J D Wetherspoon Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated Oct 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
561 Ratings
Pros
  • "Learnt a lot about how a big pub works(in 111 reviews)

  • "It’s good pay, 28 days holiday a year 40 hour per week(in 86 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some management tend to forget that running the pub from the office can create tension with associates(in 168 reviews)

  • "Long hours/Late shifts - comes with working in a pub(in 166 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company to work fir"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Floor Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    I have had no down s

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work and listen to your team

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-18
  2. "Shift manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    40 hour week Food on shift Bonuses Free shares after 18 months

    Cons

    Understaffed. Poor management from above. Poor controls on costs and hours for week

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on staff training and not throwing them in the deep end. Give more training hours. Ie first shift is an 8 hour shift doubled up with experienced staff

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-18
  3. "Benefits; progression; and a load of fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Middlesbrough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Bonus, free food, progression, sociable

    Cons

    Unsociable hours, hard work, not a lot of cons

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-16
  4. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Staff in Dundee, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good environment Good team work

    Cons

    No major cons Bad colleagues

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-16
  5. "Whether to Wetherspoons?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Cheltenham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great part time - while at university I was able to transfer between a pub at home and a pub in Exeter. The pay is good and they were able to give me shifts based on the days/times I gave them. My team in Cheltenham has been so friendly and social, I feel integral to the pub. There is plenty of opportunity to work your way up too if you wanted to make a career of it.

    Cons

    Too large a pub with multiple managers and lots of associates means you never really feel part of a team and simply feel like a number (Imperial in Exeter) - witnessed high staff turn over in this environment. A pub with only 1/2 managers is so much better as you feel integral to the team and will work with everyone at some point and get to know them properly. Hours can be unsociable if you work closed and weekends... but you can opt not to.

    Show More
    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-15
  6. "Good Part Time Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar/Floor Associate in Southampton, England

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work perks Option for fast progression

    Cons

    Increasing responsibility without equivalent pay rise

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-15
  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cleaner 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Good bonuses. Friendly staff, understanding management

    Cons

    Hard work, very busy and very repetitive

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-11
  8. "Good overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good team vibe, good pay for the job done with bonuses

    Cons

    Sometimes long hours, early morning starts

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-23
  9. "Bar Associate in JD Wetherspoons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Lovely people to work with and no pay issues

    Cons

    Long hours and understaffed most of the time

    Advice to Management

    Try make working hours more worker friendly

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-23
  10. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It’s good pay, 28 days holiday a year 40 hour per week. You can apply for shares with the company after you’ve been with them for 18 months (free money) you can apply for a flexible rota after you have been with the company 26 weeks and they will try there best to help. Free meals and soft drink on your breaks. 50% discount when you work for your meals and soft drinks and 20% on meals and alcohol when your off. ... Great opportunity to process in the company.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are no cons for me.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-08
Found 1367 reviews