McCarthy Building Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

McCarthy Building Reviews

Updated 9 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
90%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
McCarthy Building Chairman and CEO Mike Bolen
Mike Bolen
136 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Construction & Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pipe Fitter in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McCarthy Building full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Team Work and Safety (Task Hazard Analysis) are unmatched. Great 401k w/ good benefits.

    Cons

    I have no cons to put down.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work with safety.

    McCarthy Building2018-07-07
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Project Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McCarthy Building full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Room to grow if you make it known to your managers/directors.

    Cons

    Tend to promote people who aren't ready. Poor work life balance (nature of construction I guess).

    McCarthy Building2018-07-06
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Project Superintendent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Superintendent in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McCarthy Building full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great company. Cares about employees. Challenging projects. Company stock is awesome.

    Cons

    High stress and long hours, typical for heavy commercial construction companies.

    McCarthy Building2018-06-20
  4. "Project Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at McCarthy Building full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with.

    Cons

    Long hours can be draining

    McCarthy Building2018-07-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company with Excellent Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Superintendent in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McCarthy Building full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    ESOP, people, Leadership, Project portfolio

    Cons

    Very demanding projects, work/life balance

    McCarthy Building2018-06-23
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Absolutely Incredible Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McCarthy Building full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Absolutely Incredible Company! Everyone all the way up to the top executives seem in a way to be a carpenter at heart for their love of building and one of the best ESOP programs available.

    Cons

    For me the geographical locations were limited in that they are not working in too many larger cities and each job can be located very far from the last.

    McCarthy Building2018-05-29
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Overall a great company but must work long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Superintendent 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McCarthy Building full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Large company but feels like a small one due to everyone being aligned and all owners.

    Cons

    Depending on the project you are on, the work hours can be up to 80/wk.

    McCarthy Building2018-06-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant Project Superintendent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Superintendent in Newport Beach, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McCarthy Building full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee Ownership (ESOP) provides great long term/retirement rewards

    Cons

    Long hours and ridiculous expectations from their people can quickly burn you out.

    Advice to Management

    Reconnect with people

    McCarthy Building2018-05-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant Superintendent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at McCarthy Building full-time

    Pros

    Very good team culture and team bonding on projects. The bonding is inspired by the project managers / directors. Project engineers have a good learning experience from senior engineers and project managers.

    Cons

    Sometimes looking at competitors can be beneficial to learn from but from my experience the company can be too ignorant to look at outside strategies. Workloads can be unevenly distributed to those who are willing to work hard. Some sneak by without putting in much work.

    McCarthy Building2018-04-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McCarthy Building full-time

    Pros

    Great Benefits Great People Growth Opportunities

    Cons

    Long hours Travel Long Days

    McCarthy Building2018-03-21
Found 201 reviews