Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Reviews

Updated Oct 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 903 of over 936 reviews

4.3
84%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants CEO Mike DeFrino
Mike DeFrino
447 Ratings
Pros
  • "Offers great benefits and opportunity to climb within the company(in 46 reviews)

  • "Fun work environment, good people(in 30 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours with no to little break time(in 28 reviews)

  • "There is an underlying expectation that your work is your entire life, so it is difficult to find work-life balance(in 19 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years
      Featured Review

      Authentic and Approachable

      Oct 21, 2020 - Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've found folks at all levels of the organization to be authentic and approachable. The CEO is Mike, not Mr. DeFrino - this is quite a difference from an unnamed "big brand" I was with earlier in my career. I also have found I can be my authentic self - my opinion is respected, I don't feel like I need to worry about office politics.

      Cons

      Only downside is having a big brother in IHG that is a little less "Kimpton-y". Understandable considering they're primarily franchise mid-scale and what it takes to effectively manage in that environment. There has been a lot of learning on both sides!

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Response

      Your Friends at Kimpton

      Thanks for being a part of what makes our culture so special and unique! We wouldn’t be Kimpton without everyone showing up as their authentic self.

    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good hotel

      May 10, 2021 - Line Cook 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      One of the best hotel I worked

      Cons

      No work pressure .smooth service

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      I've never been in hotel

      Aug 20, 2021 - Assistant Manager in Dimapur Sadar
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      To earn and make good relations with friends

      Cons

      To fullfill my parents dream

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Best Hoteling Company!

      Oct 19, 2021 - Front Office Supervisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Kimpton makes each and every employee feel valuable and their hard work never goes unnoticed!

      Cons

      My opinion, I don't think they should have merge with IHG.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee

      best company i’ve ever worked for

      Oct 16, 2021 - Self Employed in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      empowering. lots of career growth. so much fun!!!

      Cons

      wanted to follow entrepreneurial remote role.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Place to work and fun environment

      Oct 10, 2021 - Pastry Chef 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Entrepreneurial work environment, you really get to show off your creativity. equal rights employer and overall a really great place to work at

      Cons

      Entrepreneurial can sometimes mean more work than what you bargained for, in areas that are not in your expertise

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company with fun culture

      Oct 4, 2021 - Sales Manager in Philadelphia, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      work hard, play hard type of company. no SOP's- you are hired for your personality

      Cons

      work/life balance has gotten better, but room for improvement

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great

      Oct 4, 2021 - Administration Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits for their staff

      Cons

      No cons for this job

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Solid short term job

      Oct 13, 2021 - Busser/Runner 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      friendly and nice people to meet

      Cons

      lack of effort from higher-ups to make our jobs easier

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Culture declined sharply through the years, management was unsupported

      Oct 12, 2021 - Restaurant Server 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Healthcare options for full time hourly associates, 401k match, high ticket prices so sometimes the money was okay, but management didn't hold clients to contracted no-show charges so servers would sometimes end up empty-handed on event orders or high-dollar reservations

      Cons

      Chaotic environment, poor managerial support, poor training, high turnover, everyone-out-for-themselves culture, failure to equip staff with necessary tools for success, failure to staff appropriately, very little accountability, high cover-up culture, managers told staff to "sacrifice" themselves for the "team", quid-pro-quo culture, questionable relationships, low integrity. Passing the buck: front and back of house blamed each other, AM and PM staffed blamed each other, without attempts for resolution. Sometimes there were no managers available for time-sensitive tasks, some Chefs would leave early (to go out) and leave the cooks for the night with no management then reprimand them for hitting overtime when they had to stay late to get everything done. Poor work/life balance. Social backlash and shame for not volunteering unpaid hours to decorate for events/holidays. Above-and-beyond was the expectation so exceptional work was never recognized - just used to shame others. Some people got away with a lot and left others to pick up the slack then look bad when they couldn't cover it all. I could go on. When I started with the company the culture was much better, but it declined sharply over the years I was there, after it was acquired by IHG. Re-investment in property quality and staff was low while rise in revenue was high.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 903 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants? Share Your Experiences

    Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants logo
    or