King "studios" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

King Employee Reviews about "studios"

Updated 1 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
67%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
King CEO Riccardo Zacconi
Riccardo Zacconi
183 Ratings
Pros
  • "I met amazing people during my time at King(in 29 reviews)

  • "Excellent work life balance (Stockholm)(in 26 reviews)

Cons
  • "When two members of upper management are fired for their bullying behaviour you know you are in trouble(in 8 reviews)

  • "studios have all the real power in the company(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "studios"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (12)

    "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer in Barcelona
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at King full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Had the best 3 years of my life in this company, moved to BCN to work at King, and i think that what this company did for me, no other would - all the aspects of my life were taken care off and i never had one complain. The first one year and half was a dream job, the company was growing and my i can honestly say i had the best team one can have. Even tho i was in a foreigner country, in a new company, i never felt so much at home. I was proud to say i worked at King and Mondays were something i expected more than the Weekend.

    Show More

    Cons

    Tech companies change quickly, which in my opinion needs to be done - adapt or die right? As soon as the company objectives change, and instead of growth, King switched to maintain the live titles, everything went south. Many studios closed, people were fired in masses. And more recently all my team was fired with no noticed whatsoever. The values that King so much preaches, were broken like they meant nothing. Very Disappointing! Upper Leadership should be ashamed of themselves!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't join the company and think you can just change everything because you can! Understand what is the heart of King - the people! Don't treat people that devoted their lives to the company, as mere numbers. Activision Blizzard should be ashamed to kill such a cool company!

    King2019-09-01
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work, but lack of purpose"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Barcelona
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at King full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Awesome perks and work conditions - Incredible team of great and skilled professionals - Parties every year, summer and winter and a the Kingfomarket - A lot of space to learn and innovate (Innovation days, Hack days, budget for trainings, online courses, conferences...) - Culture and values are the best I've ever seen in a company.

    Cons

    - Barcelona tech department has become a death march department, with all the teams working on a project with no clear purpose or value. We work totally disconnected from the game studios, and Candy studios have all the real power in the company. Also, the change in the direction since Activision took over the control of the company feels like we're on a completely different company. A lot of talent is leaving the company lately, bored of doing projects without purpose and changes in priorities. - Work life balance is just not enough. They're not flexible with people's needs and just allowing to enter from 8:00 to 10:00 is not enough. Allow working remotely, free afternoons, or even summer special time. People can't spend the whole day at work. - Senior management is too unexperienced, usually overwhelmed by pressure or loosing control of the situation too easily.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The talented people you hired need a purpose or they will feel like they're stuck on they careers. They could do amazing things, but upper management needs to align and get shared objectives, related with real business outcomes.

    King2019-08-09
  3. Helpful (13)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Barcelona
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at King full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Nice coworkers - Good benefits (breakfast, gym, health assurance, ticket restaurant) to compensate the base salary - Good computer and phone (without a phone plan) - Some teams are not stressful

    Cons

    - Bad management since was adquiered by Activision - Don't give shares or stock options to new joiners - Small % bonus for new joiners - Lack of new ideas, it turns all around Candy - Hard to promote, it’s all about “friends” - Increase of 1-2% of salary per year - Remote job is not allowed - There is not early finish on Fridays or during summer months - Extra hours are not paid, but you usually don't do - Some studio has not anymore the benefits of allow secondments in other studios. - Some teams are only focus in maintenance, so be caution in case do you think you are going to develop new games. - After relocate a lot of people now the teams are full, so is harder to move between studios.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    In the supposed case that you increase the company's workforce, have a clear plan of what you want to do, so as not to be forced to relocate or fire some of that people later and finish with more people than you could need.

    King2018-04-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Future is bright in North America"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at King full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Seems like King is really committed to investing in North America. New Senior leader of North American Games who sits in Seattle, seems genuinely interested in the people and what we are doing. We can finally see how the US ties into the rest of King. Also, it sounded like SF is going to grow a lot, excited to have more people in the US. -New games in Seattle -Good vibe -Great location -New teams in SF...we get updates from the studio heads in SF during a new North American call....which in itself is cool -Travel...we all get to go to Stockholm this summer!!!! -We have recently hired a bunch of new people, good to have more energy in Seattle.

    Show More

    Cons

    Wish we had more day to day communication in Seattle. My team runs independently which is great, but sometimes it feels like separate studios since we are all so busy. Would be good to have clear studio goals that we can all understand. Saying we need to launch a game seems obvious, but is that really it? I saw the King goals at our CEO call but studio leadership has never spoken of them before or again. What happens when local leaders go to London...can you tell us why you go or what you learned.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This is the first time I feel like I have a connection to the rest of King, mostly because of the the hiring of new leadership. I wish Seattle leadership spoke more about about Europe and how we are part of King...seems like there is a lot of excitement about the games we are making but its rare to hear much other than team specific updates locally. Please keep finding ways to have the new North American CEO call...maybe keep it to 45 mins Please keep sharing its a nice change

    Show More
    King2018-02-04
  5. Helpful (17)

    "Developer - London studio, Live Games"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at King full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of the developers are really good and have a passion for games Nice parties Gym in the office

    Cons

    1) Most of the promotions are done based on how much you talk, and how pushy/arrogant you are.If you talk with a lot of confidence and arrogance, you have chances of being seen very competent and very smart, there is no room for good hard working competent people. It also helps if you make a lot of drama along with being arrogant !!! 2) Lots of good developers are leaving the studio and nobody seems to care too much about it, even if upper management wants to increase some teams again! 3) No build configuration engineer, even if all other studios have one and there was supposed to be one "in hiring" process for like 1 year at least 4) Low sad mood in the teams, especially among developers, who seemed very demotivated, stand ups are like funerals. 5) Low salaries compared to the market 6) Producers screaming at developers during meetings , even if they are not technical, they have 0 ideas what they are talking about and they have 0 contribution or positive impact on the game 8) Poor tools and poor infrastructure which increase frustration every day 9) There are no consequences for poor performers

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Value better the good talent you have, listen to legitimate complains and offer better salaries, care more about the London Studio developers, in the end , they are bringing the money for most of the London office and they are basically doing everything inside the game teams! Be more strict with poor performers !

    King2017-12-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "On the up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at King full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with great people, at a great company. Benefits and salary also good. London studio is busy, many projects just starting up.

    Cons

    Lack of creatively interesting and boundary pushing projects being developed at London , unlike other king studios. That said still challenging and busy.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to the staff (it's making a big difference), keep them interested and creatively fed.

    King2017-06-04
  7. Helpful (13)

    "Creepily sexist - ambitious women need not apply"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Stockholm, Stockholm
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at King full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing perks, snacks and offices Nice people Before the acquisition, lots of social events and parties

    Cons

    Within the game studios, business departments and tech there are absolutely no career advancement opportunities for women. And the creepy part is they know from their own data how bad it really is. Promotions being heavily awarded to men, no women within the top 3 levels of leadership at this company, vague promises being made to 'solve these issues' with no results. I would highly recommend that women ask questions during their interviews regarding demographics/percentage of women in leadership roles to understand what they are getting into. But as someone who has worked here for over 3 years, I would just save you the time and say that you can definitely do better!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please start understanding our diversity initiative as a business issue with profits being lost. If you are part of a group that is unfairly looked over for promotions or even being treated as an equal in meetings, then you would find it hard to be engaged with your work too. And when that level of disengagement is happening to such a large portion of the company... you do the math. Not all of us are in an environment where we can be rowing the boat at full speed. But then again maybe it is because of our weak girl arms.

    Show More
    King2017-02-09
  8. "Data Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bucharest

    I worked at King full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great working environment, great BI, great culture, ownership, opinion matters. People are open and creative. A lot of benifits.

    Cons

    As the company grew communication become harder across studios. After the Activation acquisition everything changed and it become corporate.

    King2016-08-03
Found 8 reviews
</>Embed