Myplanet Reviews | Glassdoor.co.in

Myplanet Reviews

Updated 6 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.7
98%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Myplanet Founder and CEO Jason Cottrell (no image)
Jason Cottrell
60 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance (Really understand that employees have life outside work)(in 11 reviews)

  • "The Leadership Team are available, communicative and hands-on(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "The company is growing and is facing 'growing pains'(in 8 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great co-workers and awesome vibe, even for remote workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Montreal, QC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Myplanet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    As a remote worker, getting seen/heard can be tricky. However, I've met more people in different departments here in the last 6 months than I did in 7 years in a previous job. Everyone I've met is easy to talk to and understand the communication issues of remote life. I work with smart people that are quick to help and explain things when necessary, all without judgement. The company is socially and community conscious and have a great startup-like culture. There are numerous gatherings, both for employees as well as for external groups, which are open to remote workers too. The on-boarding experience was intensive, but so good, by far the best I've ever experienced. You get to meet a wide range of folks from different departments, which helps later on when you end up working with them. Very quickly after starting to work for Myplanet, I felt like I was an integral part of the company and received positive feedback for things my team had done. That is huge.

    Cons

    I've only managed to get to the office once...so far :)

    Continue reading
    Myplanet2020-02-06

    Myplanet Response

    February 18, 2020Brand and Content Manager

    We love hearing you've had such a positive experience so far! Come on out again soon— there's more people for you to meet :D

    Continue reading
  2. "Great place to fully use your development skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Myplanet full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of career opportunities, all the while learning the ropes of development and the process behind it. If you are looking for ways to sharpen your development skills, this is a place to be.

    Cons

    At times, projects seem incompletely defined which might put more pressure on the development teams.

    Myplanet2019-11-18
  3. "Great working environment, great people and tons of benefits!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Event & Advocate Marketing Coordinator in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Myplanet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - people are fantastic - you have the freedom to work in the environment that best suits you - incredible benefits - workplace activities which encourages interaction and collaboration with colleagues - CEO is transparent with the company and the future. Can ask questions in an anonymous method with respectible and honest answers. CEO wants to listen to new ideas and promote this transparent attitude (cares about all employees)

    Cons

    - you are responsible for your own work, no one is going to babysit you (doesn't work for all) - there is a lot to learn at first - you must be willing to take initiative in learning what you need to know and how the company works to succeed

    Myplanet2019-07-26

    Myplanet Response

    August 20, 2019Content & Community Strategy

    We're so glad you called out being responsible for your own work and the need to take initiative to tackle your own learning, because that's such a key element to how we do business. Of course every team member should know they can rely on each other to help out when needed and feel comfortable asking question— we never want anyone to feel they can't turn to someone for advice or assistance. But ultimately we really do believe in autonomy over activities and accountability over outcomes (we've even written about on our blog: https://medium.com/myplanet-musings/autonomy-for-activities-accountability-over-outcomes-fa4b5e7d159b). That means there is a lot of opportunity to forge one's own path, but also that it's up to the individual to do so. It's something that has worked well for us through the years and suits our lean, agile work style, but it's not always an easy thing to adapt to for folks, especially if they're not used to it. Definitely in those first few weeks it can feel overwhelming, but hopefully you've settled into things now and are feeling more comfortable charting your own course (and if not, please don't hesitate to reach out to colleagues— we're better when we work together to solve problems!).

    Continue reading
  4. "Truly A Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Myplanet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -the people -the office -the office dogs -the atmosphere -the work is super interesting Generally, I feel that the leadership and the CEO truly care about the people that work with them and for them. It is a people first organization and it is a pleasant place to spend your day.

    Cons

    -I can't think of any to be honest -There aren't that many healthy food places around the office to eat at

    Myplanet2019-07-26

    Myplanet Response

    December 12, 2019Content & Community Strategy

    Wonderful to hear you're having such a positive experience! Not sure how we can help with the healthy food option shortage in the neighbourhood, but we'll do what we can... (Petition the neighbourhood business association, perhaps? For now hopefully you'll accept the always full fruit bowl and endless supply of granola bars as a temporary salve!)

    Continue reading
  5. "Great place to work and explore more with fun !!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer In Test 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Myplanet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The best thing is the work culture. It doesn't matter what limitations one has, team will figure out the way to solve and encourage each other. Management knows the importance of work life balance.

    Cons

    Self learning and exploring things feels overwhelming sometimes because of limited resources but negligible if, you are enthusiastic to figure out the ways on your own and educate others

    Myplanet2019-07-25
  6. "Nimble, innovative, a people-first organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Myplanet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Truly values candidness and feedback, constant introspective thinking at the organization-level to strive to become a better company, collective sense of belonging and shared purpose among employees

    Cons

    Nothing negative keeping me up at night!

    Myplanet2019-07-25

    Myplanet Response

    August 20, 2019Content & Community Strategy

    "Nothing negative keeping me up at night!" Well that's a relief! We'd hate to be the cause of lost sleep. But kidding aside, it's great to hear you've had such a positive start to your time at Myplanet. We'll keep working to keep those channels of communication open so that if ever you do feel you've got something worth losing sleep over, you'll know you can share it with the team and we can work to solve it instead of the lying-awake-at-night alternative.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (4)

    "By far the best company I've worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Strategist in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Myplanet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Organization genuinely cares about their employees - Structured soft & hard skills development and professional growth - Good opportunities for career progression - Interesting mix of enterprise-level clients and projects - Plenty of learning opportunities, including regular in-office talks, library, online resources and more - Welcoming, open and diverse culture - Awesome, hard-working colleagues who are real experts in their respective fields - Very flexible on WFH and core hours - they realize that employees have lives outside of the office - The Leadership Team are available, communicative and hands-on - Strike an excellent balance of autonomy and support - So. Many. Dogs.

    Cons

    - Work can ramp up and down quickly, meaning some days might be very quiet while others are extremely busy - this doesn't suit everyone.

    Continue reading
    Myplanet2019-05-08

    Myplanet Response

    June 13, 2019Content & Community Strategy

    Great to hear you’ve had such a positive first year at Myplanet (and that you like the growing population of dogs!). You’re absolutely right about the challenges faced in professional services settings like ours: trying to predict and balance project workloads to maintain a steady cadence for everyone isn’t always possible, but we strive to ensure it never goes too far out of whack. Of course, if ever you feel it does, please reach out to the Core Leadership Team and/or your personal growth mentor so they can do their best to respond accordingly.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Guided and grown by values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Myplanet full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - A growing culture of openness and diversity - Professional guidance for hard and soft skills and clear paths of advancement - Tri-weekly drop-in meditation and annual Mindfulness training offered in office - Self-organized wellness and special interest groups who and meet for fitness/planking, food related interests, gaming etc. - Established group of long-term team members with a solid culture at it's core - Lots of new, fresh ideas that come with new hires - Management is accessible and approachable. get's hands dirty - Focus on Emotional Intelligence in hiring process helps maintain our values and culture despite growth - Humane work from home policy - Office dogs!

    Cons

    - With a growing team, we've seen culture shift and re-stabilize. - We're agile, so we pivot when needed which may not suit those looking for a product focused, static org structure and skills base

    Continue reading
    Myplanet2019-04-23

    Myplanet Response

    June 13, 2019Content & Community Strategy

    Thanks so much for your feedback. It’s great how much you touch on culture and shared values in your review. We work hard to cultivate an environment that encourages each team member to flourish without having to be the same as the founders or each other. We continue to try and expand opportunities for individuals to work and grow in a way that’s right for them and we always welcome feedback, suggestions, and ideas around how to foster that spirit going forward.

    Continue reading
  9. "Love this place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Frontend Developer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Myplanet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great projects, great leadership and great colleagues. Varied and interesting work. Remote-worker friendly. Clear career development paths. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Erm... honestly can't think of anything.

    Continue reading
    Myplanet2019-04-23
  10. "A true learning organization with a growth mindset!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partnerships Manager in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Myplanet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Been working at Myplanet for a year and a half. The work is challenging but extremely rewarding and opportunities to grow present itself at every step (combined with some of the best leadership I've seen in tech). The biggest pro of working at Myplanet is that it is truly a learning organization. The company is invested in learning, improving processes, and helping teams/individuals upskill and grow. There is a growth path for everyone (individual contributor, team lead etc). Other pros: - Get to work with some of the smartest and kindest people. - Taking on big and complex projects that involve emerging interfaces. Myplanet is working on future-thinking platform projects. -Tech agnostic - so you get exposed to a wide range of emerging and legacy tech partners in the industry.

    Cons

    Team is growing in size and space is limited at our downtown HQ but that is changing as we're expanding our space downtown!

    Continue reading
    Myplanet2019-04-23

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 75 reviews