Lord Abbett & Co. Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Lord Abbett & Co. Reviews

Updated 26 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.5
37%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Lord Abbett & Co. President and CEO Douglas B. Sieg (no image)
Douglas B. Sieg
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is clearly a strong company culture, great work life balance and the improvements to the cafe are outstanding(in 17 reviews)

  • "Good cafeteria, gym on site is very good(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lack of transparency from upper management(in 11 reviews)

  • "This hides visibility of highly talented technical people efforts to senior management(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sr. Data Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lord Abbett & Co. full-time

    Pros

    Best place to work because of work culture and nice people around me

    Cons

    Commute is a problem because I dont have a car to commute

    Lord Abbett & Co.2018-05-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Brutal Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Lord Abbett & Co. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay and decent time off

    Cons

    Horrible culture, they will use you and spit you out all while not knowing your name.

    Lord Abbett & Co.2020-03-27
  3. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lord Abbett & Co. full-time

    Pros

    Friendly management, good flexibility, good pay

    Cons

    High employee turnover, office environment can be political

    Lord Abbett & Co.2020-03-10
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Jersey City, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lord Abbett & Co. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company offers great benefits. There is clearly a strong company culture, great work life balance and the improvements to the cafe are outstanding. Over the past year, there has been a strong commitment to community service. I am proud to work at an organization that understands the importance of giving back to those in need.

    Cons

    I honestly can think of any.

    Continue reading
    Lord Abbett & Co.2020-01-23
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Made money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wholesaler 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lord Abbett & Co. full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay is good for the industru

    Cons

    Management is toxic And does not care about employees

    Lord Abbett & Co.2020-01-05
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Wholesalers Warning!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lord Abbett & Co. full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There are a few of the good guys left after heavy turnover the past 3 years.

    Cons

    Frat club. They preach diversity and inclusion, however their sales force is 90% white males. If you have a smaller territory you are still competing with the bigger territories and sales are expected to be the same. It can be challenging considering 80% of business is coming in Cash alternative short term bond funds. Compensation is competitive only if you are in top half of sales force otherwise no deferred comp for you. Divisional Sales Managers are in the field as WS so their is no transparency, they don't travel or support you in your territory at all. They look at you 100% by metrics and that is it. Not on ability or regional challenges. National Sales Managers are order takers from Managing Partner and have zero original thought. The firm has a tremendous amount of risk. Although growing they are doing on the back bone of two funds that have not returned their div yield in the past 5 yrs. Short Duration and Ultra Short

    Continue reading
    Lord Abbett & Co.2020-01-31
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Manager/Wholesaler 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lord Abbett & Co. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hot products with Ultra Short and Short Duration

    Cons

    I knew about the micromanage reputation coming in but, wow, the constant bullying takes it to another level. Sales folks covering the left side of the country can back this up. Senior leadership is well aware but turns a blind eye, either condoning or causing it. Cherry on top, HR dept turned over and was replaced with handpicked ‘inner circle’, so you can’t go to them about it. Why treat professional adults this way? In the end, it feels like the partners only care about self interest. Maybe because the number of partners continues to decline significantly.

    Continue reading
    Lord Abbett & Co.2020-01-17
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Toxic Frat Boy Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lord Abbett & Co. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Location, office, some decent co-workers

    Cons

    Firm used to be great, but new Management is all about making money for themselves

    Lord Abbett & Co.2020-01-14
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in Jersey City, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lord Abbett & Co. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked with some decent colleagues.

    Cons

    This company is a partnership which exists for the creation of wealth for the partners. I saw the money managed so badly when I was at the firm that I cringe thinking about it. I subsequently resolved to move all of my own money to passive index funds, and I wondered how it was possible that the actively managed fund business managed to survive as long as it did. Working for smart, talented people is really great. Working for untalented people who don't know they are untalented is the worst. Working at LA I felt like the peasants in France must have felt right before they stormed the Bastille. Unfortunately the walls in Jersey City are just to high to climb.

    Lord Abbett & Co.2019-12-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Core Business Services (Finance, Operations, Technology, Administration, etc)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Senior Analyst 

    I worked at Lord Abbett & Co. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company offers very competitive compensation and benefits (medical, 401k, vacation, sick leave). Easy commute location next to public transit (PATH, light rail). Office is very spacious with large cubicle space and conference rooms. Everything looks like traditional money management with lots of wood furniture and decor. Work was pretty much straightforward and people seemed to be content working there for many years.

    Cons

    There was little to no training/development for career growth. Management in core business services lacked business training to understand and prepare for changes in the industry and many projects turned into constant firedrills. Team members were not trained on the subject matter/business area for the projects to which they were assigned. And without the background knowledge the results were adversely affected.

    Continue reading
    Lord Abbett & Co.2019-09-25
Found 147 reviews