J D Wetherspoon Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

J D Wetherspoon Reviews

Updated Oct 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
561 Ratings
  1. "Good company to work fir"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Floor Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    I have had no down s

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work and listen to your team

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-18
  2. "Benefits; progression; and a load of fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Middlesbrough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Bonus, free food, progression, sociable

    Cons

    Unsociable hours, hard work, not a lot of cons

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-16
  3. "Whether to Wetherspoons?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Cheltenham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great part time - while at university I was able to transfer between a pub at home and a pub in Exeter. The pay is good and they were able to give me shifts based on the days/times I gave them. My team in Cheltenham has been so friendly and social, I feel integral to the pub. There is plenty of opportunity to work your way up too if you wanted to make a career of it.

    Cons

    Too large a pub with multiple managers and lots of associates means you never really feel part of a team and simply feel like a number (Imperial in Exeter) - witnessed high staff turn over in this environment. A pub with only 1/2 managers is so much better as you feel integral to the team and will work with everyone at some point and get to know them properly. Hours can be unsociable if you work closed and weekends... but you can opt not to.

    Show More
    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-15
  4. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It’s good pay, 28 days holiday a year 40 hour per week. You can apply for shares with the company after you’ve been with them for 18 months (free money) you can apply for a flexible rota after you have been with the company 26 weeks and they will try there best to help. Free meals and soft drink on your breaks. 50% discount when you work for your meals and soft drinks and 20% on meals and alcohol when your off. ... Great opportunity to process in the company.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are no cons for me.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-08
  5. "Friend and fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server/Bartender in Maidstone, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - It is a well recognised brand with a competitive wage system - fast paced and exciting - experience in customer service - friednly staff and mangers

    Cons

    - the customers having set opinions on the company that don't echo how it truly operates

    J D Wetherspoon2019-10-02
  6. "Great career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities for any hardworking employee Good pay Good bonuses Great support networks Lots of training and further opportunities

    Cons

    Work life balance can suffer with you always being on call

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-21
  7. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Team Leader in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay, tips, bonus potential

    Cons

    Dealing with obnoxious customers all day every day

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-20
  8. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Team Leader 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Great pay, bonus schemes and very busy, faced paced environment to work in. Also a great sociable job which allows you to interact with a wide range of people.

    Cons

    Having to work weekends and Holidays.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-19
  9. "Excellent opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Leader in Dundee, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great training and progression opportunities. Management always keen to train and company always looking to improve staff through training and support. Good bonus scheme and shares incentives

    Cons

    Work/life balance can be tough during busy periods, but not much more so than industry competitors.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-18
  10. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bartender in Gatwick, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Tips Good salary Fixed contracted hours Easy to get to

    Cons

    Long shifts Night hours Need an airport pass (can be tricky to get) Sometimes short staffed

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-18
Found 1367 reviews