MITRE Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

MITRE Reviews

Updated 17 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
57%
Recommend to a Friend
33%
Approve of CEO
MITRE President & CEO Jason Providakes
Jason Providakes
181 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "At least that’s how MITRE likes to introduce all staff to its sponsors(in 60 reviews)

  • "Lots of turnover in upper management(in 31 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Decent place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at MITRE full-time

    Pros

    lot of projects to work on

    Cons

    Lot of old people doing old things

    MITRE2020-02-17
  2. "Pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Principal Engineer 

    I have been working at MITRE full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are great, culture is relatively low key

    Cons

    Boring. The federal government is depressing.

    MITRE2020-02-14
  3. "Almost 10 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Engineer in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Their mission is noble. They offer a lot of training to be successful, freedom to work on contracts that are of interest or well suited to skills.

    Cons

    Sometimes put the needs of the Sponsor above the public interest. Aging Staff are rigid and stubborn and cannot follow change or technology.

    Continue reading
    MITRE2020-02-05

    MITRE Response

    February 11, 2020Employee Experience Team

    MITRE is dedicated to being on the forefront of innovation. Integrated into our cultural attributes are risk-taking, speed and adaptability. They are an integral part of our commitment to meet our sponsor’s demands, grow our impact, and serve the public interest. We will continue to empower, recognize, and reward our workforce as the driving force for new and innovative ideas where risk and adaptability are balanced with the quality and accuracy our sponsors and partners depend on.

    Continue reading
  4. "Great work/life balance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Specialist in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Collaboration, great benefits, continued learning, great people, conveniences such as on-site gym and cafeteria.

    Cons

    401k contribution from the company does not kick in for the first year.

    Continue reading
    MITRE2020-02-04

    MITRE Response

    February 11, 2020Employee Experience Team

    Thank you – it’s great to see that our focus on collaboration efforts is making a difference. We believe that working together across our diverse projects and teams is driving innovation at MITRE and impact for our sponsors and partners.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (13)

    "Works for some"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Engineer in Bedford, MA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MITRE full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    * Excellent work life balance. Your work and work load is up to you. * Coworkers are very nice, and for the most part actually care about helping the customers succeed. * Benefits are good. I will say, I never felt angry or upset coming in to work. The work load is pretty much whatever you want to make it, and the people you're surrounded by are friendly. However, you will get to a point where you realize your ambition, talent, and career is dying. Overall, I recommend the company to people who are just starting out, or later in their lives. If you got ambition, you'd do better elsewhere. If you wish to be able to coast, this is a fine place.

    Cons

    * Management is useless. This is especially true at the executive and upper levels. I mean, come on, how does the CEO have a 30% approval and still have his job? Middle management doesn't provide much help in advancing your career or advocating for you in any way. Usually, they barely even know what your project is, or what you do day to do. Their job ends at listening to your yearly review. * Useful work is hard to come by. Many projects are plain old seat filler paper pushing, or have the semblance of usefulness, but will lead to nowhere. * Things are too shrouded. A lot of the work is reproductions of previous work due to real or made up (security theater) restrictions. * Pay becomes quickly non-competitive at the L2-4 ranges. There's no adjustment for actual performance, only a facade. Yearly adjustment is just divided up equally among staff, +/- a few shekels. * The government has a clear bias towards the DC area even though they're supposed to be for the whole nation. Work, opportunity, networking and so on is all focused down in DC area. You will quickly realize you're invisible and have no opportunity up in Bedford. * Overhead on projects is solely there to make your job harder and worse.

    Continue reading
    MITRE2020-01-23
  6. "Ups and Downs - Can be very middle-of-the-road,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is a wide variety of tasks to work on and several opportunities to make your impact on national issues. There is never a question for me as to whether my work matters. The flexibility at MITRE is also nice - my department enabled me to work from home and take time off for doctor's appointments as needed.

    Cons

    It can be difficult to find interesting projects/research to keep you engaged. It heavily relies on your internal network (which is non-existant when you first get there) and on your direct supervisor.

    MITRE2020-02-01
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Been better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at MITRE

    Pros

    Still a core of folks who remember how it used to be

    Cons

    Hiring way too many VPs

    Continue reading
    MITRE2020-02-09
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Stress-less Place to Work with no Major Salaries"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Conracts Administrative 

    I have been working at MITRE full-time

    Pros

    Work/life balance is outstanding. Lot's of research areas to get involved with.

    Cons

    Many project and group leads are ineffective managers Salary is very stagnated. No bonuses

    Continue reading
    MITRE2020-01-28
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Potential is there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Comminications Director in McLean, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance is really nice.

    Cons

    Stuck in the past. Old systems. Hard to advance in role people are always jumping around to get to the next level.

    MITRE2020-01-25
  10. "Great place to start a career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Modeling and Simulation Engineer in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MITRE full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Impactful work Smart coworkers Great benefits Excellent pay out of undergraduate

    Cons

    Average age and social activity of your coworkers can vary greatly for each department.

    MITRE2020-01-18

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 968 reviews