J D Wetherspoon Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1125 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
464 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Kitchen staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Staff in Wallasey, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours are available

    Cons

    Not many hours of work

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-24
  2. "Kitchen staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    - good pay - friendly staff, very diverse

    Cons

    - "on the job training" - stood around in the kitchen when I first started without knowing or being told what to do - can get very hot and busy in a small kitchen

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-22
  3. "Wetherspoon review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The work environment is very good and the managers are always friendly and there has never been any issues related to my availability when having more uni work

    Cons

    It gets really busy sometimes

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-23
  4. "Fast paced and hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

      Pros

      Always have something to do. Keeps you fit with all the walking around taking food if you're in a bigger pub

      Cons

      Long hours and late closes can be a drag

      J D Wetherspoon2019-04-18
    • "Good Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Shift Manager 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Good support from HO Well paid Good incentives

      Cons

      Lots of pressure to achieve targets whilst keeping costs down. Hard to progress after shift manager

      Advice to Management

      Keep in mind the pressure you put on pub management teams.

      J D Wetherspoon2019-04-18
    • "Good company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Bar/Floor Associate in Cardiff, Wales
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good pay, bonus and promotional opportunity

      Cons

      Hard work, long hours, can be monotonous, varies depending on the way the management work

      Advice to Management

      Communicate , action , and give staff varied shift patterns. I.e eve n weekends off in rotation where poss

      J D Wetherspoon2019-04-17
    • "Na na"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

        Pros

        Well so far training has been well received

        Cons

        I have not been in employment long enough

        J D Wetherspoon2019-04-15
      • "It is what you make of it"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        The people you work with are lovely and supportive which in turn offers a more pleasant working environment. I think the progressive pay is also great and puts JDW in the lead in terms of setting the bar for pay in this industry.

        Cons

        Last minute rota changes could be a real headache

        Advice to Management

        I think senior management need to remember their roots, as it is a very difficult job at pub level and it does seem senior management is very out of touch with what they expect v what they offer.

        J D Wetherspoon2019-04-14
      • "Kitchen Shift Leader"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Kitchen Shift Leader 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Good competitive pay good training scheme

        Cons

        Can be very stressful and demanding at times depending on management colleagues

        J D Wetherspoon2019-04-14
      • "Decent first time good. Good pay."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

        Pros

        - Ability to progress - Pay - People - Sociably job

        Cons

        - Hit and miss managers and pub managers- can be really nice or awful. - Everything's cheap and done to a poor quality- but it is spoons - Tim Martin thinks hes Teresa May with all his Brexit involvement

        J D Wetherspoon2019-04-15
      Found 1125 reviews