JD Williams Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

JD Williams Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 49 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
JD Williams CEO Angela Spindler
Angela Spindler
20 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people , great facilities good fun(in 4 reviews)

  • "Learned a lot of work related skills from other co-workers, location is good since it was in the city centre, met a lot of nice people(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "New CEO and management team completely out of their depth and destroying what was once a great company(in 3 reviews)

  • "(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Life at jd williams"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Adv in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JD Williams full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great people , great facilities good fun

    Cons

    None , can’t think of any negatives

    Advice to Management

    None

    JD Williams2019-04-30
  2. "Aggressive Management Style"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester City Centre, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at JD Williams full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    The staff discount and location

    Cons

    The management style was aggressive. Staff micromanaged and set with unachievable KPIs. To progress or develop career here you must be overtly friendly with management. Ethics are diabolical. HR were useless. Did not follow any procedure. Systems were useless.

    Advice to Management

    Get in the 21st century

    JD Williams2019-01-24
  3. "Bad bonus structure - VERY bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outbound Sales in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JD Williams full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Flexible holidays Some great managers Relatively easy Not terrible pay

    Cons

    Extremely repetitive. Standard for an outbound role. You find pitches and techniques that work best, and you repeat them. Commission is almost a scam. You lose the lot if your returns are over 50% The average company returns are 60%. Targeted on literally everything, including toilet breaks

    Advice to Management

    Change your commission structure to make your best advisers stay.

    JD Williams2018-12-19
  4. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JD Williams full-time

    Pros

    Great people, good working hours

    Cons

    Limited Opportunities, declining share price.

    JD Williams2018-09-02
  5. "Shop Assistant at Simply Be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at JD Williams part-time

      Pros

      Staff and management were nice

      Cons

      Have been owed tax rebate for 3 years and whenever I call the manager (who was my manager at the time) claims to not have my records on file and cannot assist

      Advice to Management

      Keep records on file for the legally required amount of time (6 years)

      JD Williams2018-08-23
    • "Wouldn’t recommend at all."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Recovery in Manchester, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at JD Williams full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      There really isn’t one. Other than the building we work in offers costa and lovely cooked meals.

      Cons

      Disrespectful management, forgotten staff, ridiculous expectations and bully’s for managers. It’s unfair to speak to staff the way that they do. The fifth floor “financial services” is treated so unfairly and poorly. Management are constantly changing our job roles without our permission or us knowing. Everything is to save money. Even at the expense of our bonus’ and customers get done over so much so that they fall...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Treat your staff as humans. Putting more pressure on us doesn’t get the best outcome. Happy staff work harder. Doesn’t help that the manager is a bully!

      JD Williams2018-06-01
    • "Enquiries Advisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Enquiries Advisor in Manchester, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at JD Williams full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great incentives, Decent Pay, Amazing on-site facilities. Great short term job choice

      Cons

      Opportunities to grow are limited due to staffing size. Awkward set shifts. After working in small, close companies can be very cold and isolated as just another number.

      JD Williams2017-12-10
    • "An OK company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at JD Williams full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Excellent discount and opportunity to grow and learn skills outside of your job spec. The second area manager I worked with was great to work for.

      Cons

      The company is very disorganised and wastes tonnes of money on things that then effect the overall business. This coupled with bad business acumen meant that they had to close 5 stores in recent times due to bad profit management. Head office have no idea how to run a tight knit ship.

      Advice to Management

      Figure out how brick and mortar stores work and don't overreach before the company had enough money to sustain stores, losing jobs does not make others feel stable in the company.

      JD Williams2017-10-07
    • Helpful (1)

      "Friendly social atmosphere"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Ecommerce Coordinator in Manchester, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at JD Williams full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - The benefits and discounts you get were very good, it meant you saved a lot of money - The company seemed to care about wider problems, not just profit. Good corporate responsibility through the company, plus the CEO who seems to genuinely care about that stuff Co-workers we more like family members. We pushed one another to be the best every day

      Cons

      management to ridged, way too much inter office politics office could have been brighter, but was in a good location

      Advice to Management

      There is a lot of people that seem to get by under the radar and don't move their weight. It means that others feel less motivated. keep a better eye on all employees

      JD Williams2017-09-12
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at JD Williams full-time

      Pros

      Large design team with great manager. Always looking to future opportunities.

      Cons

      Constantly changing structure can be a distraction to daily work.

      JD Williams2017-06-15
    Found 49 reviews