JetBlue "crewmembers" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

JetBlue Employee Reviews about "crewmembers"

Updated 2 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
JetBlue President/CEO Robin Hayes
Robin Hayes
492 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "A lot of down time in between flights and that prompts the drama among crewmembers(in 47 reviews)

  • "Low "top out" for senior hourly employees compared to major airlines(in 42 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "crewmembers"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Can be A great opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Airport Operations Crew Member in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at JetBlue full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great flight benefits Awesome Crewmembers Great Flexibility

    Cons

    Very Bias if issues occur Company doesn't care about crew Profit sharing sucks Pay rates horrible

    Continue reading
    JetBlue2020-02-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great perks if you have good managemtn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Airport in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at JetBlue full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great flight benefits Great crew support to help during delays

    Cons

    The location i worked at was not a bad time at all, just to many things in management for me to stay in such a toxic work environment. Corporate was called many times for our station and nothing was done in the time i was there. Fired their best supervisor and then only had two for about a year which led to the other two having to work odd hours and not giving the employees the help they need. Lots of favoritism it seemed. Felt personally victimized for who i was when working there which just made the job Un-enjoyable. I recommend jetblue as a company but not the CLE station. they were all about the 5 main things at jetblue being safety, passion, caring, fun and integrity. all of which seem to fly out the window at our station there was no integrity, there was no caring, there was the occasional fun i guess, and we the crewmembers always made sure passengers were safe.

    Continue reading
    JetBlue2019-11-14
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Not the same as it used to be but still good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Airport Operations Crew Member 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at JetBlue full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture, community involvement, job security

    Cons

    Pay below industry standard, investors run the show, not as much focus on crewmembers

    Continue reading
    JetBlue2019-08-09
  4. "Culture gives way to toxicity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Long Island City, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at JetBlue full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - The people you work with do whatever they can to get things done. - Fellow Crewmembers share a common goal. - Flight benefits are good when you can use them.

    Cons

    Despite a great culture, the leadership at JetBlue plays nothing but favorites. Crewmembers are told they need to forge their own path forward and to make yourself marketable. This is impossible to do when Crewmembers are promoted based on who they know, who stays out the latest and what project you're on. Trainings and advancement opportunities are evasive. For example, they have a POL program (Principles of Leadership) and even though some may solidly demonstrate these skills, you are only allowed to attend the program if you have "manager" in your title. The Digital team constantly falls over their own feet. Leadership loves to demean and belittle Crewmembers who show initiative (unless again, you're part of t his exclusive group). Crewmembers who work in Salt Lake City (reservation agents) work full time at home unless they've abused their privileges. IT Crewmembers are afforded 1 day a week even if you've been on a call in the middle of the night because someone can't print a boarding pass or book a reservation. During overnight deployments they are pretty good not "requiring" Crewmembers to be in the office right away but it means a lot to them if you do show up. So much information is siloed into individual Cremwmbers so if that person goes on vacation, you end up being screwed if you need anything relevant to their area. Flight benefits are nice but to make it part of your overall compensation is ignorant. If you have relatives or family it's often tricky to fly anywhere.

    Continue reading
    JetBlue2019-08-18
  5. "No Better Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern in Long Island City, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at JetBlue for less than a year

    Pros

    - Supportive co workers (crewmembers) who genuinely care about your wellbeing and your professional development - JetBlue actually lives by their cultural values- which makes the company so great -Flight benefits

    Cons

    - A little bit of burnout, but all of the pros make the burnout not seem so bad- especially if you are the type of person that likes being constantly busy - Ambiguity about growth within the company (but this could happen with any internship)

    Continue reading
    JetBlue2019-07-22
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Great mission & people with growing pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Talent Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at JetBlue full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Attracts great people and talent. - Great product which customers love - The mission "Inspire Humanity", CSR and volunteer opportunities - Flight benefits! (other benefits are pretty good too, e.g 401K 5% match)

    Cons

    - Loss of talent including some of the best Sr Leaders. Made some financial commitments that they've not been meeting and squeezed now, - Cost-cutting and inadequate investment in systems needed to succeed in future - Lost engagement with some frontline Crewmembers and as a result, Flight and Inflight have unionized. Other departments could follow - Change management and related communication with Crewmemembers

    JetBlue2019-06-26
  7. Helpful (12)

    "Challenger Brand in Competitive Industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager in Long Island City, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at JetBlue full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've never worked at a company quite like this one- culture is very, very, very important here, and it's at the heart of how the company operates. Anyone who enjoys aviation, or working for a challenger brand/disruptor, will love it here. It'll behoove any candidate to have a passion for working in aviation, and be serious about working with the customer in mind. The company is fairly young (19 years old) and still has a bit of a "startup" feel to it. Especially in the US Airline industry, 19 is YOUNG in a landscape that's littered with entrenched legacy carriers and tons of mergers, bankruptcies and acquisitions. This puts JetBlue in a bit of a "disruptor" position which lends to a lot of interesting work opportunities on the corporate side. There's no shortage of projects to work on, and different things for technologists to sink their teeth into. It's definitely a job you can "live, eat and breathe." Those who are passionate about the industry will find plenty of ways, even in corporate roles, to get involved in/have an impact on the operation itself. There's a stress on the idea that corporate folk aren't just relegated to their desks, they're encouraged to step down from the "ivory tower" and rub shoulders with crewmembers in the operation. The company itself has a good "soul" as corny as that is to say. Our mission is to "inspire humanity" which sounds odd coming from an airline, but I've watched several times as that mission has come to life before mine (and my coworker's) eyes. Whether it was getting a daughter on a last-minute flight to see her mother before she passed, or volunteering on the ground in the wake of Hurricane Maria, you can see that the fabric of the work the company performs does bring back some humanity into our world. I love telling people I work for JetBlue because it's rare that I'll ever hear a negative sentiment from them about the company, which I don't think would be the case if I was working for one of the other major US carriers. The flight (and related travel) benefits are unreal, if you take the time to learn how to use them properly. You truly can use them to see the world for next to nothing. View them as part of your benefits/compensation package, it's no secret that pay overall in the airline industry isn't great, but if you put those travel bennies to use, you'll be making up that 20-30% salary increase you'd see in other industries. Besides the flight benefits, the rest of the benefits package is definitely satisfactory from my point of view. Health insurance has some sticker shock on the deductible level, but the HRA offered by the company (if used correctly) can effectively reduce that deductible down to a few hundred dollars in out-of-pocket cost. The 401K can be very lucrative as well, with the company providing as much as 10% of your annual salary in contributions. Compensation is, I'd say, in line with the rest of the industry. Don't come here (or to any airline) and expect to make bags of money in a salaried position. Cost control in this industry is tight. If cash compensation is your primary driver in choosing where you work, you may end up happier outside the airline industry.

    Cons

    As a whole, my only true qualm is the lack of work-life balance, which takes shape in a few different ways. Most of the work-life balance challenges I've seen are really just centered around the 24/7 criticality of airline operations. Those who work in IT support positions for operational systems should be used to on-call life. IT leadership has recently committed to re-engineering systems and processes to reduce the 3am phone calls and crisis bridges, which is great, but it's not likely that will ever disappear completely. Those who don't play a role in supporting operational systems should still be used to working overnights and off hours. Deployments and system maintenance are done overnight or on weekends to reduce operational impact. To most who've worked in IT, this isn't anything special, but my in division specifically (IT Infrastructure) this is made less tolerable by the fact that leadership doesn't seem to value flexible working arrangements. There's been many times I've worked an overnight or a 16 hour day deploying something, and still been encouraged to show up at the office at 9am. Very rarely am I offered "comp time" for working outside normal business hours. The company has a flexible work arrangement (FWA) policy allowing employees to create work-from-home agreements, or adjust work hours, but leadership is highly restrictive on who gets approved for these, and how they can be used. Most folks, if they do have an FWA in place, are restricted to at most 1 work from home day per week. This restrictiveness around work from home agreements and "comp time" is, as far as I can tell, not the company norm, and really only exists on the Infrastructure side of IT. Lastly, work-life balance is made difficult by a pretty abysmal PTO package. FT crewmembers only accrue 17 total days of PTO in their first year, which would sound okay if it weren't for the fact that this also includes sick/personal time. The company also only has 6 paid holidays each year, I was gobsmacked when I learned I'd have to use PTO to get off on Christmas Eve. PTO accrual bumps up slightly at the start of year 2, but doesn't really reach a level I'd call "fair" until year 5. In the company's defense, our PTO program is currently under review, and early signs point to a generous increase, so hopefully this will become a non-issue in the near future.

    Continue reading
    JetBlue2019-05-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible Management - Stay away if you have an education"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at JetBlue part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    working at home, flight benefits

    Cons

    Management in SLC do not have college degrees and they have no work experience at other companies and they are intimidated by anyone that does. It is like high school and they will not promote you if you have more education than they do. JetBlue treats it's crewmembers terribly but expects CMs to treat customers well. If you miss a minute of a shift, it is enough to put you on Progressive Guidance. VERY hard to advance in SLC because they need so many people in Reservations and other customer service that it's nearly impossible to move up.

    Continue reading
    JetBlue2019-07-25
  9. "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at JetBlue full-time

    Pros

    great culture, crewmembers care about each other.

    Cons

    Losing grip of the culture.

    JetBlue2019-05-14
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Avoid at all costs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at JetBlue full-time

    Pros

    Infligh/flightt crewmembers are the best things JetBlue has

    Cons

    1) Leadership is disorganized in every way you can imagine 2) Diversity at JetBlue is abysmal. At its headquarters, Director-level and above CMs are almost all white. 3) JetBlue promotes its "Caring" value a lot and while inflight/flight crewmembers practice it, the crewmembers at the headquarters do not. Beware of backstabbing and gossiping leadership.

    JetBlue2019-05-25

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 72 reviews