Mott MacDonald Employee Reviews about "career progression"

Updated 3 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
75%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Mott MacDonald Chairman Mike Haigh
Mike Haigh
40 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "career progression"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Cares more about business than its people"

    3.0
     

    I have been working at Mott MacDonald

    Pros

    1. Great opportunity to be involved in a large number of great projects across the world. 2. Collaboration with people from different countries/ backgrounds 3. Job security

    Cons

    1. Lots of things depend on your line manager including your promotion and career progression. If you are lucky to get an advanced manager your life in the company will be much easier otherwise you risk to become demotivated which would definitely affect your efficiency at work. 2. Little or no incentives for lower grades. 3. On practice company applies different principles/values in different parts of the world

    Mott MacDonald2016-04-26
  2. "Not a bad company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mott MacDonald full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    work life balance mostly great people good social events good investment in their key talents

    Cons

    career progression is not transparent holidays bonuses/benefits are quite poor

    Mott MacDonald2019-12-22
  3. "Standard Job"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clerk 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mott MacDonald full-time

    Pros

    - Company Culture & Values - Nice colleagues - Regular Social Events

    Cons

    - Poor pay compare to industry - Hierarchies & Bureaucratic - Poor Annual Leave- 20 days plus 2 days during Christmas. - Poor management- not open to suggestions & recommendations. - Poor career progression- not transparent - poor flexible working- only offered to certain areas of the business

    Continue reading
    Mott MacDonald2020-01-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Mott MacDonald International Development"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Project Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mott MacDonald full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Possibility for flexible working. However, more difficult for junior staff.

    Cons

    No career progression, old fashioned hierarchy system, low paid in compare to other competitors and so many false promises.

    Mott MacDonald2019-12-01

    Mott MacDonald Response

    December 2, 2019Recruitment Social Media & Marketing Officer

    Thank you for writing a review, we really appreciate the time taken to provide feedback. As a current employee, we would recommend speaking with your line manager regarding career progression and potential salary reviews. They can liaise with our dedicated learning and development team to provide the best opportunities available to you.

  5. "Great place to work if career advancement isn’t a priority"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Civil Engineer in Singapore
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mott MacDonald full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance Supportive line managers Positive Vibes in general Fun crowd in the office

    Cons

    Lack of efforts or concern from management to check if employees are happy with their salaries. Workload does not commensurate salaries. Poor performance of some employees (not motivated much) Career progression is a grey area. Office politics

    Continue reading
    Mott MacDonald2019-07-26
  6. "Good company overall - lacks training & system on-boarding members"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mott MacDonald

    Pros

    Helpful and friendly people - pretty chilled and lovely to work with.

    Cons

    lacks training for career progression (non-technical skills)

    Mott MacDonald2019-01-16
  7. "Good company. Recommended for engineers."

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mott MacDonald full-time

    Pros

    Team, projects, location, salary, hours

    Cons

    Management, lack of structure, not enough focus on career progression

    Mott MacDonald2018-03-01
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Once a great company but has lost sight of its mission and position in the marketplace."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Mott MacDonald full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Employee owned, Friendly staff, Digital investment, Good LGBT policy, good sports and social and fantastic history of deliberating world wide iconic structures

    Cons

    Overly complicated business management processes. Management lack innovation, inspiration and the ability to achieve the Group mission. Managers don’t act upon Staff engagement surveys results. Unclear career progression and opportunities. Old offices in some areas. Ridiculous matrix management system comprising units, divisions, sub divisions and cross cutting sectors which stifles collaborations but gives senior managers something to do whilst they ride their time out to retirement. Project staff bring in the cash, operations staff churn out the spreadsheets, reports and graphs that’s adds little to running the business. Development directors add nothing to winning new work, they tell you to follow STEP (the business system) and unhelpfully remind you of the things that could have been done differently but after the event.

    Continue reading
    Mott MacDonald2017-12-06

    Mott MacDonald Response

    January 8, 2018Recruitment systems manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts in your review. Career progression is a large part of our 2018 strategy, we aim to develop more visible and transparent career paths; staff will be able to decide on their own professional direction and will be supported in achieving their goals. Feedback such as yours will be key in the successful implementation of this part of our people strategy.

  9. "Decent place to work so far"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Landscape Architect 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mott MacDonald full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been here for just over a year. Good development prospects and the company offers great support for further education. (Chartership etc... )

    Cons

    Bonus' and career progression path is not very clear.

    Mott MacDonald2017-11-01

    Mott MacDonald Response

    January 8, 2018Recruitment systems manager

    Thank you for your review. It’s great to see that you feel you are offered support within your role, we’d also recommend taking advantage of your performance and development review (PDR) to help provide clarity on your career progression path.

  10. "Great work environment but low compensation"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mott MacDonald full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team, supportive management, international exposure

    Cons

    Low salary, slow career progression

    Continue reading
    Mott MacDonald2017-07-11

    Mott MacDonald Response

    September 4, 2017Recruitment systems manager

    Thanks for taking the time to give feedback on your experience with us so far. We’re sorry that you don’t feel as though the rate of your career progression is satisfactory. We do have a wide range of learning and development courses available to help you on your career journey, so be sure to take advantage where you can. It’s great to hear that you love your work environment and we hope this continues!

Found 23 reviews