Merck Project Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Merck Project Manager Reviews

Updated Nov 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
89%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Merck CEO Kenneth C. Frazier
Kenneth C. Frazier
22 Ratings
  1. "Great teams!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Global Project Manager in Rahway, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merck full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Love the integrated teams in MRL. People care about their studies and patients. Remote work opportunities, good benefits and pay

    Cons

    Some Middle Management can be territorial and more intent on developing themselves. Everything is a fire to put out. Process to review and discuss projects is way way over the top. Too cumbersome governance structure. Duplication of program reporting.

    Continue reading
    Merck2019-11-08
  2. Helpful (1)

    "I would never buy or trust this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager 

    I have been working at Merck full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    do very little for your salary. if you work remote, you work 1-2 hours a day tops

    Cons

    they must make a ton of money because they hand it out to people by the boatload who do very little. remote workers are usually out shopping all day or living the life. if you put in 1-2 hours a day nobody asks questions. all these jobs can be condensed into one job for the most part.

    Continue reading
    Merck2019-11-09
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Senior Project Manager in Branchburg, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merck for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work hours, positive work environment, opportunities to learn new skills.

    Cons

    Not a lot of growth options once you reach mid management level.

    Merck2019-09-11
  4. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Kenilworth, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merck full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment, flexibility, people are smart and always willing to help. Everyone is highly educated and down to earth

    Cons

    None- some company politics but usual

    Continue reading
    Merck2019-02-23
  5. "Sr. Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Branchburg, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Merck full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Independence,Morale was great,

    Cons

    Competitive, Work Alot , Old Systems,

    Continue reading
    Merck2018-04-09
  6. "Senior Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Senior Project Manager in Rahway, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Merck for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My experience with management has been very positive.

    Cons

    Many permanent positions are being created outside of New Jersey.

    Continue reading
    Merck2018-02-23
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Workplace Harrassement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Senior Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Merck for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I worked at Merck as a contractor for 5 years. Working remotely.

    Cons

    Mid Level managers take bullying to a whole new level. It tends to happen right after employee review time when their performance in in question. They then berate the contractors who work with them. Most of the contractors are “work visa” status so they not have to tolerate it but pretend it doesn’t happen. That was not my case. I was rated as a top performer and my contract was consistently renewed. I received documented positive feedback and achievement awards. That ended one day when my manager pulled me in for a two hour bullying session that started with …. “Is there something wrong with you……..

    Continue reading
    Merck2018-01-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Total Disaster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Contractor - IT Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Merck

    Pros

    Rate was high and that was about it.

    Cons

    No project plans... no assigned resources... no clue. LARGE warehouse of H1Bs in NJ. Absolutely terrible.

    Continue reading
    Merck2017-12-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "SAP Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Whitehouse Station, NJ
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Merck full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Solid and stable company. Strong believes on inclusive behaviors.

    Cons

    Stay away from the corporate offices. I started my career at a manufacturing Merck site and had a more rewarding career. Very bureaucratic environment. Very unstable work environment, constant lay-offs and constant business re-structuring. I am now working for a more stable company.

    Continue reading
    Merck2017-10-31
  10. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Merck for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to work Good work life balance People are amazing and the management is simply brilliant Projects are good for career progression

    Cons

    Salary is slightly below market rates Pension plan is slightly below other matches

    Continue reading
    Merck2017-06-05
Found 57 reviews