Kate Spade New York Reviews

Updated 11 Jun 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
71%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Kate Spade New York CEO Liz Fraser
Liz Fraser
71 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great discount, fun people to work with, flexible scheduling(in 154 reviews)

  • "Employee discount, great people, fun environment(in 106 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Poor upper management, took credit for other managers work, lack of communication(in 40 reviews)

  • "sometimes hard work/life balance(in 39 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Great job!

      8 Oct 2020 - Sales Associate in Aurora, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      One of the best jobs I ever had. Taught me a lot about sales and how successful you can truly be.

      Cons

      Not the best pay. Somewhat of a dress code but it is not hard to follow.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Demanding but rewarding

      21 Aug 2020 - Fashion Consultant in New Delhi
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Learned about customer handling and boosts confidence with daily dealing with clients

      Cons

      Long work hours and standing job

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Chj

      4 Sep 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Infrastructure atmosphere and maintainence

      Cons

      Bad Salary package Working time

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great culture if you are not a part-timer

      10 Jun 2021 - Retail Assistant in Singapore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - full-timers are pleasant to work with and are very willing to teach newbies all the things they need to know - "customer-sharing" culture, everyone is civil about who is taking the customer and there is usually little to no customer stealing

      Cons

      - manager I worked with was very biased and barely engaged with the part-timers in general

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Company at a crossroads

      11 Jun 2021 - Human Resources Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coaching and development and team building is key for this company. Benefit offerings and training materials were always updated and mindful of what employees were looking for.

      Cons

      Direction of entire executive team

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Average Part-time wage

      9 Jun 2021 - Part Time Sales Associate in Hong Kong
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Offers avg wage for part-time workers

      Cons

      - Constant managerial changes - High turnover rate (for full time)

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good first job!

      3 May 2021 - Lead Sales Associate in San Ysidro, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place for a first-time job! I definitely feel like I was spoiled; for starters, our breaks/lunches were 15 min/1 hours compared to other stores in our mall with 10/30min. Every so often we did receive 2 pieces of kate spade ready-to-wear (we only covered tax and it was taken out of our paycheck). Great discount! 70% off outlet, 50% regular store, plus every quarter you could get a handbag for 50% + 50% off.

      Cons

      Overnight shifts to introduce new merchandise/change store layout were rough. Very physically demanding; at my store, closers had to carry sometimes up to 200 boxes from backstock to the front of the store so it could be opened up by our stockroom employees at 6am. Some issues with management that were only resolved after numerous complains.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      5 years at the company, never promoted

      9 Jun 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good discount Fun atmosphere Pretty product

      Cons

      Tons of favoritism at the location I worked at Low pay Bad hours Drama Nasty customers No growth opportunity I was at KSNY for 5 years and for the first 2 years I was in love with it, but poor management really ruined it. For starters, you absolutely will not be promoted if you aren't part of the clique at your store. Doesn't matter how long you've been there, if you're not someone they'd go grab drinks with or hang out with outside of work, you'll never move up. In the 5 years I was there I saw at least a dozen young, inexperienced girls work for us for sometimes as little as 4 weeks and get promoted while myself, who had been there for years at that point, was never once offered anything. Nope! Not one time in the half a decade I spent there was I ever offered a chance to move up, even as a part time key holder even though I expressed interest numerous times. Favoritism played a massive role in my store when it came to scheduling too, the favorites would often be off on the weekends whereas I had to work every single weekend, my goals would be higher and I would often get blamed for simple things. That's another thing: RIDICULOUS sales goals. I'd be on the schedule for 3 shifts and was told I needed to make $2500 in 3 days at times. How is that possible? Customers were draining and only wanted items on deep discounts or would come in asking for outlet products or sales, which of course we didn't have. Have been cussed out by cheap customers many times over things I couldn't control and management never stuck up for me. Shocking! Disorganized, messy, drama staff. It's like being in HS again. I finally couldn't take it anymore and left.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      great place to work

      5 Jun 2021 - Sales Associate in Niagara, ON
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      flexible, great employees' discount, friendly environment, improve your communication skills

      Cons

      hard to get promoted, no holidays, extremely busy

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Awesome company to work for

      4 Jun 2021 - Sales Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company truly does care about employees. Very fun atmosphere created company wide.

      Cons

      Felt over extended by management team with lack of recognition.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,209 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Kate Spade New York Job Seekers

    Store Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Kate Spade New York? Share Your Experiences

    Kate Spade New York logo
    or