Liberty Mutual Insurance Claims Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Liberty Mutual Insurance Claims Specialist Reviews

Updated Sep 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
31%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Liberty Mutual Insurance CEO David H. Long
David H. Long
64 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Overworked and Micro Managed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Specialist in Marlton, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good time off and benefits

    Cons

    Company has too many high expectations for their employees in a normal work day.

    Continue reading
    Liberty Mutual Insurance2019-09-22
  2. "Love working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Bodily Injury Claims Specialist 

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture & environment. Employees are really valued

    Cons

    There is often a lack of transparency with changes

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2019-08-25
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Tampa Claims is a Nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Specialist II in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The company as a whole is a great organization in terms of scale and span. They offer a great benefits package, including 401K matching and liberal paid time off as well as paternity leave for men. They also offer tuition reimbursement. Working for a fortune 100 company has about the same pros everywhere, regarding the Tampa office there was nothing specifically outstanding.

    Cons

    The Tampa office is poorly ran and turnover is high. You are a production employee, not valued for your mind, but more so how well you follow directions and how timely you follow them. You are told that successful people are the ones who work weekends and nights and work/life balance isn't something that is valued or even spoken about. Certain claims managers rule with a iron fist and make no excuse for their behavior and almost celebrate their hard-nose approach. You have to know someone in order to move outside of your current role, it's a very political environment. They will stop you from going onto a position another department wants to offer you if it does not fit their staffing model. It took a little over a year under that management to run a 13 year employee away.

    Continue reading
    Liberty Mutual Insurance2019-07-23
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not a bad job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Intake Specialist in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company and good benefits.

    Cons

    Management is lacking as everyone from management on down is threatened continuously with job security.

    Continue reading
    Liberty Mutual Insurance2019-07-03
  5. Helpful (11)

    "Commercial Insurance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Specialist in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay is decent, flexibility to work from home, good vacation time and maternity leave

    Cons

    No work life balance, unrealistic expectations/metrics, everything is left to “managers discretion” rather than having specific policies in place

    Continue reading
    Liberty Mutual Insurance2019-07-04
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Company to work fr"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Claims Specialist in Somerset, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, paid holidays. open communication w/ supervisor and management. Fair raises. Co-workers approachable.

    Cons

    There are no cons.

    Continue reading
    Liberty Mutual Insurance2019-06-07
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Good Benefits, Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Resolution Specialist in Lake Mary, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and time off

    Cons

    Poor management, culture of favoritism and nepotism. No career growth. Centralized offices to low cost of labor locations in order to pay employees less salary.

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2019-05-28
  8. "Good company going through some changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Specialist in Suwanee, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The job is stressful but if you get it the company is good and takes care of you

    Cons

    You may not pick up the pace of claim handling.

    Continue reading
    Liberty Mutual Insurance2019-05-02

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    May 13, 2019Talent and Enterprise Services

    We work hard to provide employees with the best work environment, but we're always looking for opportunities to improve. Honest feedback like yours helps us to do that, so thanks for taking the time to share. We'll be sure to pass it along appropriately.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Fairly straight forward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Specialist in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really busy 100 claim average Good training

    Cons

    Overworked Unfair expectations No relief options No overtime Must do subrogation and arbs

    Liberty Mutual Insurance2019-04-22

    Liberty Mutual Insurance Response

    May 2, 2019Talent and Enterprise Services

    Hi, thank you for the feedback. We're sorry to hear that you’re feeling overextended. We’re always looking for better work-life-balance solutions for our employees. Over the past couple of years, we’ve made significant changes to the way we work, the space we work in, the technology we use and even our dress code to encourage greater flexibility in the workplace. This is an on-going evolution and we rely on feedback like yours to ensure our policies reflect the reality for our employees.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (12)

    "Decent benefits, awful management, operations, and mediocre pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Resolution Specialist in Warrenville, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Liberty Mutual Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    401k match, Good vacation time, 16 weeks paid maternity leave

    Cons

    In the 3 years I worked for Liberty Mutual, the auto department changed their business model 3 times, none of which were beneficial to anyone. The training, transition to the new model, and crazy inconsistency in how you are managed is only the tip of the iceberg on how miserable working here was. There was zero work/life balance, management was mediocre at best and extremely unhelpful, the amount of claims inventory was unmanageable and the amount you were paid to do the work was laughable. The turnover rate is the highest I've ever seen in any company I've ever worked for. The "metrics" you're held to are nearly unattainable no matter how long you've been there or how good you are at your job. Micromanaging is their game - they even track how long you take for bathroom breaks.

    Continue reading
    Liberty Mutual Insurance2019-04-02
Found 122 reviews