Lidl "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Lidl Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2419 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Lidl CEO Jesper Hojer (no image)
Jesper Hojer
320 Ratings
  1. "lidl"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Manager 

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some progression, good working within a team. yearly pay rises.

    Cons

    work lifestyle. long hours at times.

    Lidl2019-04-08
  2. "Senior Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Wimbledon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Progression, growing firm, good fringe benefits

    Cons

    Work environment not always the best, salaries get capped at one stage, no bonuses, Long hours

    Advice to Management

    Changes need to be made from HO in Germany. Lidl is a over-the-top paid employer in Germany and so should it be in the Uk. Salaries should match up.

    Lidl2019-03-24

    Lidl Response

    May 22, 2019Employer Brand Team

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we're really glad that you've had a positive experience overall. We appreciate all of the hard work you and your colleagues are putting in to make Lidl GB a success! - Team Lidl GB

  3. Helpful (2)

    "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lidl full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    nothing at all for me

    Cons

    Long hours, not nice people

    Lidl2019-03-22
  4. "5***place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl full-time

    Pros

    -good payment - flexible hours - good management

    Cons

    - long hours - staff - more opportunities inside company

    Lidl2019-03-11

    Lidl Response

    March 20, 2019Employer Brand Team

    Thank you for your positive review - it's great to know you'd recommend working at Lidl. Thanks for all your hard work. Andy - Lidl GB

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Procurement management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Procurement Manager in Wimbledon, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lidl full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good location in town Young team

    Cons

    Awful hours Poor time management Archaic systems Long hours 7-6 minimum

    Advice to Management

    Flexible working

    Lidl2019-04-09

    Lidl Response

    May 22, 2019Employer Brand Team

    Thank you for you review. This team works tirelessly to manage the procurement needs for the whole of Lidl GB, and we really appreciate the part you played during your time with us. We're happy to report that the department has grown considerably to match these needs, and are confident ...

    Show More
  6. "Customer Assistant role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very good wage that increases each year you stay with the company.

    Cons

    Extensive training required, a lot of which isn't used day to day. Long hours

    Advice to Management

    Spend more time training employees for their specified role to make sure they excel in that area.

    Lidl2019-03-02

    Lidl Response

    March 20, 2019Employer Brand Team

    Thanks for leaving your review. We do assess and update all available training to make sure it remains relevant to the role and right for you, so welcome your feedback. If you'd like to discuss any of the above points in more detail, do feel free to contact us at careers.sm@lidl.co.uk ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (1)

    "No work life balance. Expected to work alot more than standard hours. SOEs pretend they don't know about it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Operations Manager in Mullingar, Westmeath
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lidl

    Pros

    Good intentions and great for some types of people.

    Cons

    Don't work here if you want a good work life balance. Sink or swim attitude. Long hours. Perks not worth the work.

    Advice to Management

    Their business model seems to be successful, just not for all people. Extreamly high turn over of area managers due to horrendous working conditions and expectations.

    Lidl2019-03-14
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great pay but work/life balance not very achievable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Operations Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Lidl full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get a fantastic package including high salary, fully expensed Audi A4, health insurance, company pension scheme etc.

    Cons

    You work very long hours (approx. 60 per week) including 50% of most weekends. Very difficult to have a normal life outside the job with the amount of stress and responsibility associated with the role.

    Lidl2019-03-10
  9. "Work work work and thats it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deputy Store Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Salary but be expected to do +50 hours a week

    Cons

    -Never got my expenses paid - never had review since started -company lifestyle reward been closed for over 6 months now -Company extra hours system (SAD report) not recorded properly. Currently report show -65 hours when it should be +85 hours -extremely long hours shift for manager +11 hours a day on average

    Lidl2019-03-27

    Lidl Response

    May 22, 2019Employer Brand Team

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We would definitely advise you to contact your Employee Relations Consultant regarding the points you've raised. You can also contact us at careers.sm@lidl.co.uk. We really appreciate the work you've put in to manage your team and run ...

    Show More
  10. "Good Easy Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lidl part-time

    Pros

    Easy work Good Money Friendly Staff Flexibility with management

    Cons

    Having to Clean Long Hours Customers are rude

    Advice to Management

    Shorter shift hours

    Lidl2019-02-15

    Lidl Response

    March 20, 2019Employer Brand Team

    Thanks for your review! It's always great to hear positive feedback and we're really glad to hear you're happy at Lidl. we appreciate all of your hard work - keep it up and thanks again! Andy, Lidl GB

Found 2419 reviews
</>Embed