Mollie Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Jul 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 of over 96 reviews

4.4
91%
Recommend to a Friend
Mollie CEO Shane Happach
Shane Happach
0 Rating
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Many challenges, nice people!

    Jul 12, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Amsterdam
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People are really nice, open to questions, ready to help. Tech stack is not the best, but a huge effort is being put to improve it. People really open to new ideas

    Cons

    Codebase is a mess, but getting better :D

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Senior Software Engineer

    Apr 21, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Amsterdam
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    very professional, talented team, good values

    Cons

    The company is growing and sometimes it feels like a mess. many tiers are added, it was a flat company. many managers, many PMs, many staff engineers, many meetings, very hectic, very stressful. The benefits are not that great, the pay is OK.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Growing company

    Feb 22, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Amsterdam
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Really good hiring process. We feel like a conversation on each step. I felt really comfortable with the whole process. The teams really want to grow the systems and improve what we have today. Every feedback is heard and the feedback culture is really strong.

    Cons

    Slow interactions due to security processes

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Bad management

    Nov 10, 2020 - Software Engineer in Amsterdam
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lot of smart people in the company

    Cons

    Management is really bad. They treat you like robot, don't care about your mental health, and during COVID, let go a lot of employees. They also don't know how to do the taxes from their employees, asking them to pay it back after they left.

    4 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great people & culture

    Aug 13, 2020 - Software Engineer in Amsterdam
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A fast paced company with huge growth but amazing people and culture

    Cons

    Fast growth also has it's downsides

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A very nice place to grow

    Aug 26, 2019 - Senior Software Engineer in Amsterdam
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A company where the quality of the product matters. This means that we strive to write the best possible code. Always with cheerfull code-reviews, pointing out where we can do better. Test cases are encouraged. Also, this is a place where we bring new ideas and they might get accepted easily if they are proven good. Besides the coding part, the fact that we can ask for the hardware that we like is something precious (I got the mouse that I liked, a big screen, the most recent MacBook Pro, a nice char, a sit-stand desk, etc). The company is also very supportive in many different ways. The HR is always helpful, more than once I had some personal requests that helped me out very quickly. The lunch is always fresh and very nice. Our product owner is very nice and always helps the team to keep up with the goals.

    Cons

    The business is very broad. So it takes some time to get "productive". There is a lot of rules, partners, providers, payment stuff involved, that we must know to start coding. Personally, (and it is an unusual opinion) I don't like the office location, right in the middle of the city. I would prefer if it was in a less crowded place. We don't have a very strict agile environment. But I feel like, it is working fine.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Mollie Response

    Head of People and Places

    Thank you for your review and for your advice!

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A great company with high expectations

    Aug 19, 2019 - Software Engineer in Amsterdam
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Mollie offers a great benefit package, as well as a fun and dynamic environment where both personal and professional growth are not only encouraged, but also carefully planned with the assistance of and executed together with direct management and direct team mates. This creates an environment where everyone is working on the same goals but, at the same time, on their own experience, making every day both challenging and entertaining. Feedback to others is always welcome and encouraged and problems get often solved very swiftly and without too much "office politics".

    Cons

    Mollie has been around for a while, and it operates in a very complex environment. Some aspects of the company might be a little overwhelming in the beginning.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Mollie offers challenging projects combined with a great culture

    Aug 8, 2019 - Software Engineer in Amsterdam
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company culture Mollie allows and encourages you to grow, both as a person and in your field. If you have a good idea, you have the room to bring it forward. When something goes wrong, it is always about how the team can learn from it, and never about who made the mistake. The company consists of mostly young and talented individuals who strive for the best. Mollie appreciates the effort we put into the work, by hosting summer events, offering company merchandise and perks such as having a day off on your birthday. Technical challenges Given the rapid growth that Mollie is experiencing, there are a lot of technical challenges that we work on. Since you are surrounded by engineers who have a lot of knowledge, there is always an opportunity to learn. Furthermore, if you show that you have the knowledge and skills, you can be given opportunities to grow into a new position, for example a leadership position.

    Cons

    The company is growing fast. Therefore, the start-up atmosphere slowly gives way to a more bureaucratic environment, in which you lose grip on some of the teams in the company. The future will tell how that will influence the company culture as it is now. Furthermore, the fast growth and commercial projects that go along with it sometimes collide with projects that would improve core features and engineer happiness. From a business perspective this is understandable, but maintaining the core of your operation is also important.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Really enjoyable workplace

    Aug 7, 2019 - Software Engineer in Amsterdam
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working in the engineering department means solving technical issues and challenges, but it's never just that. The company really encourages us to take ownership, so we always need to figure out the projects we're working on by talking to finance, product owners, other developers and in the end always deciding by ourselves. There's a lot of flexibility, the only thing needed to have in mind is to deliver good quality. Besides of developing a product I believe in, it's really nice to notice that everybody in here does always even more that his job requires, which is really inspiring.

    Cons

    The only negative thing I can think of is the rapid growth in employees, which makes it a bit busier and the atmosphere a bit less familiar. (for now)

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Challenging job but missing structure

    Aug 13, 2019 - Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    + There is always room for improving yourself, if you look for it. + You are mostly encouraged to find your own solutions, use new technologies and come up with new ideas, instead of getting stuck with 'consistent solutions'. + You learn a lot here, knowledge sharing throughout the company is well encouraged (there are weekly sessions to make it possible for anyone in the company to share their ideas/work/etc.) + Flat structure; you have the chance to talk to your department manager directly and you feel that you are heard and valued. + Good lunch; nice salads, slightly-lower-than-average soup, delicacy at least twice a week (e.g: lasagne, lekkerbekje, etc.)

    Cons

    - Company culture is not stable; things have been changing so quickly, a lot of people have been recently hired, etc. - Not very agile, although the department believes that Scrum is the way to go. - Stepping up within the company is on one's own initiative; there is (attempt for) a mechanism within the company to allow that but it's not completely enforced throughout the department so it's at the discretion of the team lead, which can be a junior developer with no other work experience.

    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 14 Reviews

Popular Careers with Mollie Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Mollie? Share Your Experiences

Mollie logo
or