John Lewis & Partners Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

John Lewis & Partners Reviews

Updated Nov 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
John Lewis & Partners CEO Paula Nickolds (no image)
Paula Nickolds
329 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Had to work long hours but was expected because of the Christmas period(in 58 reviews)

  • "Head office temperature not always great(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Merchandiser in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at John Lewis & Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work culture, flexi timings.

    Cons

    Compensation, Office politics, Management's rude behaviour.

    Advice to Management

    None

    John Lewis & Partners2015-07-01
  2. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Partner Development Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Lewis & Partners full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, good ethos, cares for employees

    Cons

    struggling to cope with historical care for employees and the need to reinvent itself to survive

    Advice to Management

    Be honest, be fair and care a little bit more

    John Lewis & Partners2019-11-16
  3. "Excellent employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Case Manager in Hamilton, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at John Lewis & Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Job discount, excellent environment, and co-workers.

    Cons

    Customers are posh and demand too much. Management will bend over backwards for the customer to protect the image.

    John Lewis & Partners2019-11-15
  4. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I have been working at John Lewis & Partners part-time

    Pros

    Great work environment, get to work with colleagues who genuinely care about their job and you get to interact with some lovely customers

    Cons

    None that I can think of!

    John Lewis & Partners2019-11-14
  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in Bracknell, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at John Lewis & Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits and great shopping

    Cons

    Long hours and get little thanks

    John Lewis & Partners2019-11-12
  6. "Nice place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at John Lewis & Partners part-time

    Pros

    Nice canteen and most staff were friendly

    Cons

    Not many cons but I did short shifts

    John Lewis & Partners2019-11-10
  7. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shopping Assistant in Chelmsford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Lewis & Partners part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    really enjoy the atmosphere, the pay and the friendliness of co workers. a really positive place to work.

    Cons

    I haven't encountered any massive cons, sometimes can be overwhelming but that will be a common occurrence in any retail job.

    John Lewis & Partners2019-11-07
  8. "Perfect Part Time Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I worked at John Lewis & Partners part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, organised management/supervisors, supplemented lunches

    Cons

    Investing in a suit/dry cleaning/shirts

    John Lewis & Partners2019-11-08
  9. "Lives up to the hype"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at John Lewis & Partners part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A genuinely caring and interesting place to work, with lots of bright people all working together for the right reasons

    Cons

    The co-ownership ethos can create a scenario where everyone feels their view on any given subject should be aired, but this doesn't really stop things getting done.

    Advice to Management

    Keep going in the current direction and be radical - the Partners are up for it

    John Lewis & Partners2019-11-06
  10. "Personal Development? JL&P is perfect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Agent 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at John Lewis & Partners part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Promotes personal development - Opportunity to progress

    Cons

    - Old fashioned managerial system and therefore lacking support to partners/team

    John Lewis & Partners2019-11-07
Found 1360 reviews