Lord Abbett & Co. Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Lord Abbett & Co. Reviews

Updated 14 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
33%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Lord Abbett & Co. President and CEO Douglas B. Sieg (no image)
Douglas B. Sieg
18 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "This hides visibility of highly talented technical people efforts to senior management(in 11 reviews)

  • "Lack of transparency from upper management(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sr. Data Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lord Abbett & Co. full-time

    Pros

    Best place to work because of work culture and nice people around me

    Cons

    Commute is a problem because I dont have a car to commute

    Lord Abbett & Co.2018-05-12
  2. "Made money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wholesaler 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lord Abbett & Co. full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay is good for the industru

    Cons

    Management is toxic And does not care about employees

    Lord Abbett & Co.2020-01-05
  3. "Toxic Frat Boy Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lord Abbett & Co. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Location, office, some decent co-workers

    Cons

    Firm used to be great, but new Management is all about making money for themselves

    Lord Abbett & Co.2020-01-14
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in Jersey City, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lord Abbett & Co. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked with some decent colleagues.

    Cons

    This company is a partnership which exists for the creation of wealth for the partners. I saw the money managed so badly when I was at the firm that I cringe thinking about it. I subsequently resolved to move all of my own money to passive index funds, and I wondered how it was possible that the actively managed fund business managed to survive as long as it did. Working for smart, talented people is really great. Working for untalented people who don't know they are untalented is the worst. Working at LA I felt like the peasants in France must have felt right before they stormed the Bastille. Unfortunately the walls in Jersey City are just to high to climb.

    Show More
    Lord Abbett & Co.2019-12-27
  5. "Core Business Services (Finance, Operations, Technology, Administration, etc)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Senior Analyst 

    I worked at Lord Abbett & Co. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company offers very competitive compensation and benefits (medical, 401k, vacation, sick leave). Easy commute location next to public transit (PATH, light rail). Office is very spacious with large cubicle space and conference rooms. Everything looks like traditional money management with lots of wood furniture and decor. Work was pretty much straightforward and people seemed to be content working there for many years.

    Show More

    Cons

    There was little to no training/development for career growth. Management in core business services lacked business training to understand and prepare for changes in the industry and many projects turned into constant firedrills. Team members were not trained on the subject matter/business area for the projects to which they were assigned. And without the background knowledge the results were adversely affected.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Training and development for everyone

    Lord Abbett & Co.2019-09-25
  6. Helpful (6)

    "It's a man's world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Jersey City, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lord Abbett & Co. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Recently rolled out great benefits and the company is trying to provide a better work life balance which it never had before.

    Cons

    The firm is run like a boys club. Only management will get ahead and participate in interesting projects, all others are stuck in dead end roles.

    Advice to Management

    Bring in a wave of new people that truly want to see change and the firm progress. The lifers at Lord Abbett are institutionalized with the old culture.

    Lord Abbett & Co.2019-08-23
  7. Helpful (14)

    "Hot Mess Sandwich with Mayonnaise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lord Abbett & Co.

    Pros

    Unlimited PRO Work from home (kinda)

    Cons

    Simply put...the lunatics are running the asylum. The babies from the movie Boss Baby would do a much job running the show. The place is run by children anyway. Transparency is a joke. Positions are created and filled by “friends of management”, but are NEVER posted anywhere. So unless you fall into that category, you won’t be going anywhere. Finally, no one, and I mean no in management is qualified for the position they hold.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Throw the whole thing away.

    Lord Abbett & Co.2019-06-20
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Once was a great place to work at!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lord Abbett & Co. full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great compensation for the work you do.

    Cons

    No work life balance.

    Lord Abbett & Co.2019-05-15
  9. Helpful (8)

    "what a mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Jersey City, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lord Abbett & Co. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    you don't have to know anything about investing to run investments.

    Cons

    if clients and board knew how their money was managed, they would be upset. not fun to work here.

    Advice to Management

    bring in talent from real asset managers

    Lord Abbett & Co.2019-06-16
  10. Helpful (13)

    "It’s already been stated in the other reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lord Abbett & Co. full-time

    Pros

    Good short credit team Don’t need to come from top tier universities as majority of leadership is from mid tier state schools

    Cons

    It’s all been stated in other reviews: Not good for minorities or women Harassing, micro managers Yes (white) men are valued and ideas are not No one in leadership with experience outside of the company. If you come from another firm you are a threat Most business leaders have no business training, just sales training Change incentive compensation and make it retroactive with no notice Open or new positions are never posted, so if you are not one of the yes men, you don’t get the shoulder tap and have no means of promotion

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Does any past employee or partner have anything positive to say about LA? If interviewing here, ask around first. Almost half the ratings on here are 1 star. Second most are 2 star.

    Lord Abbett & Co.2019-05-07
Found 142 reviews