King's College London Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

King's College London Reviews

Updated 27 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
King's College London President  PROFESSOR EDWARD BYRNE AC
PROFESSOR EDWARD BYRNE AC
105 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Senior management seem entirely focused on money rather than education or research(in 19 reviews)

  • "Lots of politics, management team is not transparent at times of change, no great career progression opportunities(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at King's College London part-time

    Pros

    Flexibility and Salary was high London per hourly rate

    Cons

    work processed slowly by the HR

    King's College London2019-05-03
  2. "Stimulating and fast paced."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at King's College London full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to do research - surrounded by experts in field.

    Cons

    Low salary and long hours/difficult work.

    King's College London2020-03-27
  3. "Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Associate in London, England

    I have been working at King's College London full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A good university to work for.

    Cons

    Limited retirement benefits. Not a lot of long term career opportunities.

    King's College London2020-03-18
  4. "Mixed experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at King's College London full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Had great colleagues around which made the experience bearable. There are some line managers who were fair and encouraged staff to go on training

    Cons

    Management of academic staff was atrocious. There was a lot of bullying going on and when it was reported, it was often brushed under the carpet. Also, there was no uniformity across teams. Some managers penalised the most trivial things eg having to explain why you’re away from your desk

    Continue reading
    King's College London2020-03-24
  5. "A good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Research Scientist in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at King's College London full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    King's is a pleasant and inclusive environment, usually with flexible work patterns, generous holidays and good support for staff

    Cons

    King's salary structure, as with many universities, is very rigid, with only incremental progression for professional services staff

    King's College London2020-03-05
  6. "Summer intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Researcher in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at King's College London full-time

    Pros

    International community and very friendly co-workers. Weekly guest speakers and Journal reviews.

    Cons

    There is no funding for summer interns but I was able to receive funds from my home university

    King's College London2020-02-29
  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant 

    I worked at King's College London part-time

    Pros

    Very supportive, leaned a lot here

    Cons

    Working environment could have improved

    King's College London2020-02-25
  8. "Explainer job required"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Physics Teacher 

    I have been working at King's College London full-time

    Pros

    Great experience and rewarding job

    Cons

    Too many hours and lesson panning

    King's College London2020-03-10
  9. "Lecturer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lecturer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at King's College London full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Independent research under securing of research funds

    Cons

    Constant pressure to secure independent research funds

    Continue reading
    King's College London2020-02-28
  10. "friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teaching Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at King's College London part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    really friendly and supportive environment to work in.

    Cons

    Admin is rather appaling, typical of higher ed institutions.

    King's College London2020-02-13
Found 458 reviews