McKinsey & Company "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

McKinsey & Company Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 8 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
91%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
McKinsey & Company Chairman Kevin Sneader
Kevin Sneader
590 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working with incredibly smart people who are always pushing you to get to a better answer(in 219 reviews)

  • "Interesting and challenging work, great people(in 218 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "EM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time

    Pros

    Unparalleled exposure to executive decision making, strategic thinking and problem solving for leading global companies

    Cons

    work life balance and extensive travel can be a challenge

    McKinsey & Company2019-12-04
  2. "BPS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chennai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good environment Good culture Good pay

    Cons

    No growth Stagnant management No work life balance

    McKinsey & Company2020-01-08
  3. "No Learning Opportunities and"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Analyst in Bangalore
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to work on multiple projects.

    Cons

    No work-life balance. People interfere in personal life a lot. They complain if you don't respond even on weekends. Learning is very very limited to what your PD (Personal Development / HR) wants you to do. A non-techincial person (PD / HR) decides what I should learn and whatnot.

    Advice to Management

    Please let the employee decide what they want to learn.

    McKinsey & Company2019-12-23
  4. "It's a good place for freshers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Virtual Assistant in Chennai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, great environment, good and equipped pantry.

    Cons

    Hierarchy issues. Growth rate at its worst. Work pressure. Don't think about work life balance. I'm not exaggerating, it's true.

    Advice to Management

    Try to be genuine with your employees

    McKinsey & Company2019-11-28
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Associate in Mumbai

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smartest set of people you will ever work with. There is so much to learn from every single person at McKinsey. Within one year I feel like I have learnt a lot. Great culture where you can reach out to anyone for help.

    Cons

    Work life balance can be tricky since this involves a lot of travel. Might take a toll on your health if you do not put extra efforts.

    McKinsey & Company2019-11-11
  6. "Junior Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Associate in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Non hierarchical, great people, interesting work, high pay, stay at luxurious hotels

    Cons

    Work life balance is challenging, high stress, high pressure, constant travel

    Advice to Management

    4-days a week at client location and cap maximum working hours per day as much as possible

    McKinsey & Company2019-11-05
  7. "Good learning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Business Analyst 

    I worked at McKinsey & Company full-time

    Pros

    Independence & exposure to top managment and business problems

    Cons

    Poor work life balance, no execution

    McKinsey & Company2019-11-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good firm if you want to travel the world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Travel to different parts of the world, Compensation, Exposure,Management, Medical benefits,Bonus

    Cons

    Location in GGN Work-Life balance Some teams have no work No scope to expand horizontally, only vertical growth

    McKinsey & Company2019-10-21
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good platform to kick start career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in New Delhi
    Recommends

    I worked at McKinsey & Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Global exposure and best opportunity to work with best minds in the industry. Believes in having an entrepreneur mindset and open-door policy

    Cons

    Work life balance and hectic travel

    Advice to Management

    None as above cons are part of the industry

    McKinsey & Company2019-10-04
  10. "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at McKinsey & Company full-time

    Pros

    Good learning, smart set of people

    Cons

    Hectic work hours, little work-life balance

    McKinsey & Company2019-09-24
Found 687 reviews