Marks & Spencer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Marks & Spencer Reviews

Updated 26 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
68%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Marks & Spencer Chief Executive Steve Rowe
Steve Rowe
855 Ratings
Pros
  • "employee benefits including staff discount(in 364 reviews)

  • "Good pay compared to competitors(in 270 reviews)

Cons
  • "I couldn't fault my experience with M&S(in 111 reviews)

  • "long hours during busier periods(in 104 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Customer service representative & billing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Cochin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Multy national company. Good work place. Employee friendly

    Cons

    Nothing in down side. Good customer service. Efficient staffs. That's leading the company.

    Advice to Management

    The management team is very strict and efficient works. They are the leading power to the employees.

    Marks & Spencer2020-01-15
  2. "Sales advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work culture and passionate

    Cons

    Career growth nil nothing to employees growth

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    Marks & Spencer2020-01-22
  3. "M&S"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fashion Assistant in Pune City
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    1)International company 2)Big organisations 3)high standard level 4)employees can learn different things -vm,system knowledge

    Cons

    I don’t know,why people think down sides of marks and spencer

    Advice to Management

    No thanks

    Marks & Spencer2019-11-26
  4. "No growth for honest personalities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Marks & Spencer

    Pros

    Strongly don't recommend to work in Indian outlets

    Cons

    We have to be favourable for Managers

    Advice to Management

    Worst management setup in india

    Marks & Spencer2019-12-24
  5. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer full-time

    Pros

    Working time is flexible and lunch is also given

    Cons

    Pay can be more good

    Marks & Spencer2019-10-30
  6. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Fashion Stylist in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good place to learn the retail world and front head team.

    Cons

    Team building skills and expertise at sales.

    Marks & Spencer2019-10-21
  7. "Hi, I'm a fashion stylist."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fashion Stylist in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Direct contact with the consumer needs.

    Cons

    No Cons all good. Thanks.

    Advice to Management

    Nil

    Marks & Spencer2019-10-04
  8. "Owned bu UK based Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer full-time

    Pros

    Uk Based client Direct customer interactions

    Cons

    The company follows UK shift

    Marks & Spencer2019-09-18
  9. "Visual merchandiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Merchandiser in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I would be proud to work for one of the UK's leading retail brands. I had grown up with M & S and shop there myself. I like working with people, and I am aware that excellent customer service is crucial. I have always worked with the public and have qualifications in customer service. I am a team player and realise how it is so important to share information with your colleagues, especially around product knowledge.

    Show More

    Cons

    Very friendly working environment Fun Place, Good People, Encouraging Staff

    Advice to Management

    Not required any advice or suggestion to explain about the management

    Marks & Spencer2019-08-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "One of the best retail brand to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Section Manager in Thrissur
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    *Best in the industry pay scale. *Structured career development path. *2 Week offs. *Staff friendly HR policies. *Understanding stakeholders.

    Cons

    * Have to do better job in marketing. Especially store specific ones.

    Advice to Management

    The only con I experienced is the companies strict policy in wearing formal shoes in work place. Most of the employees I know, suffers from foot pain after a busy day's work. If the company can, somehow provide some soft soled shoes or allow staffs to wear black sports shoes, the selling would have been more fun.

    Marks & Spencer2019-08-23
Found 2748 reviews