JetBlue Employee Reviews about "crewmembers"

Updated Jan 4, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 79 of over 1,670 reviews

4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
JetBlue President/CEO Robin Hayes
Robin Hayes
709 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flight benefits flexible leadership Core Values(in 236 reviews)

  • "Travel benefits are great for those that like to travel(in 113 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "management need to be more open with crewmembers(in 50 reviews)

  • "Don’t fly as many direct places as the top 4 airlines but still enough to have plenty to do(in 49 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "crewmembers"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Culture

      Nov 20, 2020 - Airport Operations in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Jetblue cares about their employees and there is a lot of opportunity for growth

      Cons

      Certain crewmembers can be lazy and management enables that behavior

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Intern, less than 1 year

      Amazing company culture, people, and opportunities

      Oct 27, 2020 - Internship in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Welcoming community of Crewmembers who are knowledgeable and helpful. Competitive salaries. Flexible and empathetic. Plus free flights and other perks.

      Cons

      Simple tasks can sometimes be dragged out

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Solid Company, Strong Values

      Jan 4, 2021 - Financial Systems Analyst in Long Is City, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Benefits, Good People, Good Company Values. Crewmembers(Co-Workers) respect opinions.

      Cons

      Understaffed in some departments. Business process is a bit old school.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company

      Aug 22, 2020 - In Flight Crew Member 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Leadership truly cares about their Crewmembers

      Cons

      Unions are now coming onto the property and slowly destroying the culture

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Fun company overall, upper management needs work

      Oct 17, 2020 - In Flight Crew Member 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The crewmembers make the entire company what it is.

      Cons

      The upper management only cares about profit.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Trying to do good

      May 22, 2020 - Reservations Agent 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home, earned PTO, shift trades, very flexible schedule. Values are communicated & not executed the best but they are trying.

      Cons

      Abuse from customers all day. Systems are always broken. You are not given time to accomplish work tasks given so you spend lots of time doing work stuff & not getting paid. Communication to frontline crewmembers is low & customers often know things about their flight or airports or even JetBlue before employees.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great perks if you have good managemtn

      Nov 14, 2019 - Airport in Cleveland, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great flight benefits Great crew support to help during delays

      Cons

      The location i worked at was not a bad time at all, just to many things in management for me to stay in such a toxic work environment. Corporate was called many times for our station and nothing was done in the time i was there. Fired their best supervisor and then only had two for about a year which led to the other two having to work odd hours and not giving the employees the help they need. Lots of favoritism it seemed. Felt personally victimized for who i was when working there which just made the job Un-enjoyable. I recommend jetblue as a company but not the CLE station. they were all about the 5 main things at jetblue being safety, passion, caring, fun and integrity. all of which seem to fly out the window at our station there was no integrity, there was no caring, there was the occasional fun i guess, and we the crewmembers always made sure passengers were safe.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      interview

      Feb 27, 2020 - Flight Attendant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      very easy and diverse, loving co workers, loving customer

      Cons

      management need to be more open with crewmembers respond back to emails

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Challenger Brand in Competitive Industry

      May 14, 2019 - IT Project Manager in Long Island City, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've never worked at a company quite like this one- culture is very, very, very important here, and it's at the heart of how the company operates. Anyone who enjoys aviation, or working for a challenger brand/disruptor, will love it here. It'll behoove any candidate to have a passion for working in aviation, and be serious about working with the customer in mind. The company is fairly young (19 years old) and still has a bit of a "startup" feel to it. Especially in the US Airline industry, 19 is YOUNG in a landscape that's littered with entrenched legacy carriers and tons of mergers, bankruptcies and acquisitions. This puts JetBlue in a bit of a "disruptor" position which lends to a lot of interesting work opportunities on the corporate side. There's no shortage of projects to work on, and different things for technologists to sink their teeth into. It's definitely a job you can "live, eat and breathe." Those who are passionate about the industry will find plenty of ways, even in corporate roles, to get involved in/have an impact on the operation itself. There's a stress on the idea that corporate folk aren't just relegated to their desks, they're encouraged to step down from the "ivory tower" and rub shoulders with crewmembers in the operation. The company itself has a good "soul" as corny as that is to say. Our mission is to "inspire humanity" which sounds odd coming from an airline, but I've watched several times as that mission has come to life before mine (and my coworker's) eyes. Whether it was getting a daughter on a last-minute flight to see her mother before she passed, or volunteering on the ground in the wake of Hurricane Maria, you can see that the fabric of the work the company performs does bring back some humanity into our world. I love telling people I work for JetBlue because it's rare that I'll ever hear a negative sentiment from them about the company, which I don't think would be the case if I was working for one of the other major US carriers. The flight (and related travel) benefits are unreal, if you take the time to learn how to use them properly. You truly can use them to see the world for next to nothing. View them as part of your benefits/compensation package, it's no secret that pay overall in the airline industry isn't great, but if you put those travel bennies to use, you'll be making up that 20-30% salary increase you'd see in other industries. Besides the flight benefits, the rest of the benefits package is definitely satisfactory from my point of view. Health insurance has some sticker shock on the deductible level, but the HRA offered by the company (if used correctly) can effectively reduce that deductible down to a few hundred dollars in out-of-pocket cost. The 401K can be very lucrative as well, with the company providing as much as 10% of your annual salary in contributions. Compensation is, I'd say, in line with the rest of the industry. Don't come here (or to any airline) and expect to make bags of money in a salaried position. Cost control in this industry is tight. If cash compensation is your primary driver in choosing where you work, you may end up happier outside the airline industry.

      Cons

      As a whole, my only true qualm is the lack of work-life balance, which takes shape in a few different ways. Most of the work-life balance challenges I've seen are really just centered around the 24/7 criticality of airline operations. Those who work in IT support positions for operational systems should be used to on-call life. IT leadership has recently committed to re-engineering systems and processes to reduce the 3am phone calls and crisis bridges, which is great, but it's not likely that will ever disappear completely. Those who don't play a role in supporting operational systems should still be used to working overnights and off hours. Deployments and system maintenance are done overnight or on weekends to reduce operational impact. To most who've worked in IT, this isn't anything special, but my in division specifically (IT Infrastructure) this is made less tolerable by the fact that leadership doesn't seem to value flexible working arrangements. There's been many times I've worked an overnight or a 16 hour day deploying something, and still been encouraged to show up at the office at 9am. Very rarely am I offered "comp time" for working outside normal business hours. The company has a flexible work arrangement (FWA) policy allowing employees to create work-from-home agreements, or adjust work hours, but leadership is highly restrictive on who gets approved for these, and how they can be used. Most folks, if they do have an FWA in place, are restricted to at most 1 work from home day per week. This restrictiveness around work from home agreements and "comp time" is, as far as I can tell, not the company norm, and really only exists on the Infrastructure side of IT. Lastly, work-life balance is made difficult by a pretty abysmal PTO package. FT crewmembers only accrue 17 total days of PTO in their first year, which would sound okay if it weren't for the fact that this also includes sick/personal time. The company also only has 6 paid holidays each year, I was gobsmacked when I learned I'd have to use PTO to get off on Christmas Eve. PTO accrual bumps up slightly at the start of year 2, but doesn't really reach a level I'd call "fair" until year 5. In the company's defense, our PTO program is currently under review, and early signs point to a generous increase, so hopefully this will become a non-issue in the near future.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Terrible Management - Stay away if you have an education

      Jul 25, 2019 - Customer Service in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      working at home, flight benefits

      Cons

      Management in SLC do not have college degrees and they have no work experience at other companies and they are intimidated by anyone that does. It is like high school and they will not promote you if you have more education than they do. JetBlue treats it's crewmembers terribly but expects CMs to treat customers well. If you miss a minute of a shift, it is enough to put you on Progressive Guidance. VERY hard to advance in SLC because they need so many people in Reservations and other customer service that it's nearly impossible to move up.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 79 Reviews

    Popular Careers with JetBlue Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at JetBlue? Share Your Experiences

    JetBlue logo
    or