Kin + Carta Americas Reviews

Updated Jul 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 223 of over 256 reviews

4.1
80%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Kin + Carta Americas Group Chief Executive Kelly Manthey
Kelly Manthey
86 Ratings
Pros
  • "Carta for over 2 years (through the rebranding from Solstice) and I can say it's the best job that I've had(in 99 reviews)

  • "Benefits like training budget, 401k and health insurance are good(in 44 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Growing pains have persisted since the firm’s acquisition with only minor adjustments(in 26 reviews)

  • "Aside from that, pay & benefits are below industry standards while work life balance is pure fiction(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Endless opportunity, if you look for it

      May 31, 2021 - Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      What I love the most about working at Kin + Carta is the opportunity to go “all in” on driving an initiative, delivering for a client, or leading an internal event. I feel empowered every day to play big in my role, knowing that I have a support structure behind me in K+C. And that support structure, the people at Kin + Carta, are some of the best. From our executives to our newest hires, there hasn’t been a day in my 3+ years here where I haven’t been completely blown away by the creativity and innovation of my colleagues. They’re great at their jobs, hungry to learn, and eager to support others’ success. Servant leadership isn’t something that’s just talked about within Kin + Carta, it’s acted upon regularly across the firm. Kin + Carta’s B Corp certification & IDEA strategy hold the firm committed to making a difference for our communities, our planet, and our people. These commitments have tangibly made a difference in how we operate both internally and externally.

      Cons

      Kin + Carta has been through a few years of consistent high growth mode, which has led to a constant state of growth, agility, and change. This can either lead to ambiguity or opportunity, it depends on how you look at it. I’ve noticed a huge increase in formalization & process implemented over the past year to ensure employees remain grounded in our values and our why.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Kin + Carta Americas Response

      CEO

      Great feedback. This statement is powerful - "This can either lead to ambiguity or opportunity, it depends on how you look at it." No doubt you are leaning in to finding the opportunities for yourself. I've noted sharing more progress around quarterly goals. Thanks for taking the time to share and come meet me in a weekly office hours session. -Kelly

    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Feeling stuck and underpaid

      Apr 20, 2021 - Technical Consultant in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They give you a yearly training budget to purchase courses on technologies you want to learn about, as well as a few training days to take time away from normal client work to work on your training. Other K+C employees are fairly nice overall, if you ever get the chance to talk to them outside of your client work. Nice office space, when we were actually in the office.

      Cons

      You're going to work for some giant corporation with a bad culture. It will feel like you work for this corporation, but then you'll remember you work for K+C when you don't get as many holidays or PTO days as the client's employees. If you ever want to move to another project or client, they will tell you that they'll try to move you over and then never move you. They say they will try to put you on a project that aligns with what you want to learn/work on, but they won't really. They'll assign you to something they need you to do with little regard for what you want to learn or develop, and then pretend like they care about how you feel with a weekly "morale survey" that means nothing. And all the while, they will be underpaying you. While they do have a training budget, it's very unlikely you'll get any real experience in what you're learning unless you fight tooth and nail for it and then maybe after 6 months they'll start listening. They like to keep you doing the same thing as you always were.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Kin + Carta Americas Response

      CEO

      Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. It’s not always a perfect science lining up firm opportunities with each individual employee’s career goals, and I’m sorry to hear that this has you feeling stuck. A lot has happened over the last 12 months as we adapted to the changes in the business environment that COVID brought. There are some resources available to help you understand how to take advantage of your training, make an impact on firm growth, and ultimately grow your career — talk with your People Leader, your business leader, or stop by my office hours to get support in navigating through your concerns. My weekly office hours are for these types of conversations. I would love to talk to you in person. One final note, having built my entire career in the consulting field, I learned something early on that instilled a mindset and perspective I brought to every project. Consulting is for the curious. The definition of a consultant is someone who is brought in to help, to serve, to guide. This means we go into environments when our clients need us most and it's our job to be part of the solution for making it better. You have to be one to walk into a situation asking what can I learn from this, what's is this experience going to teach me that I can bring to my next experience. There is always something new to learn and grow from no matter the client industry, environment, or tenure on the project. Personal and professional growth can happen inside an existing project. Tenure inside of a client project is a great way to move from individual contributor to team leader. You know the environment, have built relationships and trust, gained industry vertical experience, have grown your skills. All of this to say, your situation may be entirely unique so I encourage a face to face conversation. -Kelly

    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Great Place to grow and go on a journey

      May 6, 2021 - Principal Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Kin and Carta is a family. Everyone works in the best interest of each other, everyone's opinions and thoughts are valued. Teams actually do retrospectives to ensure everyone gets a change to raise concerns, and leadership put in places forums and other surveys for feedback. Coworkers, especially on project teams, genuinely care for each other. Rarely have I had a coworker decline to assist an other. The other benefit of Kin and Carta is its business in itself: consulting. Clients come to Kin and Carta to solve important and tough challenges (if they could do it themselves they would!). This gives opportunities for every consultant to try out new technologies, new industries and new tools. The variety in assignments keeps consultants "fresh".

      Cons

      Just like any consultancy, Kin and Carta needs to balance the needs of clients, consultants and business, that can mean assignment changes don't always happen quickly or the assignment can feel at odds with strengths.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Easy to get burnt out

      May 21, 2021 - Principal Consultant in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The benefits are good. The hiring process was seamless. There’s a lot of talent at the company.

      Cons

      There’s absolutely zero structure regarding the process of formulating a team. There isn’t any leadership to ensure that the right amount of people with the right skill set are on the right team. My experience coming in as a new employee was less than desirable. I did not receive adequate onboarding, was doing the job of 3 people, and was consistently misled about when I would be receiving additional resources. The hours are insane and since there’s no leadership there’s no one who really cares about your well-being or workload at the company.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Kin + Carta Americas Response

      CEO

      With the tremendous amount of hiring in the last year I can understand how frustrating experiences like this could happen. Please talk to your people leader, capability leader, or the head of your location. Your voice matters and your constructive input is important to improving your own experience and for others. -Kelly

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Endless Career Growth Opportunities

      Jan 18, 2021 - Principal in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been at Kin + Carta for over 6 years now. I have had the opportunity to work with fantastic people across both the Create and Advise businesses. Kin + Carta has given me the ability to grow my career across Product Development, Product Strategy, Digital Strategy, and Business Strategy to truly become a cross-functional consultant and professional. There is a level of autonomy & trust that doesn't exist in other places of work. The people around you trust you to get your work done but are always there to support you if you need it. I've had the opportunity to grow professionally across many client industries & team models throughout my career and I am very excited to continue to grow into the new opportunities K+C offers as we continue to grow as a connective. Finally, I'm super excited by our entire organization's dedication to being an inclusive and conscious workplace. Through our DEI initiatives and our recent certification as a B-Corp, the desire to make a difference in the world makes this company one I am proud to say I work for.

      Cons

      The only cons I can think to share are cons that you are going to find at any professional services firm: - Some projects are better & more fulfilling than others - Bare minimum holidays off

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Kin + Carta Americas Response

      CEO

      Thank you for your feedback and for sharing your experience. As someone who’s worked with us for the past six years, across pillars, I have no doubt that you’ve continued to play an active role at Kin + Carta, and are multiplying us all for success. We will never stop finding ways to grow our Kin, and I’m committed to make this the best place you will work. - Kelly

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great place to grow and impact positive change

      Dec 8, 2020 - Regional Director of Operations in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You can define your own career at Kin and Carta, and my tenure has been proof of that. As the business has grown, I've played multiple non-delivery roles and I've been able to define my own path with the support of leadership. You have the opportunity to shape the company. We're at a great size and have a great culture that is open to feedback and conversations. Anyone can get face time with the Global CEO to chat or raise up concerns. I also feel like my individual impact reaches across the entire organization. You get to work with amazing people. The people I work with are the best, and I can be my goofy self every day in front of any of my colleagues. In a past life, I've worked for places that require a strict dress code, or require you to cover tattoos and remove piercings, or even limit your interactions with other employees because of access to sensitive company information. Here, I can find a forum to nerd out with my fellow star wars and dr. who fans, or chat with the other parents across the globe when my little ones do something hilarious. But most importantly, I don't feel like I have to hide part of my whole self in order to be a trusted leader.

      Cons

      Structure can be ambiguous. Which some people see as a con, myself, I thrive in changing environments when I know the change is for the better. I love the challenge of it. But for others, I can see that not having a clear hierarchy and reporting structure can be a source of anxiety.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Kin + Carta Americas Response

      CEO

      I have no doubt that you’ve made a huge impact across Kin + Carta’s global and local firm during your tenure. Thank you for sharing your perspective. We’ve changed a lot over the past few years, and it’s been a good thing. Most recently, I find that our Operating Model evolution is solving for some of the ambiguous structure that has proved to be intimidating in the past. Throughout all the change, the one thing that’s been consistent is exactly what you called out — a culture of inclusion & seriously amazing people. Keep bringing your whole self to work! You make us all better when you do so. - Kelly

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company with strong core values, exciting work, and rapid growth!

      Apr 2, 2021 - Principal Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've been at K+C for over 5 years and have truly enjoyed watching us grow from a smaller Chicago-based firm to a global consultancy. The work is challenging and you are surrounded by incredibly talented individuals who are invested in your success. You have the opportunity to learn new skills, explore various industries, and do meaningful work that has an impact. Though we are growing rapidly, leadership continues to offer transparency into our long term vision, goals, and progress across the firm, something you do not typically encounter at other consulting agencies. K+C also recently became B Corp certified, and you can see that come alive in client projects and the internal work we do every day. Having this certification showcases leadership's values and commitment to our people and the planet, not just solely the firm's profit.

      Cons

      With rapid growth comes a more ambiguous leadership and support structure. While K+C is working to formalize this more, you really have to be comfortable operating more autonomously.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great firm, spectacular people!

      Apr 14, 2021 - Product Consultant in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - lots of efforts to promote diversity & inclusion - lots of cool projects/clients - interesting work - the people are phenomenal - leadership is very transparent - limited bureaucracy - bi-annual promotion cycles - B-corporation

      Cons

      - still some "it's all about who you know" culture when it comes to advancement - minuscule time off - slightly underpaid across the board - travel requirements can be brutal depending on the client

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Kin + Carta Americas Response

      CEO

      I appreciate your feedback, and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Every year, we take a microscope to our benefits, in partnership with employee perspectives, to make sure we’re creating a place that’s equitable and that allows for our employee’s lives to happen. Through this we developed the Flexible Workplace Policy and are currently evaluating some upcoming changes that’ll add additional flexibility. We become better when our employees are able to bring their full selves to work, and they can’t do that without proper balance inside & outside of work. As we continue to bring new businesses into K+C through our acquisitions we also now have new benefits and policies to evaluate and that influence the changes we make more holistically. We aren't done and will continue to evolve our PTO approach. Keep providing input. -Kelly

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company

      Jul 7, 2021 - Technical Consultant in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company truly values employees, invests in their learning and encourages training and skills development. Fellow coworker support each other. Comany celebrates diversity.

      Cons

      Not enough PTO and time off in general. Employees often have to work more than 40 hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Wonderful Company

      Jul 7, 2021 - User Experience Designer in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of opportunity and exciting projects. Team is close-knit for being remote

      Cons

      Lots of growth and process changes but so far only good changes!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 223 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Kin + Carta Americas Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Kin + Carta Americas? Share Your Experiences

    Kin + Carta Americas logo
    or