Microsoft Reviews in United States | Glassdoor.co.in

Microsoft US Reviews

Updated 20 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
88%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Microsoft CEO Satya Nadella
Satya Nadella
3,993 Ratings
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Manager in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great leadership and projects to work on. The company really value your growth.

    Cons

    Lots of processes for many things

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2020-02-20
  2. Helpful (1615)

    "Thoughts after 10 years...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redmond, WA

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    1. If you love tech, this is a great place. No doubt you'll talk tech (mostly the MSFT stack) from enterprise to consumer - from PCs to phones to Xboxes - from datacenter to desktop. 2. What were GREAT benefits are now VERY GOOD (took a small step down) but still probably better than you'll find at 99% of large corporations. If you've got family - the value of the benefits is even higher. 401k match is nice. 3. Even with it's struggles MSFT is still a cash printing machine. This means if you can keep your nose clean and do reasonable work, you can have a stable job, pay your bills, feed your family, and not worry (too much) about layoffs. The stock you own likely won't tank, but probably won't go up much either. You'll get a bonus each year and some stock. It's a decent life if you aren't looking to light the world on fire.

    Cons

    Brand on Your Resume: After many years of losing market share and struggling to be at the front end of innovation and the fact that there's 90,000 employees, don't think MSFT is necessarily going to be attractive on your resume to more agile and smaller companies. Managing Your Career: Make you say this out loud so it registers - 90,000 employees work there. Double that for vendors. It is VERY hard to "stand out" and move up in the company. Don't expect your manager to be much of an advocate or enabler to help you meet your career goals - they are basically trying to survive the stack rank every year too. Not familiar with the stack rank? Check out the 2012 Vanity Fair article called "Microsoft's Lost Decade".

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2013-01-29
  3. "10+ years at MSFT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Account Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very inclusive culture and extremely talented minds all around you. Everyone loves to help peers and the culture is extremely casual

    Cons

    Sometimes long hours or travel

    Microsoft2020-02-18
  4. "Awesome company/team for passionate researchers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - User Experience Researcher in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I'm not sure how jazzed I would be working on other teams at MS, but the team I'm on is basically my dream job. I'm about a year in and I'm thoroughly enjoying the creative, supportive atmosphere and ample opportunities to network and gain research experience.

    Cons

    Given the specific work I do, I have been told that we tend to get paid less than similar roles at other companies. I have they to verify this for myself.

    Microsoft2020-02-18
  5. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance and flexible hours. Good pay and stock has been doing very well.

    Cons

    Legacy engineering systems which evolve too slowly

    Microsoft2020-02-14
  6. "Unlimited amount of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Engineer in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Huge organization, so you are never asked to do something outside of your job scope

    Cons

    My team is very undermanned and has high turnover. No end in sight due to hiring being slow.

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2020-02-12
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Mentoring help, Great benefits, location

    Cons

    Hierarchical ,Top down, review system sucks

    Microsoft2020-02-13
  8. "Great place to work if in Azure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance Good management and culture

    Cons

    - Below average pay - Infrequent promotions

    Microsoft2020-02-21
  9. "Not a Job! Microsoft is my Home!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Technology Strategist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Microsoft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Since College, my dream was to Join MICROSOFT, has been a long journey, 10 Years working with top Finance Corporations Globally, today I can say, "Microsoft, I'm Home!" Thank you all for the fantastic opportunity and privilege to be part of such amazing company that leads Global Tech-Transformation. #PalabraDeAmor #Microsoft #KeepDreaming #Feb2020

    Cons

    No Cons! Microsoft has a fantastic Work/Life balance and great leadership

    Continue reading
    Microsoft2020-02-05
  10. "A decent place to work, but not without issue."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Escalation Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Microsoft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Broad range businesses, lots of internal mobility opportunities. Culture trending in a positive direction (at least when I left). Lots of smart people. Pay + benefits generally competitive for the area, but not always up to par with the FAANG,

    Cons

    Artificial separation and politics between business units that makes it harder to get things done. At least in my org, some very short-sighted decisions that didn't make much sense.

    Microsoft2020-02-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9328 reviews