Mountain Equipment Co-op Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Mountain Equipment Co-op Reviews

Updated 20 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
59%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Mountain Equipment Co-op Chief Executive Officer Phil Arrata
Phil Arrata
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "Pro-deals you get from other companies are great (you'll get the same if you work at any outdoor retail store)(in 20 reviews)

  • "Work life balance is very good for a retail business(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "It can be difficult to move from casual to part time or full time, which means limited health benefits(in 19 reviews)

  • "It would be nice if MEC offered rewarding incentives to long time employees, 10(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Mountain Equipment Co-op full-time

    Pros

    - Great benefits and employee support - Flexible hours

    Cons

    - May have changed since I left in 2017

    Mountain Equipment Co-op2020-02-20
  2. "Great place to work with your friends!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mountain Equipment Co-op part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing company and culture, their commitment to the environment makes it an organization you can be proud to be a part of.

    Cons

    It’s retail. Some disconnect between head office and store locations

    Mountain Equipment Co-op2020-02-05

    Mountain Equipment Co-op Response

    February 7, 2020Director of HR Operations

    Thank you for your review, and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience working at MEC! We're working very hard to eliminate any disconnect between head office and store locations.

    Continue reading
  3. "Overall Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Specialist in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mountain Equipment Co-op full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great work environment - Great industry deals - working with people who share a passion for the outdoors

    Cons

    - You won't have a lot of control over which hours you work

    Mountain Equipment Co-op2020-02-01

    Mountain Equipment Co-op Response

    February 5, 2020Director of HR Operations

    Thank you for your review and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience at MEC. We're working on a number of initiatives around store scheduling to provide consistency.

    Continue reading
  4. "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Team Leader 

    I have been working at Mountain Equipment Co-op full-time

    Pros

    Transparency and care for the environment

    Cons

    I don't have any to share

    Mountain Equipment Co-op2020-01-30

    Mountain Equipment Co-op Response

    February 5, 2020Director of HR Operations

    Thank you for your review and we are glad to hear you're enjoying your experience at MEC. #PeopleFirst!

    Continue reading
  5. "Great work environment with fair wage increases"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Frontline Staff in Barrie, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mountain Equipment Co-op full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Time based wage increases Very positive work culture Plenty of opportunity to learn Staff rental and trips available Benefits for status employees Work life balance is very good for a retail business

    Cons

    Lack of status for those that truly do work full time Not much opportunity to advance into leadership roles

    Continue reading
    Mountain Equipment Co-op2020-01-30

    Mountain Equipment Co-op Response

    February 5, 2020Director of HR Operations

    Thank you for your review and advice, and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience at MEC!

    Continue reading
  6. "Great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Construction Security Technician 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mountain Equipment Co-op part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment. Although retail, even the customers seem nicer. Casual position allows for very flexible hours and still get great benefits.

    Cons

    Not really anything can be found that's abnormal.

    Mountain Equipment Co-op2020-01-28

    Mountain Equipment Co-op Response

    February 5, 2020Director of HR Operations

    Thank you for your review and we are glad to hear you're enjoying your experience at MEC. #PeopleFirst!

    Continue reading
  7. "Great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PTL in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mountain Equipment Co-op full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Inspiring group of staff, heathy environment.

    Cons

    Hectic retail environment, senior management far away in Vancouver.

    Continue reading
    Mountain Equipment Co-op2020-01-26

    Mountain Equipment Co-op Response

    February 5, 2020Director of HR Operations

    Thank you for your feedback on your experience at MEC and we are glad to hear your enjoyed your time with MEC. We agree, our staff are inspiring!

    Continue reading
  8. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Planner 

    I have been working at Mountain Equipment Co-op full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent place to work with good benefits and opportunities

    Cons

    None so far for me

    Mountain Equipment Co-op2020-01-15

    Mountain Equipment Co-op Response

    February 5, 2020Director of HR Operations

    Thank you for the excellent feedback and we're happy to have you on the MEC team! #PeopleFirst

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Lots of great perks but flawed upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advisor in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Mountain Equipment Co-op full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I had a great time with my team and my colleagues and it left room for growth in an area that you enjoy especially if it can be related to the outdoors (camping, hiking, skiing). Lots of fun and interesting perks for working here and always had food and fun events during holiday time. Good amount of work and exercise balance.

    Cons

    Lots of uphill battles regarding wages, policies, and overall employee satisfaction. You could see that a lot of bad publicity and mistakes by upper management were weighing heavily on the workforce. Most employers would not be so easily swayed by the competition of their market, but MEC always managed to make themselves the bad guys in the end. Not a very reliable group considering the CEO and CFO left all at once. If MEC grows, they will be no greater than the competition they seek to get away from, and worse.

    Continue reading
    Mountain Equipment Co-op2020-02-05
  10. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Montreal, QC

    I worked at Mountain Equipment Co-op part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great, easy going management & work environment

    Cons

    Not much career/growth opportunities, low pay

    Mountain Equipment Co-op2019-12-03
Found 181 reviews