J D Wetherspoon "discount on food" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

J D Wetherspoon Employee Reviews about "discount on food"

Updated Jun 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1182 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
483 Ratings
Pros
  • "salary very competitive for the pub trade(in 98 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours and contract set to your needs(in 63 reviews)

Cons
  • "Much busier than your average Pub/Restaurant(in 143 reviews)

  • "Long hours with not enough breaks(in 135 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "discount on food"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Bar asssociate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time

    Pros

    Lovely staff Discount on food and drink

    Cons

    Late shifts Stressful and busy

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-02

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    April 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. It’s good to hear you are working with a great team and benefitting from staff discount.

  2. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Southport, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay, free shares, staff discount on food - 50% while working, 20% on food and drink when off shift. Good pay, free shares, staff discount on food - 50% while working, 20% on food and drink when off shift.

    Cons

    Long hours, late nights, poor delivery.. not the best breaks. Long hours, late nights, poor delivery.. not the best breaks.

    Advice to Management

    Good pay, free shares, staff discount on food - 50% while working, 20% on food and drink when off shift.Good pay, free shares, staff discount on food - 50% while working, 20% on food and drink when off shift.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-31

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    April 30, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Many thanks for your feedback and hard work.

  3. "Wouldn't recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kitchen Associate in Brighton, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work/Life balance okay dependent on your hours Discounts on food and drink on shift (50%) and off (20%)

    Cons

    Little to no guidance for new staff Disrespectful senior staff No clean or individual uniforms Long hours, minimal breaks (unless you smoke) Loud, irritating music played in kitchen

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-18

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you did not have a great experience. If you would like to discuss further the points you have raised, please get in touch by contacting us @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

  4. "Great student job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barman, Barmaid in Norwich, England
    Recommends

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    20% discount on food and drinks Good managers that always tried to help. Good work environment.

    Cons

    The closing shift was really long.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-28
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    If I’m honest the only pros is possibly the discount on food but only whilst on shift

    Cons

    Unfortunately my time here was awful, management is greedy , rude and no respect what so ever, the pay is minimum wage and if you work on a Friday and Saturday night be prepared to stay behind after you’re meant to finish for free to clean up and this is without any extra pay, when I worked here I had to stay for an extra 40minutes on a Saturday night and when I got paid I didn’t receive any extra money when I questioned...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don’t even know where to start! Respect you’re staff, don’t take short cuts.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-02-19

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    March 22, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thanks for your comments, your experience is not what we would expect as part of our Associate Promise.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Would never return to the company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in Romford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    20% discount on food 20% discount on drinks 50% while working Management feeding

    Cons

    Lack of policy inforcement Regularly unpaying staff Cash in hand work over Contracted Mistreatment of staff Poor training Regularly breaking licencing laws Stock manipulation Cash manipulation Area managers poorly trained

    Advice to Management

    After working for this company on and off since 18, it has clearly gone down hill. I stated a bunch of cons but the list could continue. My advice it's to write the whisle blowing email and be prepared to use regularly but don't expect any change, just saves your self when being investigated for it. Also be prepared for regular beach of data protection as company have no issue using phones to record Cctv and will share...

    Show More
    J D Wetherspoon2019-02-15

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    March 5, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Sorry to hear you did not have a great experience. There are some points you have raised which we would like to look into further. Please get in touch by contacting us @ PersonnelAdvisors@jdwetherspoon.co.uk

  7. "People are nice but shifts can be long"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Weekly pay Friendly Staff Staff discount on food and drink

    Cons

    Poor training Long shifts Bad management Unexpected hours

    Advice to Management

    Better training should be provided on key as[eats of the job.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-11-13

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    November 14, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback. if you feel there are areas you need additional training support we would urge you to get in contact with the training team at head office.

  8. "Zero hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere Employee discount on food

    Cons

    Zero hour contract meant you never knew how many hours you’d work each week

    J D Wetherspoon2018-11-04
  9. "Reliable work but with little flexibility or opportunity for movement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    20% staff discount on food & drink

    Cons

    13 week probation period on reduced pay

    J D Wetherspoon2018-10-22

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    October 23, 2018Senior Recruitment Advisor

    It is a real shame to hear your experience was unsatisfactory. If you feel you weren’t paid for hours you worked please provide the specific information to payroll and they will look into it for you

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Bar Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon

    Pros

    Flexible job whist studying at college and university. The pay was good and the discount on food was useful whilst working. Most people I worked with were friendly and good co-workers.

    Cons

    The male boss at the time was a misogynist and not a great person to work with. Men would get more hours than women. This needs overseeing.

    Advice to Management

    Oversee hours are being divided fairly and get anonymous feedback from bar staff about how they find their place of work.

    J D Wetherspoon2018-09-06
Found 1182 reviews