Marathon Petroleum Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Marathon Petroleum Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 510 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Marathon Petroleum CEO Gary R. Heminger
Gary R. Heminger
277 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great pay and benefits, can't be beat in this area(in 33 reviews)

  • "Great schedule, good pay, new trucks(in 31 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Piping designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Piping Designer in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marathon Petroleum for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent experience in the company

    Cons

    Good experience during work in the Bechtel

    Marathon Petroleum2019-03-30
  2. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marathon Petroleum

    Pros

    Good Company, package, work environment flexible.

    Cons

    Work with Different Contractors and expect them to be highly qualified and deliver high quality.

    Advice to Management

    Understand the Ground Reality in India

    Marathon Petroleum2015-04-07
  3. "Great employer, even better career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marathon Petroleum full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company with room to move up

    Cons

    None that I have found

    Marathon Petroleum2019-08-23
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Internship Program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Findlay, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marathon Petroleum for less than a year

    Pros

    Meaningful work, lots of learning/growth opportunities, good culture, good pay

    Cons

    No clear path for a full-time offer (although they are common), some interns get a lot more to do than others

    Marathon Petroleum2019-08-10
  5. "Great Experience and Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly in Findlay, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marathon Petroleum for less than a year

    Pros

    Competitive wages, meaningful work, corporate atmosphere

    Cons

    Hard to obtain a full-time offer

    Marathon Petroleum2019-08-04
  6. "My experience at Marathon has been extremely positive and I love working there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marathon Petroleum full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Education reimbursement, great salary, 401k and matching program, pension plan, travel perks, office and field setting, and strong safety culture.

    Cons

    Lack of vacation time compared to other jobs and limited opportunities if you aren’t willing or are unable to move to different locations.

    Advice to Management

    Please look into increasing vacation time or offer employees an option for more vacation time, such as purchasing more vacation time.

    Marathon Petroleum2019-08-01
  7. "Nice company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marathon Petroleum part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, many career opportunities

    Cons

    Head quarters not diverse

    Advice to Management

    Drivers should be paid more, they're the reason this company's net worth is over a billion dollars.

    Marathon Petroleum2019-08-13
  8. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wastewater Operator in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marathon Petroleum for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay Benefits Ability to climb the ladder

    Cons

    Work/life balance Interview process Rotating shift

    Marathon Petroleum2019-07-20
  9. "Maintenance around the terminal along side the others"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Help in Youngstown, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marathon Petroleum for less than a year

    Pros

    was a great experience, learned alot was treated amazing

    Cons

    no local jobs that go with my degree moving to findly is not an option

    Marathon Petroleum2019-07-17
  10. "Good company, co-op experience great or terrible depending on supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Co-Op 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marathon Petroleum for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, good projects/experience,

    Cons

    Certain departments are managed terribly

    Marathon Petroleum2019-07-12
Found 510 reviews