Lush "50 discount" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Lush Employee Reviews about "50 discount"

Updated Dec 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Lush CEO Mark Constantine
Mark Constantine
322 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sales tactics are also ridiculously pushy and senior staff were forcing them upon you throughout the day(in 33 reviews)

  • "Managers and supervisors try to be supportive but do gossip about you to other members of staff(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "50 discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Really excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lush part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    – Lovely management staff – Excellent employee benefits (50% staff discount) – Great ethical values which they stand by

    Cons

    – Pretty tiring work – Extremely busy during holiday periods

    Lush2019-12-03
  2. "It's all image"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lush part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    50% discount Some people were nice

    Cons

    If you aren't vegan they make you feel guilty Only care if you're selling high end gifts and spa treatments

    Lush2019-11-19
  3. "Good job for outgoing, sales driven people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Sales Assistant 

    I have been working at Lush

    Pros

    50% discount, try products, overall its good

    Cons

    pushy sales tactics and less job security

    Lush2019-11-19
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent pros but stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lush part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get excellent pay! Lots of free goodies and amazing 50% discount (even on spas!!). In depth training about skincare, haircare etc. And it's not just the type of training you'll only be able to apply in Lush, it's information I've used since to purchase products. It has helped me understand my skin and hair more! You also get to meet like-minded people and form long term friendships.

    Cons

    Although all of the pros are really brilliant, I'm not sure if it's worth the stress and pressure that comes with the job. If you don't approach a customer within 2 minutes of them stepping into the store you are given 'feedback' and told you aren't doing your job. The supervisors and managers are constantly watching you and it's very unsettling. I'm a confident person and even for me, it was very hard to do my job... while having someone spy on me. I just knew after every single consultation that I would have, a supervisor would come over to me and ask me "why didn't you mention this? why didn't you try to sell more products? etc, etc". Sometimes you really just want a human interaction with customers, and the management at Lush doesn't allow that. You have to be a robot for management to like you and for them to think you're doing a good job. And I'm sorry, but if you've reached that point then that means you've sold your soul to the company because no one can be that damn preppy 24/7, it is inhumane.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Chill out! Lush makes a lot of money even without forcing sales assistants to breathe down customers' necks and invade their privacy. I've seen a lot of employees break down because of the pressure from management and that's saying something. Not to mention, a lot of customers HATE being 'approached' over and over again.

    Lush2019-10-31
  5. "Absolutely sickening workplace, don't let the 50% discount reel you in."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lush part-time

    Pros

    50% staff discount Friendly work mates

    Cons

    Ethical branding is just a front for your standard evil corporation. Had regular sexually vulgar comments directed to me from management when I joined at age 16. Blatant racial discrimination from managers to every single person of colour on the staff. Company utilises palm-oil in spite of employees being taught to lie about this, plastic glitter, single use plastic packaging for shipments. Employees as young as... 16 years old received over-excessive reprimanding to the point of tears for not greeting every single customer in a friendly enough manner. 5 hour 45 minutes shifts utilised to prevent employees from receiving breaks. Management was untrained, unprofessional, and had a disgusting brand of acting like they cared, then instantly being talked behind your back. Toxic, over-competitive culture pitted store assistants against each other, while they want you to still believe that "we're more of a family than a workplace". Rats in a workplace where members of the public would be putting our products on their skin, while the management refused to do anything about it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Remove the guise of being a "family" to employees, keep professional and respect boundaries, and keep honest

    Lush2019-11-16
  6. "Easy but boring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Picker 

    I worked at Lush part-time

    Pros

    50% discount on all products

    Cons

    On feet all day long

    Lush2019-10-24
  7. "Literal hell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Lush part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    50% discount, meeting new people and some polite customers.

    Cons

    Management, supervisors and they way that part time staff are treated

    Lush2019-09-28
  8. "Not so Lush"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Poole, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lush full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% staff discount, good job to fill a gap

    Cons

    Cult-like ethos, serious attitude if you don't make the company your entire life, totally green-washed and faux-SJW causes

    Lush2019-09-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Not what you expect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Lush part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Christmas temporary contracts, it's best as a xmas pocket money job. 50% discount. Charity donations and campaigns. The other sales assistants were lovely to work with.

    Cons

    The contracts are small. I was a 15 hour per week and worked mostly 25 hours per week but my contract was never amended and this was never checked by anyone above store manager. Retail is harsh in general, however judging from other colleagues I've never seen an 8 hour contract be disrespected so much. Work/life balance is difficult, sometimes you were called in for 4 hours only. If you look at the gender pay gap... report, men typically get bigger contracts. Still not paid enough, Lush are following other retailers poor pay, but being one up by paying the most. Still very poor for the amount of work the sales assistants put in to make the company so much money, especially at Christmas. I didn't think the companies ethics shine through in terms of employee contribution and income. A company can't be 90% vegan, it's either vegan or it's vegetarian. I felt taken advantage of as a vegan for a company that want's to 'save the bees', yet uses a lot of honey. The waste Lush creates is bad, throwing tester pots away half empty. Not good for the environment or sustainability. The working environment is too unprofessional.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your staff like people and not a tool to make more money. Think of your ethics constantly. Offer fairer and bigger contracts when necessary and have trust in your employees.

    Lush2019-09-11
  10. "Worst company ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lush full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% discount for staff which was hardly a pro.

    Cons

    Awful management. All about the customer, and priority over staff. Racial diversity was terrible.

    Advice to Management

    Looks like Gemma has gone, that's a start.

    Lush2019-10-02
Found 93 reviews
</>Embed