J D Wetherspoon "discount on food" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

J D Wetherspoon Employee Reviews about "discount on food"

Updated Sep 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
583 Ratings
Pros
  • "Learnt a lot about how a big pub works(in 112 reviews)

  • "It’s good pay, 28 days holiday a year 40 hour per week(in 91 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours/Late shifts - comes with working in a pub(in 174 reviews)

  • "Some management tend to forget that running the pub from the office can create tension with associates(in 172 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "discount on food"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Long Hours and Bad Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member in Cheshunt, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - My other team members were like family - plenty of opportunity to progress in the company - incentives offered for targets - discount on food

    Cons

    - minimum wage - tips had to go back into the company ( no cash allowed but drinks could be bought for you) - long hours and mass understaffing - racist, abusive and sometimes violent customers were always given priority - The pub was dirty and corners were cut to ensure they saved money.

    Advice to Management

    CQs don't do enough to actually assess the running of certain places. Please increase pay or allow tips. Stop promoting racist views.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-09-20
  2. "Really cares about it staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Bar Staff 

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Good pay, discount on food and drinks, easy to pick up

    Cons

    Just like every bar job irregular hours, but what you sign up for

    J D Wetherspoon2019-07-25
  3. "Bar asssociate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Lovely staff Discount on food and drink

    Cons

    Late shifts Stressful and busy

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-02
  4. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Southport, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay, free shares, staff discount on food - 50% while working, 20% on food and drink when off shift. Good pay, free shares, staff discount on food - 50% while working, 20% on food and drink when off shift.

    Cons

    Long hours, late nights, poor delivery.. not the best breaks. Long hours, late nights, poor delivery.. not the best breaks.

    Advice to Management

    Good pay, free shares, staff discount on food - 50% while working, 20% on food and drink when off shift.Good pay, free shares, staff discount on food - 50% while working, 20% on food and drink when off shift.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-31
  5. "Wouldn't recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate in Brighton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work/Life balance okay dependent on your hours Discounts on food and drink on shift (50%) and off (20%)

    Cons

    Little to no guidance for new staff Disrespectful senior staff No clean or individual uniforms Long hours, minimal breaks (unless you smoke) Loud, irritating music played in kitchen

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-18
  6. "Great student job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barman, Barmaid in Norwich, England
    Recommends

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    20% discount on food and drinks Good managers that always tried to help. Good work environment.

    Cons

    The closing shift was really long.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-28
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    If I’m honest the only pros is possibly the discount on food but only whilst on shift

    Cons

    Unfortunately my time here was awful, management is greedy , rude and no respect what so ever, the pay is minimum wage and if you work on a Friday and Saturday night be prepared to stay behind after you’re meant to finish for free to clean up and this is without any extra pay, when I worked here I had to stay for an extra 40minutes on a Saturday night and when I got paid I didn’t receive any extra money when I... questioned this I was told that I didn’t have to stay (I didn’t even get a thank you or even a drink) management and seniors are hypocrites they take short cuts when it comes to standards if you copy them they pull you up on it, there’s no real career progression here unless you get really friendly with management. Turn over is very very high nobody stays for that long some people come for a trial then don’t return. Also you’re on a zero hour contract you’re hours change weekly and they constantly change them, I had a weekend off once then the day before changed the roster and expected me to work it even though I was going away, I just didn’t show up that weekend for work but they didn’t seem to bothered that just shows what type of company there like to work for.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don’t even know where to start! Respect you’re staff, don’t take short cuts.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-02-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Would never return to the company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in Romford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    20% discount on food 20% discount on drinks 50% while working Management feeding

    Cons

    Lack of policy inforcement Regularly unpaying staff Cash in hand work over Contracted Mistreatment of staff Poor training Regularly breaking licencing laws Stock manipulation Cash manipulation Area managers poorly trained

    Advice to Management

    After working for this company on and off since 18, it has clearly gone down hill. I stated a bunch of cons but the list could continue. My advice it's to write the whisle blowing email and be prepared to use regularly but don't expect any change, just saves your self when being investigated for it. Also be prepared for regular beach of data protection as company have no issue using phones to record Cctv and will... share via Facebook, WhatsApp or Snapchat. I enjoyed my early years at spoons but in the last three years of being in a management position I'm truly glad to be putting my spoonie career behind me. I doubt Mr Tim Martin has even a basic understanding of what really is becoming of his company and the misconduct or gross misconduct that regularly goes on.

    Show More
    J D Wetherspoon2019-02-15
  9. "People are nice but shifts can be long"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Weekly pay Friendly Staff Staff discount on food and drink

    Cons

    Poor training Long shifts Bad management Unexpected hours

    Advice to Management

    Better training should be provided on key as[eats of the job.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-11-13
  10. "Zero hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere Employee discount on food

    Cons

    Zero hour contract meant you never knew how many hours you’d work each week

    J D Wetherspoon2018-11-04
Found 60 reviews