Marks & Spencer Employee Reviews about "m amp s"

Updated Jan 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 225 of over 5,447 reviews

3.9
73%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Marks & Spencer Chief Executive Steve Rowe
Steve Rowe
1,659 Ratings
Pros
  • "you can buy food with staff discount(in 441 reviews)

  • "Good pay, Friendly team members(in 440 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No cons sometimes theirs long hours but it’s made worth your while(in 147 reviews)

  • "m amp s(in 122 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "m amp s"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      na

      Dec 26, 2020 - Store Manager in Bangalore Rural
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      there is nothing that i want to mention

      Cons

      Everything. Love the M&S culture

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Visual merchandiser

      Aug 28, 2019 - Visual Merchandiser in Bangalore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I would be proud to work for one of the UK's leading retail brands. I had grown up with M & S and shop there myself. I like working with people, and I am aware that excellent customer service is crucial. I have always worked with the public and have qualifications in customer service. I am a team player and realise how it is so important to share information with your colleagues, especially around product knowledge.

      Cons

      Very friendly working environment Fun Place, Good People, Encouraging Staff

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Contractor, more than 1 year

      Amazing Workplace

      Mar 2, 2019 - Section Manager in Mumbai
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Diverse workforce A good combination of experienced and new employees Growth opportunities Market reputation

      Cons

      I would not call it a downside but M&S is a highly process oriented organisation. After working there, if you plan to move to some other company and if the new company is not as process oriented as M&S, you might feel a little uneasy. I have heard this from a few ex-colleagues.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      learning experience

      Sep 10, 2012 - Sales Assistant in New Delhi
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      i love m&s culture and value every day i learn something new & i love our M&S DSE team

      Cons

      Don't like customers fake complain and specially when we are paying for nothing..

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Oragnization Review

      Jan 30, 2014 - Marketing in Gurgaon, Haryana, Haryana
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1. Its a growing company with lots of potential for more growth in the coming years 2. Open and very vibrant culture. The average age of employees is between 25 - 30 years

      Cons

      1. Organisation is a huge element of M&S UK and has a lot of control 2. sometimes, creative aspects die due to lots of perimeters and boundaries to do things. So, either adapt yourself to the M&S way or move out.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great people, Bad systems

      Sep 16, 2014 - Buyer in Gurgaon, Haryana, Haryana
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, friendly culture, good name to work with. I have enjoyed my time their due to the people in M&S. You also get travel opportunities to London for Buying.

      Cons

      Disorganized, Last minute deadlines, Work schedules can go crazy, Less salary than Market. Vertical Growth is a concern

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good atmosphere but too much pressure with little training

      Jan 12, 2021 - Sales Assistant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good base pay in my opinion

      Cons

      As a temp, I was expected to encourage customers to sign up to the M&S Bank. I had a 10 minute talk with the bank about their products if that. They did not provide with enough training to be able to meet their expectations.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Decent salary but awful management ruins the workplace

      Aug 17, 2020 - Customer Assistant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      20% staff discount Salary is good for retail sector

      Cons

      - Always short staffed - Frequently underpaid, had to keep track of my extra hours every month and chase up missing hours they never processed - No training provided when you start - Progression is unlikely - Commercial managers come straight out of uni with no practical experience of how things work and poor people skills - Managers aren't consistent with discipline; people who slack are often let off the hook while harder workers who are expected to do everything are given all the responsibility if there are any issues If you want a monotonous role you don't care about where you just do your job and go home then m&s is suitable, but if you care at all about how your workplace is run you'll quickly become frustrated with the lack of common sense and impractical systems implemented here.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      I love this place!

      Dec 28, 2020 - Customer Assistant in Canvey Island, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      20% Discount on M&S Branded Food and Clothes, Great Friendly Staff, Brilliant Training, 28 Days Paid Holiday, Free Stuff at the Bakery when you’re working there until closing time, Paid Overtime.

      Cons

      No paid breaks, but that’s OK!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Contractor

      Great

      Dec 20, 2020 - Customer Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I work in the M&S foodhall. Friendly colleagues with a good sense of teamwork. I enjoy a varied working day and interact with nice customers

      Cons

      No complaints so far! You really hit the ground running so it’s a great place for those who enjoy learning on the job and pick things up quickly

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 225 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Marks & Spencer Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Marks & Spencer? Share Your Experiences

    Marks & Spencer logo
    or