2019-08-05
  8. "Excellent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great career progression, competitive salary, additional benefits, free shares

    Cons

    I don’t have any cons for this company

    Advice to Management

    As a pub manager myself working my way up from an associate my so I have been part of the management team for most of my time with the company. I think the company is good and heading in the right direction. Now further advice needed

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-20
  9. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    42 hours a week, no split shifts, good money. The best employer in this industry by far.

    Cons

    High expectations from head office. Never enough staff to carry out tasks required to maintain jdw standards and drive sales accordingly.

    Advice to Management

    Try not to forget how it is on the front line. Be mindful of the staffing levels you dictate when adding more administrative tasks

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-21
  10. "More positivity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager in Durham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Decent pay, enjoyable most of the time

    Cons

    The negativity from area managers.. pubs being pitched against each other.. no praise for strengths, constant criticism

    Advice to Management

    Be more positive with pub managers who are working hard on the front line... not everyone likes to sit in an office reading reports.. these need to be made sharp and quick to read if that is what is required.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-24
Found 33 reviews