Marks & Spencer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Marks & Spencer Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2528 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Marks & Spencer CEO Steve Rowe
Steve Rowe
781 Ratings
Pros
  • "employee benefits including staff discount(in 346 reviews)

  • "Lovely people to work with and good pay(in 236 reviews)

Cons
  • "I couldn't fault my experience with M&S(in 106 reviews)

  • "long hours as any jobs working in retail(in 92 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Hi, I'm a fashion stylist."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fashion Stylist in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Direct contact with the consumer needs.

    Cons

    No Cons all good. Thanks.

    Advice to Management

    Nil

    Marks & Spencer2019-10-04
  2. "Owned bu UK based Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer full-time

    Pros

    Uk Based client Direct customer interactions

    Cons

    The company follows UK shift

    Marks & Spencer2019-09-18
  3. "Visual merchandiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Merchandiser in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I would be proud to work for one of the UK's leading retail brands. I had grown up with M & S and shop there myself. I like working with people, and I am aware that excellent customer service is crucial. I have always worked with the public and have qualifications in customer service. I am a team player and realise how it is so important to share information with your colleagues, especially around product... knowledge.

    Show More

    Cons

    Very friendly working environment Fun Place, Good People, Encouraging Staff

    Advice to Management

    Not required any advice or suggestion to explain about the management

    Marks & Spencer2019-08-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "One of the best retail brand to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Section Manager in Thrissur
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    *Best in the industry pay scale. *Structured career development path. *2 Week offs. *Staff friendly HR policies. *Understanding stakeholders.

    Cons

    * Have to do better job in marketing. Especially store specific ones.

    Advice to Management

    The only con I experienced is the companies strict policy in wearing formal shoes in work place. Most of the employees I know, suffers from foot pain after a busy day's work. If the company can, somehow provide some soft soled shoes or allow staffs to wear black sports shoes, the selling would have been more fun.

    Marks & Spencer2019-08-23
  5. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Merchandiser in Gurgaon, Haryana

    I worked at Marks & Spencer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work environment and culture is good.

    Cons

    Less salary, no bonus being given. very poor increments.

    Marks & Spencer2019-08-12
  6. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer full-time

    Pros

    The Best Place to work

    Cons

    everything is ok in marks & spencer

    Marks & Spencer2019-07-31
  7. "It's been good till now."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coach in Indore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer full-time

    Pros

    You get to meet new people, learn about the market, competitors, product and fashion.

    Cons

    Management at small store still works like they're working in a small shop and they're the owner. They seem to forget that this is a UK brand n there is a certain way they operate.

    Advice to Management

    Try to talk to CSA get to know them. Cause your lower management is always gonna lie to you.

    Marks & Spencer2019-08-02
  8. "CA Articleship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chartered Accountant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The experience obtained during the training period is gonna reap fruits.

    Cons

    I found difficulties with the un-necessary and impractical rules imposed by the management which depleted the quality of work.

    Advice to Management

    Key to successful enterprise is art of employee retention.

    Marks & Spencer2019-02-22
  9. "marks and spencer VM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Marks & Spencer full-time

    Pros

    Good environment, Friendly people, lots of creativity

    Cons

    stretched hours, not so open to speak and share the ideas with top management.

    Advice to Management

    To be more clear with the implementation part on junior level.

    Marks & Spencer2019-01-30
  10. "Working in Reliance industries jamnagar"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Marks & Spencer

    Pros

    When RIL came for campus recruitment, like any other student, I was totally bowled over by their profile. Top Indian private firm in Fortune 500, gigantic refinery - largest in the world, world class tech, facilities and "brilliant" minds from all over the world. Who won't be attracted to this, right? This won't be bad for my career, huh? And the common notion that the Reliance Greens township is on a parallel track... with some of the best townships in the world, was an added bonus. After some time here, now I feel it's time for a reality check.

    Show More

    Cons

    After this period of time in this "esteemed" company, the general perception that evolves is however you start off, enthusiastic or not, the frustration creeps in and finally transcends the enthusiasm. P.S. And do not expect any help whatsoever from the HR, as they are as useless as subtitles in a porno. P.P.S - The author is rumored to be the second cousin of G.R.R.Martin!

    Marks & Spencer2018-11-26
Found 2528 reviews