Lidl Sales Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Lidl Sales Assistant Reviews

Updated 17 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
55%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Lidl CEO Jesper Hojer (no image)
Jesper Hojer
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "You are a number!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lidl full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is not one pro!!

    Cons

    6am starts with only two or 3 people working massive loads and timed for everything. You are expected to run about daft all day every day. Not work the pay at all.! Don’t sell your sole to the devil

    Continue reading
    Lidl2020-02-17
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good pay bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I worked at Lidl part-time

    Pros

    Good pay, good holiday allowance

    Cons

    Extremely bad manager and awful company to work for if you have children

    Lidl2020-02-17
  3. "The best job I had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Dalkeith, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lidl part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is very nice and understanding

    Cons

    There is no reason to not work there

    Lidl2019-12-17

    Lidl Response

    January 7, 2020Employer Brand Team

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! It's great to hear you enjoyed being part of the team at Lidl, thanks for all your hard work. - Corina, Lidl GB

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Joke of a company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Stanmore, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Lidl full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The money is good for not a lot of work (if you're doing tills)

    Cons

    They have illegally fired so many people, they set you up to get fired basically. So a supervisor or someone who is above you will tell you to do something that goes against company policy and they then use that as an excuse to fire you. I worked for lidl for 3 months, this happened to me and about 4 other people I was working with, 2 of whom were elderly.

    Lidl2019-11-15

    Lidl Response

    January 14, 2020Employer Brand Team

    We really appreciate you taking the time to leave a review on your experience with us. We want the employee experience to be the same across the business and take all feedback very seriously. Please feel free to contact us at careers.sm@lidl.co.uk to discuss the points you have highlighted in your review. We wish you all the best with the next stage in your career. - Corina, Lidl GB

    Continue reading
  5. "Nice Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Welling, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have to quit my previous job while I was still on my maternity leave (IKEA) because they did not pay my ML every month. Since I have been working for LIDL I always have the shift I want depend of when my partner is at work to stay with the baby. If I need time off for myself or the baby the management team has been understanding and giving me as much time off as needed and the pay is really good

    Cons

    as most or the retailers sometimes shifts can be longer then usual but I have been told that on my interview by the store manager

    Continue reading
    Lidl2019-10-31

    Lidl Response

    January 14, 2020Employer Brand Team

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for all your hard work! Your insight really helps us to ensure that we're on the right track as an employer. Thanks again and keep up the good work. - Corina, Lidl GB

    Continue reading
  6. "An ok first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Attleborough, East of England, England

    I worked at Lidl part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Organized shifts, breaks, work/life balance

    Cons

    vague contract type, no full time, low pay

    Lidl2019-10-30

    Lidl Response

    January 14, 2020Employer Brand Team

    Thank you for your review and all your hard work. It's great to hear that you were happy working at Lidl. We wish you all the best for the future. - Corina, Lidl GB

    Continue reading
  7. "Good pay but very hectic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Ringwood, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good pay get as much over time as you want

    Cons

    get messed around a lot with hours/holiday

    Lidl2019-10-10

    Lidl Response

    January 14, 2020Employer Brand Team

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and all your hard work. If you wish to discuss anything in more detail you can contact us at careers.sm@lidl.co.uk or your local ERC directly. - Corina, Lidl GB

    Continue reading
  8. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working anywhere in retail not just at Lidl makes your job easier when you have a good team and luckily the lidl store I work in has a great team, i actually don't dread going to work in a morning or evening, there is always 1 anywhere you work that's lazy but most are good including the managers who get stuck in just as much as the sales Assistants and don't just sit in the office all day doing "paper work", the pay is good you start off on £9 and it goes up every year, you get 10% discount, theres a nice canteen with a decent smoking terrace with tables and chairs, theres lots of tools and technology within store to make everything in your daily routines so much easier than most retail stores I've worked at. Overall if your used to shift work and you know it includes working days, nights and weekends then you know what to expect and should enjoy working at lidl it's a graft I wont lie but if you've got a good team and everyone gets stuck in then your job is made so much easier.

    Cons

    The only cons I have personally at the moment is the one or two staff members who don't think they have to pull their weight and are just lazy but other than that I genuinely like working at lidl at this moment in time.

    Continue reading
    Lidl2019-09-21

    Lidl Response

    January 14, 2020Employer Brand Team

    It's fantastic to hear you're enjoying working with us! Thank you for leaving a detailed review and for all the hard work you put in to make your store a success, we really appreciate it. Keep up the good work! - Corina, Lidl GB

    Continue reading
  9. "I enjoyed my time there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lidl part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, flexible working, opportunities

    Cons

    Early starts and late finishes

    Lidl2019-05-31
  10. "Awful place to work, avoid!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Telford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lidl full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Welcome event was insightful and interesting.

    Cons

    Good pay but it comes at a price. Staff are expected to work intensely long hours with just a 30 minute break included, very poor when you take into account the extremely physical nature of the work. The manager made extremely condescending remarks to myself and colleagues, claiming that we could "climb the ranks" if we were willing to suck up to management. From this moment i knew the job was not for me, as i am unwilling to resort to these kind of tactics in order to gain a pay rise. Common courtesy and respect are foreign concepts to this company, avoid at all costs.

    Continue reading
    Lidl2019-05-22

    Lidl Response

    July 31, 2019Employer Brand Team

    We do hear some great things from store employees in our reviews, and we want all employees to have the same experience, so thank you for your honest feedback. If there are any points from your review you'd like to expand on, please do contact us at careers.sm@lidl.co.uk. We really appreciate your hard work while with us wish you the very best for the future. - Andy Lidl GB

    Continue reading
Found 38 reviews