J D Wetherspoon "flexible hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

J D Wetherspoon Employee Reviews about "flexible hours"

Updated Jul 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1229 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
J D Wetherspoon CEO John Hutson
John Hutson
504 Ratings
Pros
  • "salary very competitive for the pub trade(in 100 reviews)

  • "Good pay, bonus and promotional opportunity(in 68 reviews)

Cons
  • "Much busier than your average Pub/Restaurant(in 147 reviews)

  • "Long hours with not enough breaks(in 142 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "flexible hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Bar Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in Louth, England

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours on offer to employees

    Cons

    No major issues. Issues dealt with fast.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-11
  2. "Reliable work, got the hours needed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, high pay for bar work, good social aspect

    Cons

    Hard to manage due to worker to management ratio Customers are often rude

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-27
  3. "Floor Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar/Floor Associate in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent weekly pay and Flexible hours

    Cons

    Can be boring and less availability to work on the bar

    J D Wetherspoon2019-05-22
  4. "For a pub, it’s okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Enfield, England
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues are nice Fairly flexible hours Weekly pay

    Cons

    Anti social hours Rude customers Cleaning jobs

    J D Wetherspoon2019-06-01
  5. "Kitchen staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Staff in Wallasey, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours are available

    Cons

    Not many hours of work

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-24

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. We know flexible working patterns are really important to our staff. It’s great to know this is working for you.

  6. "Spoons."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar and Kitchen Associate in Worcester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Flexible working hours - Meet a lot of new faces - Develop interpersonal skills

    Cons

    - Unsociable hours - Not challenging

    J D Wetherspoon2019-04-12

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    May 20, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    We are pleased that you have taken advantage of the ability to work flexibly, something that we offer all our employees as we know it is important to them.

  7. "Team Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours Good pay for industry Sociable staff Staff discounts Free share scheme

    Cons

    Too corporate in places Company used as a political propaganda tool Late hours Over-working the staff Expecting too much of part-time staff Service industry, so often horrible experiences with customers Little sympathy for mental health issues

    Advice to Management

    Focus on staff welfare. Consider yourselves all on a level playing field, working for the same company. Not, them working for you. A greater connection with the staff will work wonders in any Wetherspoons.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-21
  8. "bar associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar/Floor Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible hours, 20% discount when in branch, 50% off on shift, good, fun and friendly crew of staff

    Cons

    sometimes very busy and short staff. Expected to do alot for the pay for under 21s

    J D Wetherspoon2019-03-01

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    March 22, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed your time at Wetherspoon and appreciated the employee discount and our approach to flexible working. We wish you every success with your future.

  9. "Good pay, and good people. but stressful often."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at J D Wetherspoon for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The manager was lovely, highly understanding and one of the hardest working people I've ever met. Good people, highly social environment, decent pay for the type of work. Very flexible hours.

    Cons

    Dealing with customers in a pub is always a challenge. 90 per cent are lovely, but you will encounter less nice people from time to time. Upper management was remarkably organised, telling us we were going to have a refurb multiple times and never delivering. I knew people who had to leave their job because of this and nobody outside our pub seemed to care at all. Area manager was a bully. To new staff and the...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There has to be more accountability from the top down.

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-21
  10. "Pretty much what you'd expect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Norwich, England
    Recommends

    I worked at J D Wetherspoon for less than a year

    Pros

    - good environment - flexible hours as a student - Understanding management

    Cons

    - no tips allowed - inconsistent shift patterns

    J D Wetherspoon2019-01-05

    J D Wetherspoon Response

    January 22, 2019Senior Recruitment Advisor

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your review.

Found 1229 reviews