Method Studios Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Method Studios Reviews

Updated Jun 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 75 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
30%
Approve of CEO
Ed Ulbrich
15 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Decent studio"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Vfx Artist in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Method Studios for more than a year

    Pros

    - Smaller projects are easy going, great teams - Cool shows - Studio drinks every other Friday - Good pay - generally flexible OT

    Cons

    - Your experience will greatly depend on the project you are on/ the supervisors you work with - No paid sick days - Team sizes sometimes too small for work load

    Method Studios2017-02-07
  2. Helpful (11)

    "Bad management & politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Method Studios full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - People are really nice and talented. - Projects are cool and fun to work on.

    Cons

    Studios just don't put their employee at the first place. Promotion/pay related issues and any processes which needs to go through HR is super slow, and they kick the responsibilities around. It's really frustrated dealing with them.

    Method Studios2016-11-05
  3. Helpful (10)

    "cg artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CG Artist in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Method Studios full-time

    Pros

    nice people ( in artist room, production ) Free snacks. Talented artists with great potential.

    Cons

    Bad management Lack of interesting work. Worst political management culture I have experienced in my career

    Method Studios2016-10-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Modeler"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Method Studios

    Pros

    Good artists and management, good projects

    Cons

    Not many hero assets and shots

    Advice to Management

    Good job, keep up the good work in caring for your employees. Distribute the work according to experience.

    Method Studios2016-10-04
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Modeller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Method Studios

    Pros

    Great titles, nice people to work with

    Cons

    Unexciting and repetitive tasks; pipeline needs an overhaul; Shared machines for Zbrush and PS

    Advice to Management

    Give Zbrush to all modellers

    Method Studios2016-09-16
  6. Helpful (24)

    "It's A Wonder They Can Still Find New Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Method Studios

    Pros

    There are some decent artists but I'm only writing that because when I wrote "none" it told me that wasn't long enough.

    Cons

    No respect for work/life balance - you'll live in constant fear of the late nights and weekend work. Everything is about how they can make even the worst clients happy so the artists and staff suffer endlessly. If you complain it will be seen as an annoyance and they'd rather replace you than fix what is wrong. Make no mistake - they may seem like a small-ish studio, but they operate like the worst of giant faceless corporations....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Just... stop. Maybe retire. Just get out of this industry before you make it even worse.

    Method Studios2016-08-30
  7. Helpful (14)

    "Ok, not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Method Studios full-time

    Pros

    Nice building, friendly co-workers, lots of cool projects coming in and out.

    Cons

    Crushing weight of management. Lots of "talkers" and few "doers". People is supervisory roles that don't understand what the artists are actually doing. TPS reports - might as well implement those. No parking.

    Advice to Management

    Be more involved on ground floor with day-to-day. Let us know what the plans moving forward are - is there a plan or are we just winging it?

    Method Studios2016-06-09
  8. Helpful (12)

    "Worst political management culture I have experienced in my career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Method Studios full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great offices and locations. Reasonably high profile work, especially on the advertising side.

    Cons

    Horrible management and artistic supervision on the feature film side. In-fighting, unscrupulous, dishonest.

    Advice to Management

    You should really consider being human beings in the future as you will have a hard time finding employment outside of this bubble.

    Method Studios2016-06-23
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Method Studios

    Pros

    Nice work environment People's attitude.

    Cons

    So far nothing.

    Method Studios2016-05-18
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Talented team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Method Studios full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Talented team, close knit artists, low egos

    Cons

    Lack of interesting work while there

    Method Studios2016-04-26
Found 75 reviews