Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith Reviews

Updated 20 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
40%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith Founding Partner Robert Lewis (no image)
Robert Lewis
50 Ratings
Pros
  • "Benefits, pay, good work environment(in 11 reviews)

  • "I can truly say a lot has changed in our Billing Dept(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some secretaries are one on one and not subject to the same rules others are who have 3 or 4(in 16 reviews)

  • "The benefits are very basic dental and health no 401k match no tuition reimbursement(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Associate Attorney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Attorney in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great database for writing samples; nice people; great building.

    Cons

    Long hours and low compensation; benefits weren't very good; overworked staff so difficult to have your secretary/paralegal be available for work; high partner to low associate ratio; billable hours were very high for a first year associate; cannot access gmail or spotify (the firm blocks access)

    Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith2020-02-20
  2. Helpful (3)

    "They dont care, so why should you?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contract Administrator - Lead in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is air in the office for you to breath provided at no cost to you!

    Cons

    Benefits - health insurance only covers 80% if it covers at all, following your $2,000+ deductible; no 401k match; no maternity leave unless you are an attorney, and dental doesn't cover cleanings in some cases... HR/management - expect micro managing; late 7 minutes, better call the office. Attorneys can treat you like garbage, its not acceptable for you to say "no" to anything, no matter how absurd the request ie demand. Office Equipment and Supplies - Everything is broken, and if it isnt it will be. Also expect to spend a decent amount of time doing tedious tasks due to poor quality/setup of equipment.

    Continue reading
    Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith2020-01-28
  3. "Great Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate 

    I have been working at Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The firm offers many growth opportunities.

    Cons

    Underpaid for amount of billable hours required.

    Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith2020-01-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Staff 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Everything is great if you are in the inner circle

    Cons

    No one is in the inner circle

    Continue reading
    Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith2020-01-31
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Not worth the experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - File Clerk in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The administrative employees (and many of the attorneys) are extremely friendly and welcoming. The company paid for my monthly transit pass. The position is very easy to learn if you're organized & detail-oriented (you mostly make copies, scan documents, upload the docs to a website, and organize the physical files). It's not rocket science). You are given a lot of freedom to complete your tasks with minimal supervision. I rarely ever communicated with my supervisor.

    Cons

    When I did communicate with my supervisor, she was EXTREMELY condescending. She created a very toxic work environment, which really made it difficult for clerks to get comfortable. She left most of her responsibilities to the lead file clerks, who were basically our supervisors because they were the ones that actually delegated tasks & helped when we were overworked. She would also single-out certain employees and micromanage their work while paying no attention to the others. The pay was WAY too low and it caused the other file clerks to put in little-to-no effort in their work OR they would rarely complete it on time. I was constantly fixing other file clerks' work even though it was not my job. The legal secretaries were also extremely overworked and underpaid. One of the secretaries I worked for did the work of 3 every single day and was never recognized for it. During the slow months, there is a LOT of free time. I wasted a lot of time watching tv shows on YouTube on the clock when I could've just been sent home. But they never allowed that. The turnover rate for this position was extremely high, which made a lot of sense since we were extremely underpaid, our boss was uninviting, and the environment did not foster employee growth at all.

    Continue reading
    Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith2019-12-26
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Worst place I've ever worked."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Legal Secretary in San Francisco, CA

    I worked at Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not a single pro about this place, except I don't have to contemplate suicide every morning because I now have a job where my bosses respect me.

    Cons

    Awful HR Department , bleak, gulag - like office. Employees are treated like prisoners. Worst place I've ever worked. HR micromanages staff and treats them like children, stripping them of the ability for independent thought and individuality. Saddest, most depressing office ever. Still suffering from PTSD.

    Continue reading
    Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith2020-01-10
  7. "Have never been happier to come to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Billing Specialist in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been worked at all types of insurance defense firms, but I have finally found my home. Many companies will sweet talk you just to get you through the door and then overwork you once you’re there and your voice will no longer matter. I can honestly say that LBBS has followed through on everything that I was initially told and then some. I, personally, have not experienced any micro-managing. The volume we are given can be a lot if you are not accustomed to it, but it’s manageable. Help is always there if/when needed. I have been fortunate enough to enter such a wonderful team.

    Cons

    The current billing program is outdated (and frustrating at times) but I’m hanging in there for things to come.

    Continue reading
    Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith2019-12-05
  8. "Personal Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith

    Pros

    Great boss and understanding work culture

    Cons

    Location, change in work duties

    Continue reading
    Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith2019-12-04
  9. "I genuinely enjoy my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Coordinator in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lewis Brisbois provides many opportunities for advancement. Great management & helpful support staff. Result-driven IT department that facilitates learning - hard work doesn't go unnoticed.

    Cons

    Certain meetings revolve around LA's timezone.

    Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith2019-11-14
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Do not work at this firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Secretary in Costa Mesa, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good hours good location firm equipment is satisfactory

    Cons

    Office administrator has no people skills. They have snitches all over the office who report to the office administrator. The employees have no advocate. Some secretaries are one on one and not subject to the same rules others are who have 3 or 4.

    Continue reading
    Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith2019-11-18

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 225 reviews