Marathon Petroleum Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Marathon Petroleum Reviews

Updated 1 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
64%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Marathon Petroleum President and Director Gary R. Heminger
Gary R. Heminger
225 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great pay, 4 days off at a time(in 40 reviews)

  • "Meaningful work, lots of learning/growth opportunities, good culture, good pay(in 33 reviews)

Cons
  • "Having a HQ in Findlay OH is a waste of time and drains value that could be going to shareholders(in 32 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance, benefits could be better(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Applications Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marathon Petroleum

    Pros

    Good Company, package, work environment flexible.

    Cons

    Work with Different Contractors and expect them to be highly qualified and deliver high quality.

    Continue reading
    Marathon Petroleum2015-04-07
  2. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marathon Petroleum full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Professional atmosphere with professional people

    Cons

    You became a number in the big company atmosphere.

    Marathon Petroleum2020-03-24
  3. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marathon Petroleum full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The customer's are friendly and fun to talk too

    Cons

    Sometimes you have upset customer's

    Continue reading
    Marathon Petroleum2020-03-22
  4. "GREAT COMPANY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly in Findlay, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marathon Petroleum full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everything, super helpful from a learning perspective as an intern

    Cons

    N/A, this is the best company to work for

    Marathon Petroleum2020-03-23
  5. "Where I was wasn't great, then came the acquisition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Marathon Petroleum full-time

    Pros

    Oil and Gas industry perks are generally great.

    Cons

    IT department culture was toxic but we were distracted by the major SAP project. Then came the surprise acquisition announcement. Of course did not stay on to find out if it was going to change for the better. The stock price high of over $80 to a low of under $20 speaks volumes.

    Marathon Petroleum2020-03-25
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Accountant in Findlay, OH

    I have been working at Marathon Petroleum full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for.

    Cons

    The city is a little bit boring for a young professional.

    Marathon Petroleum2020-02-26
  7. "Toxic culture in a dying industry stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT/Systems in Findlay, OH
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marathon Petroleum full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1) Good work life balance 2) Decent benefits 3) Pay to COL ratio is good (but that’s for a reason)

    Cons

    1) Rotten management: Inept management that will micromanage you to the bone just to feel like they’re actually doing work 2) Zero diversity: The office and surrounding city has zero diversity and culture. If you like being surrounded by conservative boomers then this is the place for you. 3) Depressing city: I mean what were these people thinking? I wouldn’t wish living in Findlay on my worst enemy. Seriously, the entire city shuts down at 8 PM, has maybe 1 crappy token ethnic restaurant for each cuisine, and is surrounded by miles of cornfields for 50 miles+ in any direction. 4) IT Culture is inept: The fish rots from the head down, the CIO to middle management have no idea of modern technology unless legacy VB.Net and C# is your idea of emerging technology. 5) Poor talent retainment: Every year these fools bring in interns and try and talk up Marathon to them to convince them to come back because no other Fortune 50 company in their right mind would place their HQ in a rural rust belt town like they have so they act like they’re the biggest game in town when in reality they’re the only game in town (and for a reason). The result is they get rarely any interns that return for another internship or full-time, and the only ones that do either have no other options, or they go to school in a conservative rural area themselves.

    Continue reading
    Marathon Petroleum2020-04-02
  8. "Overall great experience and great work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Marathon Petroleum

    Pros

    Pay, support, and work load were all better than expected

    Cons

    Not very helpful when needing to relocate

    Continue reading
    Marathon Petroleum2020-02-24
  9. "Best Driving Job in North Dakota"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fuel Transport Driver 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marathon Petroleum full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay, Bonuses, Benefits , Time off, holiday pay

    Cons

    None. I got nothing bad to say

    Marathon Petroleum2020-02-20
  10. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier 

    I have been working at Marathon Petroleum full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Perfect job no worries live it

    Cons

    I have None/ do you

    Continue reading
    Marathon Petroleum2020-02-17
Found 423 reviews