JetBlue "airlines" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

JetBlue Employee Reviews about "airlines"

Updated 5 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
JetBlue President/CEO Robin Hayes
Robin Hayes
492 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "A lot of down time in between flights and that prompts the drama among crewmembers(in 47 reviews)

  • "Low "top out" for senior hourly employees compared to major airlines(in 42 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "airlines"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "They treat their employees like dirt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ramp 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at JetBlue full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free flights and the job is easy

    Cons

    Low pay. No overtime. Small profit sharing checks if any at all. You'll make on average about 35% less at JetBlue than you would at other airlines. High turnover rate at JetBlue as they try to fire their higher paying employees with seniority do they can replace them with low payer ne employees at the bottom of the pay scale.. they like to brag that they're the best airline to work for but they're actually the worst. They always talk about the JetBlue culture with the culture is they don't like to pay their employees like the skirt around the law on payonf their people over time

    JetBlue2019-12-05
  2. "Fun Work, Hard Schedule, Long Hiring Process"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ground Operations in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at JetBlue full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flight benefits. You, a companion, your parents, and kids get to fly for free on JetBlue if seats are available to domestic destinations for FREE ($0.00). After 6 months, you have access to ZED fares on a BUNCH airlines (56 of which I would call “major” international carriers. Additionally, once you are off the Introductory period, you can modify your schedule (trade shifts, etc) however you’d like. The introductory period is the 90 days after OJT is done. OJT is about a week. Training in Orlando is about 5 days. So you can’t expect to be able to change your schedule around roughly 100 days after your start date. The company also does profit sharing, matches 401(k) contributions at 5%, and offers a stock purchase plan that is 15% off. After one year, you can see if there are openings at other airportThe company also does profit sharing, matches 401(k) contributions at 5%, and offers a stock purchase plan that is 15% off. After one year, you can see if there are openings at other stations (airports), or apply for another position in the company. Seems like there is room to move up.

    Cons

    The pay is not competitive at all. The hiring process took 3 months. There is NO schedule flexibility for the first three months. 5 days on, 2 days off in a row. It’s likely those two days will be during the week depending on your station. People that you work with initially can be pretty rough because it seems like they forgot they were new at some point too. You have to show up way before your shift starts, which you’re not paid for, because the attendance policy is so rigid. You have to work outside in winter. Mandatory shift extensions due to weather, maintenance, ops problems.

    Continue reading
    JetBlue2019-10-30
  3. Helpful (3)

    "not worth working there full time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Airport Operations Crew Member in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at JetBlue full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flight benefits; standby is free plus taxes if travel abroad with jetblue. After six months six months of employment they give you access to fly with other airlines at a discounted rate. Working there two days a week is a good deal.

    Cons

    Pay; being forced to work past your shift "shift freeze," ghetto crew members and supervisors. The biggest drawback about working for Jetblue in Boston was that the employees parking garage was accross the river in another town, and you had to get there 30 minutes before your shift, in order to justify coming in late if the bridge went up. Moreover, besides the fact that all employees had to be at the garage 30 minutes before their shift started, they would not pay you for that time, or the time that was spend waiting for the bridge to go down. Everyone that works there feels emotional and physically abused.

    Continue reading
    JetBlue2019-11-06
  4. "I love it here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at JetBlue full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I’ve worked at three airlines and out of all three, JetBlue was the most dedicated to customer service, moreso than company sales. It’s a business yes, but JetBlue values the human being. I do not feel like a machine at JetBlue. I feel valued as a human being.

    Cons

    None at all. I enjoy it here.

    JetBlue2019-09-27
  5. "A lot of opportunity for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ground Operations 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JetBlue part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flight benefits are great, just pay tax for international travel

    Cons

    Low starting salary comparable to other airlines

    Continue reading
    JetBlue2019-09-17
  6. "Associate Analyst IT Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JetBlue full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment, on-site training, always pushing to modernize the airline industry

    Cons

    high deductible health insurance (like most airlines)

    Continue reading
    JetBlue2019-09-03
  7. "My time at B6"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - In Flight Crew Member in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JetBlue full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    One of the best airlines around

    Cons

    I would have to say there were no cons for me

    Continue reading
    JetBlue2019-08-07
  8. "Really good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ground Operations in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at JetBlue part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They really care for their employees "crewmembers"

    Cons

    Salary should be higher compare to other US airlines.

    JetBlue2019-04-05
  9. Helpful (6)

    "A part/time Job You Can Sink Your Teeth Into"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Ground Operations in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at JetBlue part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Incredibly diverse set of colleagues A grass-roots work environment where you feel like a professional Great travel benefits, access to health and dental at 30 hours, performance bonuses and profit sharing no matter how low you are on the totem pole, Easy to trade to tailor your schedule to your life after 90 days. Great training down in Florida. Very good direct relationship between crew and management. No union needed (yet) People love the company (and will tell you that when they see you in uniform). Competitive starting pay rate. Able to snag pass rider seats on our own flights pretty readily.

    Cons

    The company is evolving from founding principles slightly and work conditions are slowly changing too to look like the big guys. Like any airline job, you can get bounced quickly if you aren't dependable (on-time, safe, polite to colleagues. (this is actually also a plus of working for Jet Blue if you care about your work) Low "top out" for senior hourly employees compared to major airlines. Seemingly many mid-managers from HQ are clueless about how the job actually works on the ramp and at the counters...so their interventions can be frustrating and counterproductive. Very limited upward mobility within the company, especially from the field to HQ positions.

    Continue reading
    JetBlue2019-01-21
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Used to be good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at JetBlue full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I have made some life long friends working here. We still operate like a small company and in smaller bases we get to fly often with the same people, it gives us an opportunity to become close. The flight benefits are great. Once you get over the 5 year pay hump, the pay becomes great but it also depends on how much you are willing to work. The job is fairly easy wit a lot of downtime. JetBlue has a great JetBlue Scholars program that is almost free to its Crewmembers. Our 401K matching program is great, we get matched at 5% and an additional 5% for a total of 10%.

    Cons

    Over the past few years, management has become disengaged from frontline crewmembers. We used to be a very crewmember centric organization, as a matter of fact, we set the standards on how employees are to be treated. Delta took note and ran with it. Our poor Leadership/Crewmember relations shows by the election of 3rd party representation from two major work group. Our airplanes are poorly maintained and interiors are looking worn, it's a shame because our fleet is not that old. We used to compete with major airlines, now we tend to compete with ULCC, we also get that type of clientele . Benefits are becoming very pricey and the coverage has progressively gotten worse every year. Company is constantly trying to figure out how to squeeze money and more productivity from the frontline employees while feeding money to affiliate organizations such as JetBlue Ventures. Our branding and focus seems to be all over the place, we want to everything but we do it all mediocre (jack of all trades, master of none).

    Continue reading
    JetBlue2019-02-12

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 73 reviews