Kin + Carta Americas Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Kin + Carta Americas Reviews

Updated 12 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Kin + Carta Americas CEO Kelly Manthey
Kelly Manthey
41 Ratings
Pros
  • "You have a training budget and training days that you can use pretty liberally if you want to do anything related to professional development(in 38 reviews)

  • "Best culture and work life balance is great(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "You want a team that's half Solstice half Cognizant(in 60 reviews)

  • "Fast speed growing pains related(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Still figuring out how to grow up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - User Experience Researcher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kin + Carta Americas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are awesome. Somehow the company has managed to consistently attract bright, young talent to grow in their roles. Lots of opportunities outside of billable client projects to work on internal initiatives that interest you. Senior employees often act as informal mentors outside of the formal mentor structure.

    Cons

    Growing pains have persisted since the firm’s acquisition with only minor adjustments. Very reactive to putting out fires from an HR and employee experience standpoint, but not proactively making investments on behalf of the employees. Multiple leadership positions have remained unfulfilled or by-committee over the last few years. The company markets itself as “Customer-Driven”, but we talk-the-talk more than we walk-the-walk. Product, Design, and Research specialists do not have many opportunities to grow into meaningful senior positions - which has led to turnover among the more veteran UX consultants in particular. The pressure to get in your 40 billable hours makes committing to internal initiatives challenging. Internal projects either go unfinished or are left on the shelf after reaching an initial set of success criteria.

    Continue reading
    Kin + Carta Americas2020-02-12
  2. "A place you can call home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Strategy Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kin + Carta Americas full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    +Solstice was my home for nearly 5 years and has had such a positive impact to my personal and professional life. This is because Solstice is a place that welcomes all humans, all feedback, and all ideas. It cultivates an environment where no idea is a bad one; if you want to start a new community, initiative, build cool things, you have all the freedom to do so, in fact, it is encouraged. If you put in the work, Solstice will provide you with the tools needed to be successful. This is powerful, because I was able to bring my true self to work everyday. +The people. The people here at Solstice are really what makes this place special. Everyone is so welcoming, kind, and helpful that it makes coming into work everyday a pleasure and a privilege. Literally everyone will be open to helping you when you need it and they will do so with open arms. The TA (talent acquisition) team does an excellent job finding not only the technical skills but people who are genuinely nice and care about doing great work. +Leadership will listen to you if you speak up. There are many open lines of communication that Solsties can use to discuss their feedback on ways the company can improve. All folks in leadership hold office hrs every week where Solsties can sign up and discuss their feedback. If you make a case for ways the company can improve, leadership will make the necessary changes needed. +Flexibility & autonomy. You are never micromanaged. +$5,000 training budget & a yearly device policy -- you can get a new device for free every year for personal use

    Cons

    Most if not all of the cons really come from the nature of being in consulting. Some clients are more difficult to work with than others. If you're looking to apply to Solstice, keep in mind that it is still a relatively small company that is growing fast and where having an entrepreneurial mindset/drive will set you apart. Don't expect everything to be handed to you.. at times you will have to learn new things on your own and take personal initiative if you think things need to be improved, whether that be on client work or internally.

    Continue reading
    Kin + Carta Americas2020-01-26
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work with an amazing culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scrum Master in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kin + Carta Americas full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Culture, the culture is really positive and geared towards working as a team to continually make our clients better in creating some pretty amazing products 2. Innovation, this company is constantly working to push the envelope and find the cool new stuff. 3. Military friendly, this company is currently working on building their veterans group. They see the value in the skills and characteristics that veterans can bring over from their military career. 4. Flat, the organization is flat which empowers all people in the organization. I've talked to the CEO on multiple occasions. 5. Transparency, there is a huge effort to make sure everyone is comfortable with every change that's coming down the pipeline. The overall communication is really good in my option.

    Cons

    1. FLUX, this company is constantly in motion and working to become better. If you want an organization where things will be predictable for years to come, than this is not the place for you

    Continue reading
    Kin + Carta Americas2019-11-20

    Kin + Carta Americas Response

    January 24, 2020CEO

    Thank you for your feedback. We are a business in motion that will never stop adapting to the changing needs of our clients and the people who make this a great place to work. Thanks for using office hours to talk to me, I get so much out of those conversations. They help me keep perspective and a pulse on the firm and what it's like working here. Let's keep talking!

    Continue reading
  4. "Good company, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Kin + Carta Americas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone that works there is amazing, smart and hard working. It is impossible to work at Solstice and not learn a lot

    Cons

    Its hard to get off projects.

    Continue reading
    Kin + Carta Americas2019-11-22

    Kin + Carta Americas Response

    January 24, 2020CEO

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am glad you are finding opportunities to learn and grow. We are never finished adapting to meet the changing needs of our clients and our people. We'll keep listening and prioritizing change, keep providing the feedback.

    Continue reading
  5. "Smart, motivated coworkers and a supportive environment to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kin + Carta Americas full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Solstice attracts a high caliber workforce - coworkers are smart and motivated while also remaining humble, supportive, & focused on servant leadership. In my professional experience, it is rare to find such a fun and passionate culture balanced with a hardworking, ambitious, and continuous improvement-focused work ethic. Like any rapidly growing company, Solstice has experienced growing pains, but most importantly, the firm remains committed to identifying weaknesses in order to combat them head on. Leadership encourages dialogue to understand what isn't working and empowers individuals to contribute to defining solutions.

    Cons

    Internal training and onboarding need to continue to develop and become more robust in order to best set up newer employees (or existing employees transitioning into different project roles) for success. Employee experience and role opportunities/satisfaction can be dictated by project assignments, which is often the norm for a consulting firm but something to be aware of for employees who may not have previous consulting experience.

    Continue reading
    Kin + Carta Americas2019-10-30

    Kin + Carta Americas Response

    January 24, 2020CEO

    We are passionate about our work, our friendships, and always improving how we work. Thank you for shining a light on the smart, ambitious, servant leader culture we have created together. Appreciate your perspective on the training and on-boarding process. We will never stop listening or looking for ways to improve.

    Continue reading
  6. "Amazing culture and opportunity for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kin + Carta Americas full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you’re looking for a needle in a haystack- you’ve found it. This is a company filled with enthusiastic individuals where you truly are never the smartest person in the room, therefore you always have people to learn and grow from. The company invests in its employees- even their contractors and makes a genuine difference in their lives. If you want to work for a company where innovation is around every corner- you’ve found it.

    Cons

    Honestly I can’t think of any. My experience has far surpassed my expectations.

    Continue reading
    Kin + Carta Americas2019-10-31

    Kin + Carta Americas Response

    January 24, 2020CEO

    Thank you for sharing your positive experience. I am glad we are meeting your expectations and I promise we'll keep listening and adapting. We are never done.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (13)

    "Used to be great, but now just a misleading company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kin + Carta Americas full-time

    Pros

    There are a small handful of amazing people that really know their stuff working here.

    Cons

    Hired as an iOS Developer, then after showing up was told the codebase is actually changing from Swift to React Native. They told me I’d need to follow their training guide on learning React Native outside my normal 40 billable hours but I’d be paid for the extra work. After completing the training, the extra pay never came and was called a “miscommunication”. Then my team dissolved and was switched once again, this time to web development. During this whole process I had numerous meetings with my mentor, teammates, my product manager, the recruiter, etc discussing how I wasn’t really in the role I signed up for and wasn’t super happy, yet when I left the company they said it was my fault for not bringing up my concerns more. Finance team also sent me an executive’s W2 when requesting mine at tax time. Hopefully they don’t send mine out to just anyone...

    Kin + Carta Americas2019-10-24

    Kin + Carta Americas Response

    January 24, 2020CEO

    I am sorry you had a frustrating experience during your time with us. We certainly don't intend for things to work like this. We are alway listening and prioiritizing ways to improve. I wish you the best in your new role.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Experience entirely depends on project"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kin + Carta Americas full-time

    Pros

    Great people, good culture. Plenty of opportunity to learn new skills.

    Cons

    While the culture was listed as a pro, depending on the project you're on you may never see it. While clients tend to be Chicagoland based some have a really long commute from downtown. Pair programming isn't for everyone and its possible to end up on the same project for a long time. Salary is also below average.

    Kin + Carta Americas2019-09-19

    Kin + Carta Americas Response

    September 30, 2019CEO

    Thank you for acknowledging the people and learning environment. As a consulting firm our work takes us to client environments. Our clients chose us for two reasons: 1) our depth of experience on modern software engineering and digital experience creation 2) the quality of people we hire and the way we work. Most clients chose us because they not only need the project delivered but they also need us to help them change in a sustainable way. This means we work onsite some portion of our engagement. Our most successful client partnerships have been when we've worked collaboratively with our client to determine the right co-location strategy. In most cases the client is flexible and the co-location changes over time as the project progresses. There are times when it just makes more sense to be together. Open communication, clear understanding of co-location strategy, and flexibility are key at the project level. As a firm, we continually prioritize ways for our people to keep meaningful connection to our culture no matter where they are located.

    Continue reading
  9. "Full Stack Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Stack Developer in Buenos Aires
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kin + Carta Americas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ok salary, good mentorship program, paid meals, excellent people working here, most of the projects are really fun and interesting to work on. Nice offices with several great perks. Great career program.

    Cons

    Salary could be better I guess. Some projects are not as interesting. Pair programming is promoted here, not for everyone.

    Continue reading
    Kin + Carta Americas2019-09-09
  10. Helpful (8)

    "company stuck in neutral"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kin + Carta Americas full-time

    Pros

    good place to start career as a first job

    Cons

    - cannot settle on a sustainable strategy or mindset, regardless of the discipline or domain - may be connected to above comment, but cannot actually fund any of its initiatives. has a direct impact on actual career growth - almost no career opportunities and consideration if you're not friends with the right people

    Kin + Carta Americas2019-09-24

    Kin + Carta Americas Response

    September 30, 2019CEO

    Thank you for taking time to providing feedback. I am glad you see benefits in starting a career at Solstice. It looks like you are a Principal which tells me you are already experienced and may be at the firm 5+ yrs. There are three things we have recently done that are aligned with supporting career growth for everyone at the firm,. 1) We spent last year outlining career paths by discipline to make it more clear what the path could look for each individual. 2) We launched an internal job board to post strategic internal positions and give visibility and opportunity to anyone who is interested in learning more. Over time, this will expand to internal roles open inside our broader global business. 3) To create more focused career growth at the intersection of the work people are passionate about and what we are uniquely positioned to be the best in the world at, we began an internal org redesign focused on providing more depth of support and new opportunities in Cloud Modernization and Digital Experience. It's not always a perfect science lining up what you want to do with where and when the opportunities are available, communication and leaning-in to understand how the changes above (and more in the future) can help you achieve your own personal growth goals are important. There are many resources to help you understand how to take advantage of firm growth and resources available to better navigate your career - Talk with your mentor, network lead, project team leader, or stop by my office hours to get support in navigating the opportunities.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 179 reviews