MobilityWare Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

MobilityWare Reviews

Updated 12 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
74%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
MobilityWare Founder Dave Yonamine (no image)
Dave Yonamine
5 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Growing pains of a small company growing exponential(in 8 reviews)

  • "The only stable money making team is Solitaire, and not a lot of people want to work on that project for many reasons(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "I enjoy working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MobilityWare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learned a lot of new skills; Employees are willing to help

    Cons

    Onboarding process could be improved; The first few weeks included a lot of self-learning; Could have more collaboration

    MobilityWare2019-12-12
  2. "A successful company looking to improve and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Artist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MobilityWare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Family friendly environment and a great culture that makes you feel welcome. Great perks and work-life balance. A strong line up of consistently successful products. Good opportunity for growth and an appreciation for people that step up to develop new skills. Really great people, love the team I'm on. Big changes to leadership shortly after I started gave a pretty good impression for the direction of the company.

    Cons

    Not much... It's hard to tell if leadership is fully invested in the new projects that are part of the companies growth.

    MobilityWare2019-11-24
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Passable way to grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MobilityWare

    Pros

    Overall laid back atmosphere and great work life balance Solid benefits Great snacks in the kitchen Steady and strong core products that are reliable, consistent revenue generators Some teams are really great There are lots of gaps to fill in the organization, which can be bad and good. If you really want to grow your title or skills, this can be a good place to do so

    Cons

    Products are not exiting, and you could feel that the teams were not enthused by the products they were working on Though there are many talented and intelligent people here, one got the sense that many people here just couldn't hack it elsewhere. Maybe it's the laid-back attitude, but it felt like the majority of people weren't up to the level of competency or professionalism you'd expect from a modern company, and didn't care to grow in their positions. They didn't track what was happening in the industry, and the company felt like it was still living in 2008, when the first solitaire launched. The industry has left them in the dust There are some flat out weird people. Lots of man-children here (some good ones too, of course)

    Continue reading
    MobilityWare2019-10-24
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Best years of my career happened here and more are still to come""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MobilityWare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Genuinely amazing workplace. While there may be no perfect workplace/company, the best a company can do is TRY and be the best it can be and I think Mobilityware succeeds in that. Yes, there are sometimes decisions that aren't popular and affect people and teams, but overall it is always in the long term interest of the company (and the rest of the employees). With that being said, Mobilityware is a much more mature, stable and transparent workplace than most other companies I've worked at while still feeling like a high functioning (and successful) start up at times . The company still holds true the values that it was founded on and leadership is very serious about making sure they don't disrupt the culture here at the company. In fact, I honestly don't think much changed from the past 2-3 years in terms of my team's culture and activities. Mobilityware is still an amazing place to work and I am still excited everyday coming in to see what the new challenges are and what we're planning.

    Cons

    Strong focus on core games means they get almost all the resources they ask for. Some people feel shafted but it doesn't really hinder most other teams as much as it's made out to be. - Management transition - it's never an easy task and most of us are still waiting it out to see how the new teams/structures will lead us into the future. I'm optimistic and willing to wait patiently to see what happens. Feels weird but so far, so good. - Wish I got paid more.... but don't we all? - Wish bonuses were a bit higher (right now 5%) - Health insurance could really be cheaper - gets very expensive with 2 kids + spouse on the plan at the current rates.

    Continue reading
    MobilityWare2019-06-14
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer-II in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MobilityWare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They care about their employees, provide lots of perks, free lunches on Friday, and have a great work-life balance

    Cons

    Not many bad things to say, this is a great place to work.

    Continue reading
    MobilityWare2019-05-30
  6. Helpful (12)

    "Great Benefits/Perks, Not the company it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - UI/User Experience Designer in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at MobilityWare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    CEOs (Jon and Dave) have amazing hearts and great intentions, great location, great perks, great benefits, and wonderful development team, marketing team and employee talent. The head of HR is a very fantastic person. The work-life balance provided is something that I hope doesn't change, it is invaluable! Years ago, I would have had nothing but great things to say about this company! But so much has changed over the years across every team.

    Cons

    The company has changed so much that you may not be able to trust the reviews. There are issues with leadership across all disciplines, teams aren't set up for success, the CEO was the heart of the company and since he has (they have ) stepped away there is no heart. The company has lost the culture it used to have and people are hating their jobs and not speaking out here. If you're looking to be fulfilled by your career, you might not get that here. The only stable money making team is Solitaire, and not a lot of people want to work on that project for many reasons. It used to be "People First, Product Second" but this had its own issues and now there is not a focus on the people but rather a focus on the bottom line with unrealistic expectations of the product (there has to be some middle ground found to resolve this issue ).

    Continue reading
    MobilityWare2019-04-03
  7. Helpful (11)

    "Great People Brought Down by Toxic Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MobilityWare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tons of amazing and fun people to work with. The company has a lot of talented employees. Very fun "small teams" atmosphere and culture. Company trips and holidays are pluses.

    Cons

    Leadership. C-level has tendency to throw teams under the bus and play the blame game. Quarterly reviews are opportunities for us to show CEO our progress, but we're always pressured to "stick to the story" and misrepresent our goals and learnings. This always leads to confused communication and missed targets and teams are blamed. Very little faith in leadership's knowledge in running the business. Also leadership often encourage distrust with other business groups to create further blame environment. It's toxic leadership at its finest.

    Continue reading
    MobilityWare2019-02-19
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Good culture but confused organizational structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MobilityWare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good culture, good work environment, pay is good for a gaming company, lots of perks. Great for career growth/learning new skills

    Cons

    Not enough emphasis on sharing tech. Games are broken up into too many teams for size of company. Some progress toward fixing this recently, but execution is very slow.

    Continue reading
    MobilityWare2019-02-02
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Low Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at MobilityWare

    Pros

    Has good reviews... but a truth nobody is commenting about.

    Cons

    The salaries they offer are low for an expensive market.

    Continue reading
    MobilityWare2018-06-05

    MobilityWare Response

    June 11, 2018COO

    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to let us know how you feel about compensation at MobilityWare. We strive to stay competitive in the Orange County market place. We do so by utilizing industry comp reports and local competitor information. We find it important to create an attractive total compensation package for our employees that offers competitive salaries, affordable benefits, unlimited PTO and an annual company trip. All of these things in addition to feeding our team regularly helps MobilityWare stand out as a great place to work in Orange County.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Something Special and Unexpected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Producer in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MobilityWare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I joined MobilityWare approximately two years ago based on a recommendation from a previous coworker. I hesitantly applied as I knew very little about the company and was not experienced in mobile gaming, my expertise was in AAA console games and PC MMOs. I was nervous at first, but the employees around me were extremely welcoming and spent time getting to know me and help educate me on the differences with what I had been doing before and what I was doing now. As time went on my work ethic and ability was quickly recognized and in the course of the past two years I've been promoted twice. I've never had that at another company and it's been amazing to work with such talented and interesting people. The culture in the studio is great, there's lots of small groups that meet up after work for various reasons including D&D, an after work-shader club, and board game nights of various types. Employees just need to check the directory in Slack and join the channels that interest them. These activities are even more accessible as the company prefers employees are not crunching or putting in overtime, so you have a nice work/life balance. The company also offers a solid benefits package, and on-site benefits like free provided snacks, sodas, coffee, anniversary trips, and catered lunches on every friday!

    Cons

    It's hard to find real cons with the company. I've been places where we didn't get paid, worked crazy overtime, all sorts of issues and I don't see any of those here. There were some temporary growing pains as the company increased in size quite a bit over the past few years, but overall the vast majority of the hires have been fantastic people who find their groove and work hard. Management even goes out of their way to try and address concerns from employees during all hands meetings, taking questions on the spot and working to take action on concerns, even seemingly small things like requesting windows on our doors so we don't collide when rushing in and out, or using more ecologically friendly dishwares like recyclable coffee cups.

    Continue reading
    MobilityWare2018-03-01
Found 60 reviews