Memorial Sloan Kettering Reviews

Updated 4 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Memorial Sloan Kettering President & CEO Craig B. Thompson
Craig B. Thompson
636 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "While the organization promotes work-life balance, the departments themselves do not(in 42 reviews)

  • "The great departments are management heavy, so you have to leave if you want to advance in MSK(in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Working at MSK"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in New York, NY

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance @ MSKCC

    Cons

    People stay on role for years , so growth is difficult

    Memorial Sloan Kettering2020-05-27
  2. "Great Work Experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Coordinator in New York, NY

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, good experience, flexible

    Cons

    Long hours, early hours, pending

    Memorial Sloan Kettering2020-05-23
  3. Helpful (1)

    "great research environment"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Scholar 

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time

    Pros

    excellent researchers with enormous devotion

    Cons

    cannot think of any cons

    Memorial Sloan Kettering2020-05-18
  4. "Geat Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Coordinator in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Training, mentorship, pay, benefits, patients

    Cons

    management has ability to block you from pursing other positions if it doesn't benefit them at the time, be prepared to work long hours and juggle work from multiple clinics

    Continue reading
    Memorial Sloan Kettering2020-05-22
  5. Helpful (2)

    "A place with passionate fantastic people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Vice President in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Your colleagues will be wonderful and the mission compelling. Lots of resources. A new physician-in-chief who is an amazing leader.

    Cons

    This is a time of change. Several new leaders and it isn't clear if they will be able to work together coherently. There is conflict about how money drives or doesn't drive the place. This is normal in academic medicine.

    Continue reading
    Memorial Sloan Kettering2020-05-14
  6. "n/a"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Office Coordinator in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone in the organization is invested in the overall mission.

    Cons

    The management was very disorganized and the turnover rate in many administrative positions is very high.

    Memorial Sloan Kettering2020-05-18
  7. ":D"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Help Desk Analyst in New York, NY

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Challenging - Work keeps me on my feet - Learning new technology everyday

    Cons

    Not that I know of

    Memorial Sloan Kettering2020-05-15
  8. "Care Coordinator"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Coordinator in New York, NY

    I worked at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time

    Pros

    Meaningful work, benefits, job hours

    Cons

    low pay, hard to move up, location of hospital

    Memorial Sloan Kettering2020-05-13
  9. "Mission Oriented Organization"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic benefits, time off, insurance, etc

    Cons

    Arrogant culture, Research (not patient) focus

    Memorial Sloan Kettering2020-05-13
  10. "A nice overall cancer institute"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Computational Biologist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Memorial Sloan Kettering full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Colleagues are friendly. Have a huge amount of data that are beneficial for research.

    Cons

    The main campus is a maze. Easy to get lost there.

    Memorial Sloan Kettering2020-05-12
Found 1397 reviews