MemSQL Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

MemSQL Reviews

Updated 27 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
81%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
MemSQL Co-CEO  Nikita Shamgunov and Raj Verma (no image)
Nikita Shamgunov and Raj Verma
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "The perks are top-notch including lunch and dinner 5x a week (game changer)(in 13 reviews)

  • "Benefits and perks: 401k, catered lunch/dinner, wellness benefits, PTO(in 9 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Incredible product and amazing team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MemSQL full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The best and brightest individuals fill the engineering and business department. The product is a grade A disruptor in the database market

    Cons

    Typical growing pains of an ever-changing start-up. Not enough promotional structure, but the company is growing

    Continue reading
    MemSQL2020-01-28
  2. Helpful (2)

    "New management will have a rocky road"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in New York, NY

    I worked at MemSQL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic technology, solid position, new management with renewed focus on sales side

    Cons

    Extremely difficult to migrate away from legacy database technology which will be a serious hindrance to the growth of the company

    Continue reading
    MemSQL2019-11-25
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Extremely toxic, toxic...messy product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MemSQL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hires fresh undergrads from top universities. Free lunch, dinner The HR and marketing team invest a lot of time to publicize the company, and make sure negative comments are blacked out from everywhere (within the company, outside, social media, interne, etc.)

    Cons

    Messy, junk products... trying to market the product using numerous buzz words, creating an elite-club tag (linked to fresh hires from "MIT Stanford CMU") The whole environment is super toxic Stay away if you don't have the elite tags Brain-washing the junior graduates using mouthful words--in reality, the technology is naive

    MemSQL2019-11-14
  4. Helpful (20)

    "In general, moving towards the right direction, with caveats"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MemSQL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Never ending deep technical problems to solve -- if you're an engineer and product manager, this will be your playground 2. Increased awareness towards marketing and branding, and aligning the entire company towards a cohesive brand and message. Marketing is doing a great job in ensuring this messaging is propagated towards the entire company. There's also exciting news towards the brand that I won't say here. 3. Accelerating sales growth, and with managed service coming, the future is looking very bright for MemSQL 4. The new hires being added to the company are all great people. Not only are they smart, but they're just great people in general. This is a great direction to see. Keep screening for people skills alongside technical skills -- say no to "brilliant jerks" 5. New office in Seattle is beautiful 6. Most people are very bright, smart, and helpful 7. Every team here are brilliant -- whether it's support, product, recruiting, people ops, engineering, design, etc. 8. The pay is top notch, especially in engineering, which consistently beats out even top startups/Big4. 9. SF office is in a great location, close to the CalTrain station 10. Career opportunities are strong, although different departments have their own ladders 11. You're never discouraged to build new things, improve/start a new process, etc. If you're a go-getter and self-starter, you'll thrive here. 12. Free lunch and dinner is incredible. Endless snacks/drinks. But salad mondays + taco tuesdays every week leaves a little to be desired. But since it's free food, there's little to complain here. 13. Transparent management -- no questions are left unanswered, especially during all-hands. However, the removal of anonymous questions has made it harder to ask real questions. 14. Marketing/selling a deeply technical product like databases is not exactly as exciting as marketing or selling other products. However, if this is your thing, then it can be very fulfilling.

    Cons

    1. Aggressive CMO. There's been a level of attrition within the marketing team, there may be a correlation here. 2. There's a small minority of employees that have a toxic attitude, or are what they call "brilliant jerks". I won't name names, but if you work here, you'd likely know who they are -- most of them are more veteran engineering employees. While no doubt they have very high IQ and are brilliant in their technical skills, don't contribute a very welcoming/empathetic/humble/productive attitude, whether it's towards customers, employees, new ideas, competitors, other companies/products, etc. This type of behavior only spreads their toxic attitude to other employees, especially since they occupy the higher level positions. If a higher level engineering manager/exec mocks a customer, what impression does this give off to lower level employees? This tells them unhelpful behavior is not only ok, but encouraged, because people with power does it. What I've learned working for many companies in the past is that culture comes from up top. The people on top set the tone and culture, and the vocal minority of toxicity sets a very bad tone for the culture -- this is my least favorite thing about working here. 3. Office in San Francisco is becoming very cramped. And it's loud. Very loud. The open style office only makes this issue worst. Whether it's from construction outside, or from activity inside, the office is loud all the time, a common complaint among employees. There is never a quiet spot to do focused work, because meeting rooms are occupied all the time. Also, there's a lot of shady/weird people around especially near night time. 4. New values are uninspiring and boring. They don't fully capture what working at MemSQL really is like 5. Burn out is a real issue at MemSQL -- and management doesn't acknowledge it or talk about it. We're solving some very real + tough problems, and there is always something to do. Everyone is expected to put in their 120% each day, do more, take on more - but if this persists for long periods of time, there's only negative consequences to doing so. And while we have unlimited PTO, it's not really "encouraged" to be used simply because there's so much to do. Work life balance really needs to be something more encouraged at the company, or hire more people. But unfortunately, this is the nature of a fast-growing startup. 6. Not really a con, but the intensity of MemSQL isn't for the faint of heart. You'll really be pushed by working here. It's not a joke. 7. The radical candor / open + honesty culture here often times can mean empathy is sometimes lost. While the "no BS" type communication can be great sometimes, but there can be a greater level of empathy in communication between people at this company. Not exactly a con, but an observation. 8. Lack of dog fooding of the product. If you don't use your own product, how do you know customer's true pain? 9. Because of the intensity of MemSQL, there's a bit of a "you're alone" attitude here. People are often too busy to help each other out, so you're often left on your own to figure things out or deal with issues. 10. Heads down attitude, not the most engaging/playful/fun workplace out there. Although People Ops have been doing a lot more in making this more fun. Intern events are a blast. 11. No more anonymous questions during all-hands. This really hurts people from asking the real hard-hitting questions. Level of questions engagement during all-hands has gone down as a result. Also, if you compare the type of questions asked when anonymous was a thing vs. lack of anonymous, the differences are huge.

    Continue reading
    MemSQL2019-06-29
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Workplace, Great Product, Growing Operationally"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MemSQL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smartest Engineers I've ever worked with Product is amazing People are great

    Cons

    Lacking some key operational leadership (but we're fixing this). The sales model is outdated. We've built the technology, we now need an operational strategy that isn't 30 years old.

    Continue reading
    MemSQL2019-06-28
  6. "Solid values and an engineering culture make for a great working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MemSQL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    everyone is empowered to create tools for internal and external consumption. lots of interesting problems to solve, everywhere in the stack from front-end down to hardware. super-engaged customers chomping at the bit to help us build the next great feature. very helpful company culture, every request gets honest attention and consideration. lots of internal opportunities for growth.

    Cons

    longer feature backlog than we can build in a year! come help us

    Continue reading
    MemSQL2019-06-27
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Design Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MemSQL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun work environment where people respect you and the work you do. Everyone is striving to do their best work.

    Cons

    Very technical product in a very competitive space.

    MemSQL2019-06-27
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic place to work as an engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MemSQL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Challenging work, solving super hard problems and fantastic collegues. Very cool product

    Cons

    Relatively small team. We could use more engineering power

    Continue reading
    MemSQL2019-06-14

    MemSQL Response

    June 17, 2019

    Hello and thank you for your kind review! We're so glad to hear you're enjoying the fun challenging work here at MemSQL! We understand that our engineering team, while incredibly talented, could use more power, and we're are working in the Talent Team to hire. Thanks again for your feedback!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MemSQL full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employee engagement; everybody is helping everybody, from the CEO down! Lots of perks; my favorite is catered lunch and dinner in SF office.

    Cons

    Can't think of any that won't improve and mature by time; it's a startup after all.

    MemSQL2019-05-23

    MemSQL Response

    June 5, 2019

    Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear your positive feedback about our company's benefits, its perks, and its amazing people!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great product running some of the worlds most demanding workloads"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MemSQL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great engineering team solving interesting problems. The product is heavily used by some amazing customers, so you get exposure to some of the worlds hardest data challenges (Goldman sachs, Citi, Uber, Pandora, Disney, PWC, etc.)

    Cons

    The pace and pressure to always deliver is much higher then a larger company.

    MemSQL2018-12-22

    MemSQL Response

    June 11, 2019

    Thank you for writing your review! We're glad to hear you're enjoying life at MemSQL and working with our amazing customers. Thank you for your feedback!

    Continue reading
Found 57 reviews