Mitchells & Butlers Bar Staff Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Mitchells & Butlers Bar Staff Reviews

Updated Jul 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 reviews

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
14%
Recommend to a Friend
15%
Approve of CEO
Phil Urban
10 Ratings
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in Birmingham, England

    I worked at Mitchells & Butlers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Large company and good with sick pay

    Cons

    Minimum wage but treated fairly

    Mitchells & Butlers2019-07-30
  2. "Standard Bar Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mitchells & Butlers part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good management, although slow at times

    Cons

    Long hours, relatively boring work

    Advice to Management

    None - bar job typical really

    Mitchells & Butlers2019-04-26
  3. "Not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff 

    I worked at Mitchells & Butlers part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can be some friendly team members, bearable for a couple of months as a summer job

    Cons

    Minimum wage salary and very unprofessional management

    Mitchells & Butlers2019-05-08
  4. "Standard Pub Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in Oxford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mitchells & Butlers for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay Flexible with shifts Nice coworkers Decent wage Can come and go

    Cons

    Bad management - doesn't help out much and made me a bit uncomfortable

    Advice to Management

    don't lean too much on delegation over pitching in

    Mitchells & Butlers2019-01-29
  5. "Bar staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bar Staff in Bath, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mitchells & Butlers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team Great GM When everything went well it was a fun job

    Cons

    Awful pay Nauseating guests Unorganised Lack of benefits Long hours (expected though) Understaffed and understocked

    Advice to Management

    Stock needs to be correctly assessed every week and wastage needs to be taken into account as it puts pressure on stocks and the staff. There are also very few benefits of working there compared to other bars or pubs. No discount on drinks and minimal discount on food for example. But despite the pressures from head office the GM and other black shirts were amazing - one of the best GMs I've worked for.

    Mitchells & Butlers2018-09-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Bad senior management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Bar Staff in Birmingham, England

    I have been working at Mitchells & Butlers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly and hard-working co-staff, good customers.

    Cons

    Terrible decisions made at HQ, (Fleet St.Birmingham.) They cannot understand why some pubs will always be " wet-led ". There are one or two staff trying to cover two rooms of people drinking and a chef standing around all shift as no-one wants to eat there!

    Advice to Management

    Look at clientele..look where the money is being spent...you will never ever change some pubs...so sell up if this upsets you!

    Mitchells & Butlers2018-03-01
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Awful company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Waitress/Bar Staff 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Mitchells & Butlers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some genuine people - but they often leave quickly. Hilariously repetitive attempts to respond to these reviews.

    Cons

    Constantly illegal shifts: try 9am-4pm/5pm -close. Then start all over the next day. This happens under multiple managers who when confronted deny it point blank - as if we don't know when we work? Customers complain at the lack of staff at busy times who respond that they agree completely and they should write to head office - this exchange occurrs across different branches I've noticed. Customers also constantly notice...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Senior management needs to get on the ground at busy times to realise waste and mistakes are caused by exhaustion. Open honest lines of communication with employees. If you'd like them to work, ask, don't just change the rota. I dare you also to speak about something other than targets with your superiors. Taking care of workers will ensure you meet these targets anyway - who are you trying to be, the McDonald's for...

    Show More
    Mitchells & Butlers2018-02-12
  8. "Wouldn't recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Waitress/Bar Staff in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mitchells & Butlers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Guests Learning about drinks and food Team nights out

    Cons

    Incompetent and unprofessional assistant managers No staff food, low wages and tips Only focusing on making money Treating the staff like slaves Management doesn't care about the staff and they mess up the hours and salaries all the time which leaves you being unable to pay your rent

    Mitchells & Butlers2017-11-27
  9. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Staff 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mitchells & Butlers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great managers Salary paid on time Flexible schedule

    Cons

    Low pay Cant take drinks from customers Little perspective i.e. only higher position is assistant-manager

    Mitchells & Butlers2017-11-02
  10. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bar Staff in Swansea, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mitchells & Butlers part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good opportunity to progress to management if you want Easy to skive work

    Cons

    Minimum wage Soulless company Doesn't take the time to care about the staff, only targets

    Mitchells & Butlers2017-09-06
Found 30 reviews